2001 Ford Fiesta Reviews - Page 9 of 14

2001 Ford Fiesta Zetec-S 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance12200 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Put the fun into driving

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong as yet.

General Comments:

This car makes driving fun again, with cheap insurance and relatively low running costs I'm thinking of buying another so my fiancee` and I can have a race.

The only downsides are that the interior is generally poor quality and a little bit disappointing considering the price. There isn't even a light in the glove box!

The thing I love best about this car is racing people at traffic lights. It may not have the top end speed of other cars, but at the lights its seriously quick. My personal favorite's are Citroen saxo's both VTR and VTS models, it leaves them for dead.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st January, 2003

2nd Jan 2003, 05:16

I have a Zetec S and love it, but I'm sorry it will NOT beat a well driven Saxo VTS in a straight line. It's nearly 20 brake down, and heavier! 0-60 time is 2 seconds slower.

I love my Zetec S to bits, but there are quite a lot of cars out there that will kill it off the lights. Mind you, there's not much to match it in the twisties.

5th Jan 2003, 15:29

I guess the VTS was either badly driven or even worse a VTR sad act with a VTS badge. :)

Anyway I have more fun going round roundabouts than straight lines lately.

Weeeeeeeeeeeeeee.

11th Jun 2003, 06:56

I have just bought a 2002 model Fiesta Zetec S and I feel that it is both stylish and quick!!

However both the Saxo VTS & VTR are nice cars, but they are becoming too common!!

28th Jun 2003, 08:12

'The thing I love best about this car is racing people at traffic lights'. Don't tell me, you wear a baseball cap backwards and play loud dance music that can be heard three miles away. If I were next to you at the lights I would just let you go in the knowledge that my tyres, brakes, gearbox and engine will last an awful lot longer than yours.

Having said all that, the Zetec-S is still a cracking looking car, but won't become a classic like my 205 GTi.

2001 Ford Fiesta Zetec-S 1.6 16v Zetec-SE from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Zetec-SE Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles

Summary:

You won't belive how good it is

Faults:

Water Leak in Drivers Door Seal, fixed at no cost by ford dealer.

Steering wheel leather began to perish after only 5k, changed at no cost again by ford dealer.

General Comments:

Great Young drivers car, pretty quick, fun, cheap to insure

Handles like it is on rails, and out preforms anything in its class on a track, also a lot quicker than it is supposed to be,

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2002

2001 Ford Fiesta MacGregor 1.3 from Romania

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired7400 kilometres
Most recent distance14000 kilometres
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

A very good and reliable car

Faults:

Nothig yet.

General Comments:

I feel very good at the wheel of my Fiesta. I recommend a Fiesta to everyone hows looking for a fast and economical car. My Fiesta eats only 5 liters of unleaded per 100 km which is very little when you are on top of 60 Hp. I'm a big guy and my Fiesta does not provide enough space for my legs. It's a 3 door Fiesta. The audio is very good, I must say, it's a „3000 Traffic” radio-cassette.The lights are very powerful and you can manege very good in night time. The Car is very good soundproofed, you don't hear others from outside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th November, 2002

2001 Ford Fiesta Zetec S 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired38000 miles
Most recent distance41000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Great handling, great looks, BUY ONE!!!

Faults:

Definitely something amiss with tracking / breaking or suspension at the moment with breaking and acceleration pulling to the right. Getting it checked at the moment.

General Comments:

Handles excellent grips the road brilliantly.

Looks great in Imperial blue. Alloys and integral fog-lights look hot!

V.Cheap insurance only £860 for a 21yr old with 2yrs No claims bonus and a partial blame write off in 2000!

Good response at around 3500-4500 revs. Higher revs seem not to yield as much acceleration as it earlier promises.

Good fuel economy at about 40mpg on motorways. Very poor (but fun) when thrashed round the back lanes :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2002

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 42 reviews