2001 Ford Fiesta Reviews - Page 13 of 14

2001 Ford Fiesta Zetec S 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired41 miles
Most recent distance3400 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

Quick, great looks, economical - it's the perfect hot hatch!

Faults:

Passenger side electric window was sticking after a month or so. Dealer promptly repaired it, but has happened again. Dealer fixed it again.

General Comments:

Handling is superb - I'm told among the best of the hot hatches currently available.

The car is capable of handling considerably more power - not sure why Ford haven't tuned it further. But it's still great fun to drive.

Looks can snap knicker elastic at 100 yards! You get side skirts, 15 inch multi spoke alloys, cool round fog lights, steel grille mesh, and a spoiler as standard - features that don't appear on every hot hatch.

Interior is almost identical to the Mk4 - I reckon Ford could and should have re-worked it a little.

Stereo is adequate but limited - I'm in the process of upgrading to a Kenwood/JBL combination.

As an all-round package, taking into account speed, handling, styling, image, insurance group 8, and all-important value for money (it came with free insurance too), for me it's got to be the top hot hatch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th December, 2001

2001 Ford Fiesta Zetec-S 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance297 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Affordable, quick, spacious and looks great

Faults:

None at present. I haven't had the car long though.

General Comments:

The first thing I noticed when driving the car was the superb handling WOW!

The performance is good and although the car can be beaten off the lights by a lot of other cars its pulling power (torque) is awesome. 30-60 in 10 seconds when the puma 1.7 is 9.5.

Generally the car is lovely to drive and cheap to run. BUY ONE!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2001

10th Oct 2001, 05:07

I'll buy one when I can afford one! :o) (I'm 17!)

8th Dec 2001, 05:30

Hi, just wondering if it is possible for an 18 year old to insure this car COS I LOVE IT!

2001 Ford Fiesta Zetec S 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance5000 miles
Previous carCitroen Saxo

Summary:

A good value, reliable, fun car

Faults:

Nothing, except stone smashed front fog lamp. Is there any point forking out 40 quid if it's gonna just happen again???

General Comments:

This car handles very well. I have had six hot hatches, starting with an XR2 and including a Saxo VTR. This is easily the best handling, if not the quickest (that was a 5GT turbo) Performance can be improved relatively cheaply though.

Last car was a Saxo VTR and it's quicker than that with better build quality. Although about £1000 more new than a VTR these days.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2001

18th Nov 2002, 05:47

I just bought a Zetec S in red, a sporty little number! I absolutely love doing little boy racers over from the lights and seeing them get laughed at by their mates! Being a girl in a fast car is so much fun!

2001 Ford Fiesta Zetec-S 1.6 Zetec-SE from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.6 Zetec-SE Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20 miles
Most recent distance2000 miles
Previous carFiat Punto

Summary:

Get one!!!

Faults:

A bit dirty when bought.

General Comments:

Wow!!!

This car is the most amazing piece of work on the market.

It can beat an Audi TT and Nissan Skyline on tracks.

I can honestly say that this is the best handling car on the market.

It may only be as quick as a VTR, but it keeps up with BMW's and GTO's.

I've driven my mums Punto HGT. It is faster but does not handle anywhere as near as my Zetec-S (it is also very cheap).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th June, 2001

2nd Jul 2001, 08:33

You are living in dreamland if you think your Zetec S could beat an Audi TT or Nissan Skyline round a racetrack. In particular, the Skyline is the fastest production car in the world to lap the German racetrack Nurenberg (or whatever its called).

I don't think some poxy Fiesta will beat that!

30th Sep 2001, 17:28

I know it's taken me ages to reply, but I'd just like to say that I didn't make this quote up or even dream it.

I read this quote:

"The Zetec-S has the most amazing handling, it's even been known to have beaten Audi TT's and Nissan Skyline's on tracks"

I read this in Auto Express magazine on the review of the Toyota Yaris T Sport.

Even if this is wrong you can't blame me coz I only read it.

10th Oct 2001, 05:25

That'll be the old Nurburgring in Germany. I'm surprised the Nissan made it all the way round without breaking down to be honest. As for the Audi TT... you'd over steer off the track at the first corner (should you be mad enough to get in one in the first place)! I'd take the Zetec S, not only is it very good looking, it's safer and more economical than anything in it's class.

9th Dec 2007, 17:14

An Audi TT over-steering? They are the most under-steery cars going. All Audi cars naturally under-steer; but the old TT is a joke.

10th Dec 2007, 03:50

In fairness, it's only a tarted up mkIV Golf. No serious driver ever bought a TT.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 42 reviews