2002 Ford Focus Reviews - Page 15 of 28

2002 Ford Focus ZX 3 2.0 DOHC from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.7 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance40000 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

Domestic rice burner

Faults:

Rubber door seal on passenger side is torn to that air comes in to the car while driving.

Transmission shudder when coming to a stop.

Gas mileage is horrible for this small of car.

General Comments:

This car has impressed me so far and it seems that people either love it or hate it.

This car takes corners like nothing else; however, it is pretty slow compared to my prior car (1987 integra)

I don't like that the seats do not fully recline. I drive a lot and I pull over to take naps and it's hard to do sitting half way up.

The stereo is impressive for being stock.

I like the looks of the car and it's well designed inside.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th March, 2005

16th Dec 2005, 09:25

Rice Burner??? you are joking right, most import cars have reliability that the focus could only dream about. The only thing the Focus is burning is money out of your wallet for unnecessary repairs and failures.

23rd May 2006, 05:02

I bought my 2002 Ford Focus in December of 2005. As I drove my car home from the car dealer I could watch my gas gauge go down. I told them about it, at first they kept putting me off then they put it on their computer and said nothing was wrong. I measured the gas mileage for in and out of town use I get 18 to 20 miles to the gallon. The reason I bought this car was because the salesman said, I'd get 35 miles to a gallon of gas. Now my warranty is gone and my problem isn't resolved. I feel as though I was cheated and there isn't nothing I can do about it.

29th Jul 2006, 21:30

Focus (2.0 zetec engine) gets 25 city /34 hwy in a manual and 24 city /32 hwy in an automatic transmission. Most get under the estimated fuel economy, but people found driving conservatively, checking tire pressure, and using cruise control more saved lots of gas. Driving more on the highway also help a lot too.

15th Oct 2006, 02:04

I don't believe it. I drive a ZX2 with a Zetec and I ride her hard. 4-5500rpm isn't unheard of and I get about 30mpg city. riding that hard. I know the Focus is heavy, but it can't take away 5mpg.

2002 Ford Focus ZX5 Zetec from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission Zetec Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired23 miles
Most recent distance600000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

Very practical, dependable, and a fun car to drive

Faults:

A fuel injection problem requiring a $50 part plus $200 labor.

New tires at 50k. Performance tires required, costing $90/tire.

General Comments:

The maneuverability of the focus is superb. I've avoided many accidents on my 26 mile commute around the beltway because of the car's grip on the road. The thing simply sticks. Snow and rain are no problem. It's much fun to smoke the SUV's as they waddle like fat cows. It fits in the urban environment nicely, easy to park and is lots of fun on the twisty country roads.

The 5 speed manual gives enough acceleration at any speed. The only drawback is the high rpm's at high speed. At 70mph, you're up to 3000 rpms. At 100, I wasn't looking at the tachometer, but the engine was quite loud. I wish I had the SVT's 6th gear.

The interior is very nice with a stainless steel console and user friendly climate and stereo controls. With 2/3 of the rear seat down, I can fit my little baby girl in her car-seat and my mtn. bike in the back. On long trips, you'll wish the seat was more comfortable.

Over all, I beat the car down, and it takes it. So far (60k miles) only one technical problem outside the required servicing. It's fun and sporty. Not very glamorous though. But I'll be able to retire sooner!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st March, 2005

12th Jun 2006, 13:49

I am now at 80k. Factory stereo broke (6cd changer). No other problems except for a few rattles. Am getting 31 mpg with mostly highway driving (watching this now that gas prices have increased).

14th Jul 2008, 13:35

I'm at 115000 miles. I had a whole mess of problems in the last 15k. The alternator died. Some vacuum thing that sucked the exhaust back through the engine broke. These 2 things were costly to fix. New brakes around 100k. Now, I've got another fuel injection/pump problem where there is hesitation or the engine misses when accelerating. Rapid acceleration is no more.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 90 reviews