1995 Ford Fiesta Reviews - Page 11 of 14

1995 Ford Fiesta Si 1.6 Zetec from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Zetec Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired90000 miles
Most recent distance102000 miles

Summary:

A cheap bit of fun!

Faults:

Main problem at the moment is with the ignition and the way it tends to wear away and stick, which means the key stays in!

Also, the spot lights tend to go quite often and need replacing!

General Comments:

Good first car to have, handles well.

Love the bucket seats, just like a real sports car.

People look and think it's something more than what it really is.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th October, 2001

1995 Ford Fiesta Si 1.6 injection from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 injection Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance76000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Faults:

When I got the car, one of the front calipers had stuck to the rim.

New front tire on passenger side, and a new alternator - the one already there was half busted - the car cut out on the way to work one morning.

Slight little scuttle-ring noise when I engage the gears i.e. first.

And why does it sometimes cut out in the mild/cold weather when I drive up to the top of the road?

General Comments:

The car has good acceleration through all the gears and has some sort of street cred!

Luxury seats!

POOR fuel consumption on these models - I would like 300 miles to a full tank, not 200.

The steering is easily affected when I have passengers - it either goes to the left a lot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 23rd May, 2001

20th May 2002, 05:15

I know how you feel. Mine cuts out after I've driven to the top of the road, although it doesn't happen again until the next day. Very annoying!

Definitely needs fixing soon. Any ideas on what it is or how much it costs?

6th Jun 2002, 19:03

Ten pounds says its your Idle control valve, run it in by ford and they will tell you that. £75 for them to look at it and £157 for the part though, had a same fault on my escort 1.6 si which has same mechanical workings.

3rd Aug 2002, 18:55

Looked at my Haynes manual, but could not find the Idle Control Valve. Last garage said it was a common fault - this valve needed cleaning as it gets clogged up with oil. They charged £45. I'm sure I could do it, but can anyone point us in the right direction?

30th Aug 2002, 10:25

SORTED!

The problem was it used to cut out at the top of the road!

Completely flushed the anti freeze with a mate. all that brown rusty crap came out. topped it up with new anti freeze from motormania and now it never does it!!! Tim.

1995 Ford Fiesta Si 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance29000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

A delight to drive and own

Faults:

Flattens its battery regularly, but I do low miles.

Nothing else gone wrong in six years.

A bit of rust on the sides of the doors due to lack of protection from walls!

General Comments:

The 1994 was a nightmare, engine failed and Ford took the whole car back after three months and gave me this one.

Exhaust has been replaced and the new one has never fitted properly (dealer fitted). It rattles and thumps on corners.

Apart from that I love this car, the big comfy seats, the blowers defrost within seconds on a morning and even by todays much higher equipment standards, it holds its own.

It has to go now due to a baby, but I would keep it forever and seriously feel it would last that long. Hasn't been serviced in three years either!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st January, 2001

31st Jan 2001, 10:15

The problem with the exhaust can be fixed by getting two new exhaust rubbers, had the same problem with my Si, now it's fine.

Cost will be £50 including fitting.

31st Jan 2001, 12:41

Hasn't been serviced in three years either!

And then some people are complaining about their cars breaking down...

25th Jan 2002, 13:10

Yeah, too right mate!!!

I bought a 1995 Si. It's cost me £3000 in servicing to put right as none of the parts have been replaced i.e failed MoT!! Three thousand pounds!!! OK.

These cars need looking after, I've had to replace everything, even though I had bought it at the regular 3k price!!!

Rxample: front 2 lower arms, alternator, 4 new tyres, sump gasket seals and crankshaft... the list is endless...

Sooner or later I will have to buy a bloody clutch!!

10th Feb 2003, 16:32

Hasn't been serviced in three years?!?! Bet the next poor sap that buys it won't be finding out that little gem of information will they...

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 53 reviews