2002 Ford Fiesta Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2002 Ford Fiesta Zetec 1.4 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.4 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

Disappointing

Faults:

There has been a electronic acceleration fault on the car that does not allow the car to drive over 18 miles per hour.

The car intermittently stalls during normal driving conditions.

General Comments:

The car is extremely comfortable and stylish.

Lovely to drive until problems occurred.

The manufacturer has been extremely difficult in dealing with my problems.

The problem occurred in November and is still being dealt with now in January.

There is no fix known for this problem.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th January, 2003

10th Jun 2003, 13:54

Unlucky mate, that's what you get for buying a Ford.

25th Mar 2004, 07:44

I Have got a Ford Fiesta 1.6 2003 model and I had the same problem with the electronic accelerator. Since I have changed the oxygen sensors from the exhaust system the problem is gone.

2002 Ford Fiesta Superchanger 1.0 turbo compression from Brazil

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.0 turbo compression Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance5089 kilometres
Previous carSeat Ibiza

Summary:

Sporty, practical and fun to drive

Faults:

The rubber that protects the car interior from the water and dust is loosing.

General Comments:

The car is incredible fast if you consider its small engine.

The new Fiesta is extremely beautiful and stylish.

However the interior has lack of quality. The dash is made with a low-quality plastic that doesn't correspond with the outside beauty.

The air-conditioner buttons aren't lighted, so at night you have trouble adjusting the temperature.

The seats aren't comfortable for long distance travels. They doesn't have enough support for the legs and for the back.

The Fiesta has a outstanding handling. It feels like its on a rail.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th January, 2003

13th Jul 2003, 08:49

I agree, I have owned a Zetec-S for the past two years now - having upgraded from a standard 1.25SE which I thought was very nippy for its specs.

No trouble with the car apart from high servicing costs from Ford and I'm beginning to hear a slight knock from the suspension which sounds like the anti-roll bar.

Ah well,

Marc Mitchell.

4th Dec 2003, 09:32

Yes.. Ford engines like Zetec are really good. If you consider the 1.0 engine, with its 65 hp, you may think it is a weak one, but you have torch at any time. Now, this engine with the compressor (the Supercharger) with its 96 hp, it is faster than the 1.6 Zetec. Really. But you have to rev the engine in a high rotation... and it gets a little bit noisy. Also, it is a great petrol eater.

The sound system is not the best... there's a lack in quality...

2002 Ford Fiesta Zetec S 1.6 16v from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 16v Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carFord Fiesta

Summary:

A marvelous car that never ceases to please - buy one!

Faults:

Nothing so far.

General Comments:

The Zetec S is my third Fiesta and without a doubt the best so far!

It's a great looking car and surprisingly rare compared to the 'rivals': 206 GTi/XSi/106 GTi, Saxo, Clio etc.

Ford could have gone a bit wilder (bigger spoiler, sportier interior - it's very similar in many ways to lesser models such as the Freestyle), but credit to them for making a relatively cheap and insurable supermini without sacrificing the best bits.

For example, I was shocked to learn that the Saxo VTS is an Insurance Group 15 compared to the Fiesta's Group 8 (a big factor when choosing).

The rival superminis such as the Saxo VTS and Peugeot 206 XSi may have a slightly larger bhp and top speed, but for the times that these are actually used, its not such a big deal. And anyway, the Zetec S is still surprisingly quick when you do choose to push it: The Audi TT that eventually overtook me at 100mph was probably a little surprised at the Fiestas oomph - not that I encourage this kind of thing...

To comment on the cost, my 2002 model was £13,000 so credit was the only option. Over 5 years the interest applied is frightening, but I think it is well worth it. Perhaps I should have shopped around different dealers before I jumped in, but I was in love with the Zetec S.

The dealership (Benfield Ford, Kirkstall Road in Leeds) was very good, but could have taken a little more time explaining the details of the finance agreement. This lack of attention ended up with me realising a month down the line that I only had the lowest form of credit protection when I specifically asked for the top whack. Partly their fault, maybe partly mine for not checking it properly. Anyhow it is now sorted after numerous phone calls to the lenders.

It also took near a month just to get some carpets! Carpets! Why!!

Apart from these small niggles, the car arrived absolutely immaculate and gave me a smile that didn't fade until long after. In fact I think I'm still beaming after 3 months - yes I am!

Really, to summarise, this is a supermini that has rightly had heaps of praise from the critics, performs brilliantly, looks superb and most importantly, is affordable (to buy and insure).

Although I haven't driven any other superminis I would strongly suggest that you at least take a test drive in the Zetec S before choosing a too-common rival.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th November, 2002

30th Jan 2003, 11:16

Totally agree with your comments on the Zetec-S. I had a Peugeot 106XSi which I thought was the best handling car I'd driven, until I test drove the Zetec-S. I just had to have it.

I've owned or driven most warm and hot hatches, and I can categorically state the Zetec-S has the best steering of any front drive car on the planet (1 degree of input gives instant response from the front end, and bags of feel), chassis balance to rival any car at any price, throttle adjustability to die for and an engine that makes up for a relative lack of balls by being sweet, eager and making a fantastic growl.

Now racked up 23,000 miles in my X plater and it has been utterly reliable apart from a worn anti roll bar link. This was replaced under warranty with no argument by my local dealer. It's a cracking little car which offers loads of fun, astonishing fuel consumption, affordable insurance and top notch reliability. I even like the styling.

2002 Ford Fiesta Zetec-S 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance300 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Amazing handling and performance for a small car

Faults:

Passenger window would not close correctly. Main dealer repaired this with silicon gel.

General Comments:

The car looks fantastic.

Bought brand new from main Ford dealer and got 20 % reduction as the new model Fiesta is available.

Old car was an Escort 1800 Si and the Fiesta seems much quicker, handles far better and sounds great.

Without a doubt, this car is the best I have ever owned. A friend who owns a Lexus IS200 mentioned he had difficulty getting past a Fiesta Zetec S at the traffic lights.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th November, 2002

2002 Ford Fiesta First Edition 1.4 petrol from Netherlands

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.4 petrol Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired7 kilometres
Most recent distance7200 kilometres
Previous carVolkswagen Jetta

Summary:

A satisfying, efficiently twisty drive

Faults:

I had a small problem with the rear window defrosting circuit blowing fuses (discovered after 4 months of pleasant summer/fall driving). The cause was an exposed wire shorting out and blowing the fuse. The Ford dealer in Hilversum was able to diagnose the problem and fix it in 30 minutes, while I waited (This was a pleasant surprise).

General Comments:

The car is wonderful to drive for a mini car (this is now the smallest car I've driven since my 1973 Beetle).

The previous car was a Jetta, and while the back-seat space isn't a generous as the Jetta, the driving and comfort is comparable for a small car.

The plastics are a substantial, but a bit hard - comparable to the Mercedes A-class or Audi A2. They can scratch easily, but rub down with a soft cloth.

It sucks up speed-bunps well, as well as cobblestone streets, but the car could benefit from a more subtle suspension. Still, it's excellent in the curves as it is...

The rear of the car is beginning to get that "Ford-clunk" - where the exhaust system bonks the bottom of the car in corners.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 16th November, 2002

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 20 reviews