1992 Ford Fiesta Reviews - Page 9 of 9

1992 Ford Fiesta Popular Plus 1.8 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A great economical basic car

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

A great basic car. Surprisingly quick for a diesel if you make the most of its pulling power. Diesel engine is very very economical - typical 65mpg, starts quickly in all weathers, very reliable. I'd never buy a petrol car again after having owned a diesel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th June, 2000

1992 Ford Fiesta XR2i 1.8 16v petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 16v petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carCitroen Saxo

Faults:

Catalytic converter needed replacing and is still very noisy. Brake pads and discs. Headlight bulbs, nothing very major.

General Comments:

The 1.8 16v XR2i is a vast improvement on the 8v. It's quicker, handles better (much better!!!), has got rid of that horrible blue stripe. The engine is so much more torquey and responsive - that said, you do have to wait until 4000rpm for the power to kick, but it really does kick. I can overtake and lose other cars with ease. I've kept up with an Escort RS Turbo in it (and that is no lie) and when I had a passenger test 0-60, it came out as 8.3 secs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2000

11th Jun 2002, 03:52

The 8v XR2i has a better top end speed than the 16v. The 8v can do 118mph while the 16v can only manage 113. The 8v is more of a true old school hot hatch and it demands more skill to drive as it has shorter gear ratios.

18th Dec 2004, 09:17

The xr2i 8v standard has the same 0-60 as the 16v (fast ford). I know 3 people with 16v all standard and I used to be side by side with them I now have performance plugs, leads, k&n57i and a full stainless and they get left! I am curious to know how you would get 180bhp at the flywheel with a bit of re-programming never mind at the wheels so if you would like to let me know in a reply that would make for some interesting reading. Cheers 2iGUY.

1992 Ford Fiesta XR2i 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10

Faults:

Alternator at 98,000, door mirror linkage, rev counter at 105,000, exhaust (original system) at 95,000 miles, fog light switch at 102,000.

General Comments:

Excellent performance, faster than a 205GTi but doesn't handle as well.

Main gripe are the seats which are a bit hard but you'll get used to them. A great little car with more power than you expect! Buy one!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 1999

23rd Mar 2001, 09:47

I think this is a good comment mate. Rock on.

19th Jun 2001, 14:34

Faster than a 205 Gti? I don't think so...

3rd Oct 2001, 09:25

I must say I had an Escort RS Turbo up till last Friday when some idiot nicked it. I'm now getting an XR2i cause they're good motors, and a 205 GTi is not quick!

23rd Nov 2001, 08:40

I must admit, after owning a XR2i and driving a 205 GTi 1.6 a few times, I have realised that the XR2i was faster, but the 205 handles better and is more fun. Still, the build quality of the Fiesta is better so take your pick.

12th Jan 2002, 04:39

Surely a 1.9 gti would kill any xr2i.

25th Mar 2005, 15:23

I have a 1.9 litre XR2i with stage 2 gas flowed head, Piper cam, Superchipped, built by Specialized Engines. It is faster than a Pug 205, although a standard one might find it hard to beat a 1.9 GTi, as I've had one, and they are fast.

Stu from Burgess Hill. Sussex.

1992 Ford Fiesta XR2i 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1992
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.2 / 10

Faults:

Bulkhead leaks on passenger side.

Quick wearing steering and joints etc.

Rattling exhaust baffle.

General Comments:

Not as good as a 205 GTI!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 29 reviews