2002 Ford Fiesta Reviews - Page 2 of 4

2002 Ford Fiesta Zetec S 1.6 (16v) from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 1.6 (16v) Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance31000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

This car is very good looking

Faults:

Well there have been no highly technical faults so far as it is still a new car. But around the lever you pull to release the seat to access the back seats, the trim has ripped away by itself.

General Comments:

The Zetec S is a very sexy car when it is red or black. Everyone says it has a nice shiny grille on the front and this comes as standard. With a punchy 1.6 little 16 valve Zetec engine, it will nip along very happy down the A1.

It has some evil power, and is a little pocket rocket, and I love it very much.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2005

2002 Ford Fiesta Zetec 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired700 miles
Most recent distance11500 miles
Previous carAlfa Romeo 156

Summary:

Great, but mind the rapid depreciation

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

My only negative point on this car is the re-sale value or trade in value.

The car has not even reached its 12k service, is only 2 years old, yet has depreciated to 4,100 (trade in price). It is this, and this alone, that prevents me from buying another Ford.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th October, 2004

25th Dec 2005, 14:10

Most small hatchbacks have this level of depreciation, not just Fiestas.

2002 Ford Fiesta Supercharger Personallite 1.0 RoCam from Brazil

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.0 RoCam Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired16050 kilometres
Most recent distance17549 kilometres
Previous carFiat Palio

Summary:

High power, medium price, low negative points

Faults:

Whenever I wash it, the front light get full of water inside. It takes a long time for them to fade away.

The seat support has fallen, but it was quickly fixed in the dealer (5 minutes)

There has been some noise in the windows when I am in a bad quality road.

General Comments:

This news generation is really beautiful and with a superb engine. Although it is a little bit petrol eater, there's always enough power, unlike those 1.0 16V cars that has no power or torch. This Zetec Rocam engine is really a state of art, and the compressor just make it go faster and faster.

The interior does not have old Ford quality. The dashboard is made with a cheap plastic, and you don't feel quite comfortable on it. Original sound speaker is terrible. Seats are quite uncomfortable after long trips. Small leg support and the back support is too straigh.

When it comes about handling, you suddenly don't care about the interior. Just like a VW Golf, you know that the cars won't let you down in curves.

Suspension is sporty and doesn't absorb all the road irregularities.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th December, 2003

2002 Ford Fiesta Fusion 1 1.4 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10 miles
Most recent distance15000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

The worst car I have ever had

Faults:

The car has broken down three times in one year with the same fault. The engine drops to tick-over and will not rev up.

General Comments:

Ford show little concern about these problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th September, 2003

14th Sep 2003, 15:54

If it is your worst car you that you have ever had, why you put "yes" at the topic, "Would you buy another car from this manufacturer?"

I think you should say, "No" instead of "Yes".

Am, I right?

18th Dec 2004, 10:44

Ford Fusion 2, 1.6 Petrol. Purchased January 03, The vehicle has had the same Fault as explained in the other complaint. It has lost power on numerous occasions and twice nearly causing serious accidents. Both Ford Customer services have been involved and the dealership. The vehicle has had vast amounts of work done to try and rectify the fault, but it has not worked. I a currently taking legal advise and waiting on the dealership to respond to my letters.

2002 Ford Fiesta Zetec-S 1.6 16v All Alloy from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v All Alloy Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10202 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carPeugeot 106

Summary:

Those boys at the Blue Oval need a well deserved pat on the back!

Faults:

Absolutely nothing, but then I have only had it 3 days!

General Comments:

This car is absolutely amazing! I had wanted one since 2000 when they first appeared on an X plate. This car makes my old Peugeot 106 look like a roller skate! My Fiesta is on a 52 plate and is eight months old.

The Fiesta is the second fastest car I have ever driven (beaten only by a Renault 5 GT Turbo, but that was built like a rice crispy)! it even beats my mates Calibra! But its not so much the speed as the handling, from a ex-Peugeot driver I am used to sorted Chassis, but this is in a different league!

The whole car is just so communicative, everything from the steering, throttle response, brakes and gear change, it really is top of the class!

Everytime you jump in you want to go the long way home!!

This is backed up by the interior, my Zetec-S is in Radiant Red so its got the red and black leather steering wheel - Very Nice! The white dials are great, the seats are the best I have ever sat in (from the Puma I think). Things like electric windows, air conditioning, CD Player traction control, ABS, 15" Alloys, fogs, spoiler, subtle, but effective bodykit, Power Steering make this a very very good buy.

The only thing I have changed is the Gear knob, why Ford couldn't have put in the same alloy knob from the Puma in I don't know! A small detail I know and the Puma knob only cost me £20 from a Ford dealer and took 5 minutes to fit so...

STATS

0-60 about 10 seconds

115 top speed

106 lbs ft of Torque.

Anyway, to sum up this is one serious Warm Hatch, buy one!

Be aware though, only take one for a test drive if you can afford it because you will be hooked from the word go, I was!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd August, 2003

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 20 reviews