1991 Ford Fiesta Reviews - Page 7 of 8

1991 Ford Fiesta XR2i 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta XR2

Summary:

A cheap fun hatch that is still popular

Faults:

Worn steering rack replaced.

New starter motor and alternator.

Warped brake disks replaced.

Ball joints replaced on numerous occasions.

Gear-box drive shaft oil seal replaced.

General Comments:

A fun and quickish car.

Highly geared steering lets the car down though and makes some corners a bit of a chore.

The support provided by the seats is also poor especially for the taller person.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th March, 2001

3rd Jul 2001, 13:49

Totally agree, we sold ours as the steering was so heavy it gave me pains in my stomach, also the seats were terrible, really high with no support. Having said that it was sold at only 40k and looked like new it was totally immaculate. I found the engine took 20k miles to loosen up. It also under steered a lot and no ABS yikes! Still it looked great in red with RS alloys. No regrets though, good fun.

1991 Ford Fiesta DL 1.8 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired106000 miles
Most recent distance113000 miles
Previous carFord Orion

Summary:

Reliability, economy and speed rolled into one!

Faults:

There is slight rust on all 4 wheel arches.

The oil gets 'dirty' quite quickly and so has to be changed regularly.

The ashtray clip has gotten lost, so the ashtray is permenently open!

The rear wiper doesn't work.

General Comments:

This car is not slow! The 1.8 engine easily carries the Fiesta's bulky frame.

Excellent mile to the gallon - it runs on fresh air!

The cabin is quite basic but has everything that you need in easy reach.

There is minimal engine noise from the diesel engine.

It starts first time every day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2001

29th Apr 2001, 13:00

I have just acquired a Fiesta 1.8 diesel from an auction. I haven't driven it much yet, but it seems OK. I bought it because it has a towbar and I know a diesel has more torque for pulling than a petrol.

One thing that I've noticed that doesn't work though is the rear wiper, it's not a fuse I don't think. Any ideas?

Steve, Blackpool.

29th Jun 2001, 20:52

Common fault in all Fiesta's rear wiper (motor not sealed from all weathers).

10th Apr 2003, 13:21

I have owned a Ford Fiesta 1.8DLX (H 1990) for at least 11years now. After months of getting the car the rear wipers stopped working. Also, after 3-4 years of owning the car, it had problems starting up (especially in the cold). Attempting to start the car in the cold resulted with a flat battery, therefore having to push start the car all the time. I changed the glow plugs, but still had the same problem. Therefore to overcome the problem of a flat battery when car didn't start, I got a £170 Mercedes-Benz battery (in 1995) which did help (and still is), because I could attempt to start the car 5-6 times before the battery got flat, by this many attempts the car mostly started (Not all the time). Other problem is the rust, this car rusts so quickly, to overcome this every 1-2 years I sand down the rust apply some rust protecting agent and paint over it with the matching color. This help to keep the cars looks. But overall I think this car is a good looking car (despite the noise of the engine). I would like to keep it for few more years.

15th Dec 2004, 17:04

The rear wiper is powered through copper contacts on the bottom the boot hatch. They get dirty and the wiper stops working. This happened to me, I cleaned them, now its OK.

1991 Ford Fiesta RS Turbo 1.6 turbo petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 turbo petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired81000 miles
Most recent distance90000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta XR2i

Summary:

Fastest hot hatch for the money!!!!

Faults:

I've had a lot of problems with this car due to the fact of taking it to a place where they don't know about turbo's, and it cost me a lot of money.

In the end after 2 blown engines, and two turbos I took it to "Power Engineering" and they sorted it right out and now (touch wood), I have had no problems and it is really fast...... My advice if you have one and wish to modify it, don't waste your time, go see the boys on 01895 255699.

General Comments:

Despite the money I have spent and the hassle I have had, I do not regret a penny I have spent. My car is now over 200bhp and there is no better feeling coming up behind a Sapphire Cossie and him thinking "Ha, crappy RS Turbo" and me making him think again, the respect you will get at the end of the road is great when he pulls you over saying what the hell is in that!!!!

Oh, nearly forgot, it pulls the women!!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2000

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 29 reviews