1992 Ford Fiesta Reviews

1992 Ford Fiesta wave 1.1 from Portugal

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80000 kilometres
Most recent distance200000 kilometres

Summary:

I like it, it's reliable. It's an economic car

Faults:

Light fuses occasionally stop functioning, easy to replace.

Steering started making a strange squeaking noise.

Starter motor became noisy.

Reverse gear hard to use sometimes (since 80 000 km).

General Comments:

I would recommend this car as a economic vehicle. It's dirt cheap, and if you take good care of it, it can last for a lifetime.

It's a very simple car, almost no electronics, no luxury, no performance (it's a slow car).

I don't like its handling, you should go slow on this thing. Under-steers very easily. Not very stable.

But I like it. It's very reliable, I've had it for 120 000 km (got it with 80 000) and the only things I had to replace were the normal parts that wear out (oil, brakes, some light fuses, tires, etc).

I can make 5.5/100 km very easily. It won't go beyond 140Km/h anyway.

I would say for it's class it's one of the best models.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th April, 2006

27th Aug 2006, 13:43

I just got a Fiesta Wave and I have that same squeaking noise. Did you ever find out what it was?

1992 Ford Fiesta L 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired25000 miles
Most recent distance30000 miles

Summary:

One word - EXCELLENT!!!

Faults:

NOTHING.

General Comments:

A simple car to get from A to B & if you wanted, get to C with no problems whatsoever.

Fuel consumption is very good (Birmingham to Weston took £5 with a boot full of clothes & linen)

Very, very reliable. I'll be sad when I need a bigger second car as my little red fiesta has served me well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th February, 2006

1992 Ford Fiesta from UK and Ireland

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.7 / 10

Summary:

Bad

General Comments:

I hate this car. The gears are my biggest pet peeve. They are constantly sticking and I have had then checked a number of times, but apparently that's just the way the are. Never again will I get a Fiesta. I'm getting rid of mine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th October, 2005

29th Oct 2005, 21:49

Your problems = you are driving a 13 year old pos commuter.

7th Nov 2005, 15:53

I assume this is the normal automatic rather than the CTX variant - if this is the case you may need to drain and refill the automatic gearbox fluid as this degrades over time. Unfortunately the marriage of an old pushrod engine and a heavy slushbox is as likely to be unhappy as most UK marriages (although the car might last longer).

Like the last commenter I think you are expecting too much of a cheap car which is three years past the end of its design life. If you want to get under it, you will probably find it is happily rotting everywhere too.

1992 Ford Fiesta bonus 1.1 from UK and Ireland

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.1 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Ideal for a first car, especially if it's for a young, image conscious teenager

Faults:

For the first six months, very little (this is because I replaced all the little things E. g indicators, side repeaters, stereo).

In the first month of ownership, the car managed up to 100MPH to Milton Keynes and back with luggage and 2 passengers, now I wouldn't dream of taking him near a motorway.

The steering Rack went.

The boot has seized shut.

Yesterday the drivers door hinge seized and the bottom half of the door fell off, hanging from the top hinge.

It drinks oil like petrol, and leaks it too.

The steering is terrible, there's something definitely wrong, but several mechanics don't know what. It pulls as if the a tyre were too low.

General Comments:

This has to be the perfect first car. (Even though it's my third!)

When I got my car it was a bog standard 1.1. I, as many new, young drivers like to do, replaced the indicators for clear ones, blue side repeaters, Pepper-pot alloys, sprayed the bumpers to match the car. The interior is great for personalizing; I removed and sprayed blue, everything that would unscrew, which is practically everything. The panels behind the seat belt got a covering of carbon-fiber, blue floor mats, silver sprayed air filters, seat covers. It even has a set of 6'9's in the parcel shelf. It was cheap and easy to personalize.

The car is relatively cheap to run, if you know a mechanic who can fix the minor problems, like those above!!

People complain about the speed, but this car is nippier than both my previous cars (D reg Escort estate 1.4 and d reg fiesta mk2 1.1) and it's only got 4 gears.

It's never over heated, never let me down in the middle of no where, in fact it's the most reliable of all the 3 cars I've had.

The parts are cheap from a local ford scrap yard and it's cheap to insure.

However, it has no intermittent wipers, no rear wiper, no clock, no rev metre, oh and no 5th gear! I also paid to have an alarm fitted as this car is easy prey for a thief.

As a first car it's perfect, the visibility is great for reversing, and if you're a capable driver, which yes, some of us women are, it's a doddle to park. If you bump it parts are easy to get hold of and cheap. In fact we knew someone with the same model in his yard, when anything went wrong we used those parts.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2005

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 29 reviews