2002 Ford Fiesta Reviews

2002 Ford Fiesta Zetec S 1.6 petrol from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 1.6 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired41000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

MINT!!!

Faults:

Gearbox gave up at 64000.

Rear wheel bearing went at 50000.

Usual steering wheel wear.

ABS issues now 2001 @ 66000... looking at it, it's going to be reluctor ring or maybe an ABS sensor..

General Comments:

Apart from these issues, the car is amazing.. it goes where you put it through corners..

I have had some modifications done, and it's running 135 BHP... very quick.. Eats Saxo VTS's... 106 GTI's.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2011

2002 Ford Fiesta finesse 1.259 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.259 Manual
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance16000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Excellent except for steering rack

Faults:

My car is only five years old and the steering rack has gone. It is going to be very expensive to fix and I am disgusted that this has happened.

The car has only done 16000 miles, i never go on the moter way, i just use it for travelling to work and shopping.

I am clueless to why this should of happened.

General Comments:

Generally the car runs fine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd July, 2007

23rd Jul 2007, 11:15

My Fiesta is four years old and the steering rack has just gone. Told it will cost over £700. Something needs to be done or else Ford will walk all over us.

24th Jul 2007, 10:04

Does anybody know what we can do about all these problems with the fiesta steering racks? Surely there must be something we can do.

2002 Ford Fiesta Ghia 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.2 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance25000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 206

Summary:

I wasted my money

Faults:

Steering rack gone.

General Comments:

Too expensive for what it is.

Steering rack gone after only 25 000 miles, and cost me 800 pounds to fix.

The car has too much cheap plastic inside, and outside for the Ghia model. Completely poorly built. Also, the plastic parts on the side of the doors make too much noise.

Ford head office are useless.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th May, 2007

23rd Jul 2007, 11:17

The steering rack on mine has gone too. Same age. Ford say there is no known problem. Yeah right!

2002 Ford Fiesta LX 1.4 TDI from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.4 TDI Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

I am currently happy with the car

Faults:

I recently had to pay for a new steering rack (like a number of other people on this site). This cost £443 + VAT + labour (~£520).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd September, 2006

2002 Ford Fiesta finess 1.3 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.3 Manual
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance24000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Generally OK until this fault

Faults:

Steering Rack needs to be replaced after 24,000 miles just out of warranty like so many others I have heard of since this fault came to light. Surely ford should admit this defect as it seems to be very common and replace free of charge.

General Comments:

Until now this has been a good car, but to put the fault right it will cost a large percentage of the car's value.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 20th January, 2006

27th Feb 2006, 04:18

We have a 2002 Ford Fiesta 1.4 TDCi with 32,000 miles on the clock. We have just discovered that the steer rack has a major problem. It started with the Power Steering fluid leaking out and now it seems like a huge problem to fix. May have to sell the car as is if the repair is too expensive. Not happy.

2002 Ford Fiesta LX 1.4 cc from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.4 cc Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired16500 miles
Most recent distance18203 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

Over the short period of time I've owned the car I have found it reliable

Faults:

The vehicle has low mileage for it's age, however due to a fault the power steering liquid has been leaking, which has resulted in the requirement to replace the full steering rack.

General Comments:

Have been advised that this is a common fault and wondered if anyone has had the same problem?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th January, 2006

16th Jan 2006, 14:34

My Fiesta LX 1.4 has just been 'diagnosed' with this fault, so will be having its steering rack replaced this week. I also know of another person who has had theirs replaced a couple of weeks ago. However, Ford won't admit that there must be a fault in the manufacture, and, as my Fiesta is out of warranty, aren't interested. Other than that, the car is great.

2002 Ford Fiesta Finesse 1.3i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.3i Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired32000 miles
Most recent distance34000 miles
Previous carDaewoo Matiz

Summary:

Fun to drive, spacious super-mini

Faults:

Needed a new wiper blade. Otherwise nothing.

General Comments:

Good points about this car:

Handling and ride: Probably the best handling in its class. It grips the road superbly and is excellent fun to drive on windy country roads.

On the motorway it has the ride comparable to a large quality saloon and so is extremely comfortable.

Gear box: You could not ask for a sweeter gear change, again I would say best in class.

Value: I bought it at barely two years old, still under warranty for £4299, good for buyers, although not great for sellers.

Engine: A refined and smooth engine which is very reliable. Nippy around town.

Very spacious.

Not so good points about this car:

Quality of materials: The plastics in the cabin are not what I expect from a ford. The trim on the doors looks cheap.

Equipment: Could do with a few more things as standard – the wind down windows are a disappointment and again feel cheap. Lack of ABS on a 2002 car is terrible!

Engine: The least powerful of the range. The 1.25 ltr has 16 valves and more horsepower and so is faster. The 1.3 is fine with one or two people in and is surprisingly capable on the motorway, but when fully loaded is a let down.

Overall I am satisfied.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th July, 2005

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 20 reviews