2004 Ford Freestar Ltd from North America - Comments

7th Feb 2008, 10:50

On 12/22/07, my family and I were on Interstate 65, in central Indiana traveling at approximately 65 mph. With no warning at all the transmission failed in my Freestar with 67,000 miles. We coasted to the shoulder. Based on our description, the service manager at our Ford dealership believed it to be the “planetary shaft”. Once the vehicle was towed in that was confirmed, and we we're out $3000+ for a new transmission. This is a very dangerous failure, and I have filed a complaint with NHTSA.

8th Feb 2008, 07:46

If any of you believe the spontaneous failure of your Freestar transmission was dangerous (as mine was), you should file a complaint at the NHTSA.gov website.

8th Feb 2008, 14:31

If your dealer refuses to recognize a problem have an independent mechanic diagnose it and provide an estimate. Armed with that you might be able to convince the dealer (Yeah, how could I miss that?). At least you have a paper trail in case of a dispute.

11th Feb 2008, 20:03

I have a 2004 Freestar with 58,000 miles on it, and the other day my wife called me saying it was stalling out and the engine light was coming on. She was only 1/2 mile at most from home, so I went and got it. I drove it home, put in into reverse and it would not move. It is at Ford and they want to put the transmission out. They have not explain why it was stalling. They also told me the the extended warranty probably will not cover it because the fluid was only changed, not flushed, at 30,000 miles. I am disappointed with American made cars.

12th Feb 2008, 10:05

Regarding the need to flush, not just change the fluid, check your manual to see if either is actually required at 30,000 miles. Two specific transmission versions require that in my manual, but not all.

13th Feb 2008, 13:20

Hello to all of you Ford Freestar owners. I also have one that has less than 30,000 miles on it. 2004 Freestar 4.6

The transmission went out, lucky I was in the driveway of my home. The auto shop said that it is out of warranty and that because I am not the original owner (the previous owner died) they would not be able to do anything. So I guess it is close to 3,500 dollars to fix the thing. I had always owned GM vehicles prior to this and I am going back. It is scary though that most auto makers are not standing behind their products, I mean come on, less than 30,000 miles and now this. Many are not making vans anymore, but crossover vehicles.

28th Feb 2008, 11:55

I bought 2004 Freestar in Feb 2004. We drive about 30,000 miles a year, but mainly highway. What a piece of junk! At 40,000 miles (just out of warranty) the check engine light kept coming on. They checked it out for $85 to find that it was just the gas cap. They said they could replace it for an additional $35 or cut off the plastic strap the holds the gas cap on. I told them to just cut the strap and they still charged me $85! I disputed it and never heard anything from Ford. At 73,000 miles the rear lift gate latch seized up and had to be replaced at $350. At 76,000 miles the trans went. Same thing as everyone else, no warning. $2900 later I had a new trans with 3 year 75,000 mile warranty. At 95,000 miles the power steering pump went and I needed a new cv joint and serpentine belt - $600. At 105,000 miles the battery went - no warning. Now at 115,000 miles the rear latch is stuck again! Amazingly we still have the original front brakes, but they are due. The rear have been replaced at 50,000 miles, but are also due. I couldn't sell this thing for what I owe on it!

20th Mar 2008, 12:26

There seems to be a real problem with this transmission on these vans. Without warning like most of you, I am now putting $1800 (which seems to be cheap from what I have read) on a new torque converter that stripped the input shaft. I also have the grinding noise in the front of my van.

Ford needs to step up.

24th Mar 2008, 06:19

Well this should be good, I just started reading all the posts while trying to look up what could be wrong with my 04 4.2L Freestar. I have 81000 miles and should feel lucky I got this far. My van just started to feel like it was missing due to ignition or fuel problem. Through out the Rpm range if you step on the gas anything other than easy it feels like it is missing on a cylinder. No check engine light! Changed plugs, fuel filter, and air filter. No help. From what it sounds like here I better start saving fast for a new tranny. By the way I had to replace rear pads at 38,000 miles. What a joke, they just starting to make noise again. That will be two rear pad changes and I haven't even had to do the front! I will dump this van ASAP.

26th Mar 2008, 19:46

I just found this site and wanted to share my story too. If you are looking to buy a Ford Freestar, don't do it. I have only had my van for 1 year and 1 month; it has 45,000 miles on it and guess what!! I am replacing the transmission at 2,600 dollars! I am so disappointed!

7th May 2008, 23:29

I am among the disgusted owners of a 2004 Ford Freestar with the exact same transmission problems. I guess I am VERY lucky... as I am at 94,000 miles, but I am still making a payment on a vehicle that is sitting in my driveway. We live paycheck to paycheck & I do not have extra money to sink in to it... especially when nobody can seem to diagnose the problem. After reading multiple complaints on different sites, nobody has the exact same diagnosis for the problem that I can even suggest to my mechanic. I totally understand the person who said his mechanic said he had never seen anything like it. My mechanic is a trusted friend of over 20 years & he has admitted he is clueless as to what it is & has been consulting with others. I have replaced a crank shaft sensor & a "transmission oil temperature axode" sensor. It is once again doing the same thing. It will decide to work like a gem for a while & then start acting up with no apparent reason. I have tried to note if there is some sort of pattern & there is not. I have no idea & it just makes me sick to my stomach!

19th May 2008, 14:10

We have a 2004 Freestar SE. We were on our way to Orlando to do the whole Disneyworld thing. Drove to the resort and turned it off to go inside to regsiter and when we came back out, it wouldn't go in gear. $2800 later, turns out the pump in the trans. that sucks the fluid up out of the pan had come apart. They installed the rebuild kit, new pump, new convertor and who knows what else. We also had to rent a minivan so our vacation wouldn't be wasted. Needless to say, we hadn't planned to spend $3000 that way on our trip. And we still owe a year of payments on the stupid thing too. My wife hates the car and always has. We will be trading it in after it's paid for.