Ford Five Hundred Reviews - Page 8 of 15

2007 Ford Five Hundred SEL 3.0 from North America

Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired8 miles
Most recent distance700 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Vanagon

Summary:

Best sedan you can buy

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I love this car. The more I drive it the bigger my smile. No one else in the world offers a Cross-over sedan. Feels large, drives solid and looks expensive.

The ideal car to use for business and pleasure.

My Pearl Blue car looks like an expensive German model, but fits americans better, because it is.

The build quality from Chicago is great, not a single build issue - and I love the Continintal tires. I don't know why anyone would be critical of how fast it is, it is fast and cruises great. Whoever wants to drive a big sedan like a sports car simply doesn't know what driving is about. Want speed, buy a Mustang. What the best sedan you can get for the money, buy a 500.

Is it perfect, no, nothing is - but the seating position alone is worth the price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2007

20th Mar 2007, 21:54

It sounds like you really are enjoying your new Five Hundred! Perhaps you wouldn't mind coming back after you have a few more miles on the car for an update.

Thanks.

21st Mar 2007, 11:31

I will try to update. Also want to mention that the door key pad is great. Some reviewers try to downplay it as only for 'forgetting your keys", actually it is great when you are out running or around the dock and don't want to keep keys in the pocket. Also, we leave the car at the airport for friends and family to pick up, and they simply use the code to enter and find the keys in a safe place.

Lastly, right now you can make a great deal on an 07, Ford is offering $2,000.00 + you can get another $1,000.00. I was able to negotiate a total of $6,500.00 off the already reasonable $23,000 on the window. It is like a Fusion on steroids - and is a really well made machine. Ford deserves more credit than criticism for the engine choice - and all around modern approach to this great family sedan.

My family, even the teens like it, because it is low key and looks expensive.

2005 Ford Five Hundred SEL 3.0 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.0 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 1 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance22500 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Reliability is horrible

Faults:

The car was towed because the alternator had drained the battery. Dealer replaced the alternator and battery after having the car for four days.

The car was again taken to the dealer because the electric cluster had broken down. Took three days for the part to be ordered and installed in the car.

The inside has dash bubbles and tends to rattle a great deal.

General Comments:

Very comfortable car to sit in and drive. Reliability is below average and the workmanship on the interior is below par.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th March, 2007

2006 Ford Five Hundred from North America

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.4 / 10
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carToyota Avalon

Summary:

I wouldn't wish it on my worst enemy!!

Faults:

It had so many problems it would be hard to list them all here. It had rattles, clunking noises, had front end parts replaced, the front end needed alignment 3 times and still wore out the front tires with 18,000 miles on it. I traded it and found the depreciation to be typical of Ford. It was worth about 1/2 of what it listed for a year earlier.

General Comments:

After owning this car and trying to get Ford to fix it I plan on never owning another Ford as long as I live. They are going to have to find some other suckers. It won't matter if they call it a five hundred or a Taurus it is still junk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th February, 2007

17th Feb 2007, 22:32

Sounds like somebody didn't do their homework when buying a car...ouch.

18th Feb 2007, 06:24

Sounds like you live in an area loaded with potholes or washboard roads... especially with a new car knocked out of alignment and not corrected immediately. My son tore up the suspension in his in this very manner with 1 winter bad pothole hit.

19th Feb 2007, 10:26

No, it sounds like a typical Ford backed by typical Ford dealers. No wonder they lost $12.7 billion last year.

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 55 reviews