2001 Ford Fiesta Reviews - Page 14 of 14

2001 Ford Fiesta Zetec-S 1.6i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6i petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance1900 miles
Previous carFord Ka

Summary:

A sexy little love boat of a car

Faults:

Nothing significant has gone wrong except that there was hardly any oil in the engine and it chugged for a few days until I realized.

General Comments:

The car has a lot of strange noises including a loud resonance from somewhere at 90mph+.

The tires make a lot of noise too. Initially thought it was the cams, but apparently it wasn't!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd May, 2001

26th May 2001, 13:14

Zetec-S is a dangerous shed!

Do not buy one.

I have had two X-reg zetec-s'. The first one had 5 trips to the dealer for frontawl suspension failure. 1 week after the replacement parts were fitted, the car lost control and was written off. The insurance replacement Zetec-S has recently been committed to Ford, due to 20+ faults, some quite major. Ford offered me a full refund... which I took.

3rd Oct 2001, 15:18

That comment was written by a Saxo VTR owner, angry with his own car, ignore it.

17th Oct 2001, 13:57

I have a panther black Zetec-S and I wouldn't change my wee black beauty for anything other than an Escort RS Cosworth.

VTRs eat my dust.

2001 Ford Fiesta Zetec-S 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired11 miles
Most recent distance1000 miles
Previous carBMW 320

Summary:

Performance plus practicality at a reasonable price

Faults:

CD unit wouldn't play discs. Unit replaced new under warranty.

Minor trim defects.

General Comments:

Astonished at the performance in a 1.6 motor!

Handles like it's on rails.

Instruments much improved on, fog light switches now visible to the driver.

Instruments illuminated with green light at night. A bit too bright with some reflection on the windscreen. Would benefit from a dimmer switch.

Can't recommend the dealer (Matlock Ford) enough. Best price on a full UK spec motor by several hundred pounds. Also very attentive aftercare.

2001 alloys look way better than last years, with no centre locking cover.

Clutch whirrs a bit when in neutral, also fan noise is noticeable in the cab when stationary. Minor niggles really, and I've been spoilt by the excellent soundproofing in a BMW.

Sport seats are comfortable and supportive, though some lumbar support adjustment would be welcome.

Fuel economy is good, averaging 36mpg without keeping an eye on economy.

Insurance group 8E is a steal for a car with performance like this - the BMW was group 12 and the Fiesta would hold its own against a (1990) 320, and outhandle it in the bends.

Thoroughly recommend this as a practical car with performance as a welcome extra.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2001

11th Apr 2001, 13:34

I wrote this review, and want to add a point. At tick-over, with the car stationary and in neutral, you may hear a gentle knock at 3 sec intervals. It can also be felt through the steering column. This is the fuel management system solenoid venting - nothing is wrong with the car!

23rd May 2002, 17:39

Couldn't agree more with your review. I've had my Zetec S for a month (a 2001 X plate) and the more I drive it, the more I fall in love with it. I personally find it a bit underpowered, but the package as a whole is fantastic, and was obviously developed by real driving enthusiasts. The car has quick, beautifully weighted steering, excellent chassis balance, a slick gearbox and the ability to cover a twisty lane at ridiculous pace. I also love its looks - plenty of attitude!

Mine also whirs in neutral and the gearbox whines a bit in 1st (although is silent in all the other gears). Haven't noticed the clonking though. I have to say overall build quality is as good a friend's similarly aged VW Polo, and leagues ahead of my old 106.

A corking little car!

16th Jan 2003, 09:57

Accurate review, not sure about the newer alloys comment though, I prefer the center cap to hide the wheel nuts. Only one hint to make, add a performance air filter (K&N or something similar), just helps the engine pickup at lower revs.

27th Feb 2003, 05:19

In response to you comment about the K&N airfilter, can anyone tell me the type and model number please. Also does the K&N give off a lot more noise?

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 42 reviews