1991 Ford Festiva Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1991 Ford Festiva GL 1.3 Litre from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 Litre Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired182000 miles
Most recent distance187265 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

It's my tuna can on wheels

Faults:

Last week I had to replace the starter. It cost $100 to buy the part.

I had to replace the front wiper blades last weekend.

Both front CV joints were replaced about 150000 miles. Tires were replaced last November.

The heater doesn't work. It hasn't worked since I got the car in early July 2002.

General Comments:

It only costs me like $10 to fill up the tank. I get about 35 miles per gallon (the fuel injectors are dirty).

The seats aren't the most comfortable in the world, but they do the job.

It's impossible to find hubcaps for the 12" wheels.

It's a great little car. It's so easy to find a little parking spot.

Mine doesn't have power steering, air conditioning, or power breaks.

The back is actually pretty roomy in the back when the seat is folded up against the front seats. I use it like a little pick-up truck. It's a great place for the dogs to hang out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th September, 2002

1991 Ford Festiva L 1.3 EFI from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 EFI Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance173000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

The cheapest Honda Civic you'll ever buy

Faults:

The wheel bearings have needed replacing twice, and need to be replaced again.

The upholstery wore out fairly quickly.

It has just begun smoking a bit in the last month (171,000 miles). I believe it's in need of new valve seals.

General Comments:

I used the car to deliver pizza for three years, beating it badly in the process, but aside from tires, brake pads, and wheel bearings, nothing has had to be replaced -- not even the clutch.

The car is extremely peppy, and still gives me at least 42mpg on every tank of gas.

It has started at the first turn of the key since day one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th November, 2001

1991 Ford Festiva L 1.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired6 miles
Most recent distance111000 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

Peppy, fun, reliable, extremely cheap car

Faults:

The seats are deteriorating.

Foot pedals need new covers.

General Comments:

I can't call any of the above faults, as this is just normal wear that you would expect with a well traveled 10 year old vehicle.

This car was my first brand new vehicle and I bought it for the great gas mileage and low cost of the vehicle; ($7000). It is so fun to drive; it doesn't matter that it is so small, this actually makes accidents easy to avoid since I can easily get out of the way. There are no blind spots either, so have never missed having a passenger side mirror.

I enjoyed my car from the beginning, but certainly never expected to have such a strong emotional attachment to her. She has been there for me through thick and thin; starting on the first turn of the key for over 10 years now. I am hoping that in the near future this car will be reintroduced in the U.S.A. In the meantime, I will be driving my "friend" until she wears out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2001

1991 Ford Festiva L from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired64521 miles
Most recent distance150182 miles
Previous carFord Festiva

Summary:

Not the most exciting car, but it is affordable and reliable!

Faults:

CV axle joints went bad around 93,000 miles.

Muffler keeps rusting out (the small engine does not get hot enough to evaporate the water in the muffler). I am on my 3rd one and am thankful for Tuffy's Lifetime Warranty :-)

Exhaust pipes rusted in numerous places between 135,000 and 140,000 miles.

The front brakes have given me problems, but not more than any other car I have previously owned.

General Comments:

The proper tire size (R12/145 - not 155) are hard to find.

Rust on the engine and undercarriage is quite rampant.

I love the gas mileage in this time of high fuel costs (34-38 miles per gallon).

Parking spaces are easy to find and/or make.

It does not like cold mornings. My advice is to keep it in a garage if you live in the Arctic north (Ohio).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 13th August, 2001

15th Jun 2005, 22:44

I have owned my '91 Festiva L for over three years, and never ever had problems starting it in our Montana winters, where 20 below is not uncommon.

28th Jun 2005, 08:54

I am looking to buy a 1990 festiva for $400canadian. I hope it starts in cold days because I'm from Northern Ontario, where -30degrees Celcius IS common. BRRRR!!!

1991 Ford Festiva LX? 1.3? from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.3? Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired113000 kilometres
Most recent distance165000 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Rabbit

Summary:

The BEST car I have had!!

Faults:

Muffler, rust.

General Comments:

Well this is a great little car. No wonder, it's really an import! I have had very little problems with my Festiva. It has never cost me more than $20 to fill the tank, and it goes forever. The body seems to be prone to rust, maybe that's because she never gets a bath! The car was not that popular though and parts are hard to find used, and very expensive if new. Overall the car has cost me no more than $100 a month (that includes the purchase price divided by the months and any service, oh, and the insurance). If you can find a Festiva in good shape, and your're looking for economy transportation, this one can't be beat!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th June, 2000

1991 Ford Festiva LX 1.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
Engine and transmission 1.3
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10

Faults:

Nothing major yet.

General Comments:

I've kept the car up the best that you can and it has always ran for me perfectly. The car has good power for a car this size. I wouldn't however buy another car from though for the fact that they treat you like crap all the time no matter what. I have my car serviced at the local Toyota dealership now because they are much friendlier than the ones at Ford. I plan to keep this car as long as it decides to run and when the time comes to where I can't trust it anymore I'll get a new Corolla.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th September, 1999

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 25 reviews