2004 Ford Freestar Ltd from North America - Comments

23rd May 2008, 10:18

Add another transmission problem. At 39,500 miles the transmission on our 2005 Freestar gave out. Looking at $3,000 or so to fix it. Amazing that Ford would rather lose a customer in these times than stand behind an obvious defect.

27th May 2008, 19:32

2004 Freestar with 86,000 kilometers of easy highway driving. Replaced rear brakes a year ago to the tune of $600. Now I need to replace pads and rotors on the front AND the passenger side tie rod end is shot as well, for a grand total of $1162. "should have bought the extended warranty" is all I could drag from the service stiff at my local dealer. A shot tie-rod end after 86,000 km? Are you kidding me?

30th May 2008, 15:51

I also have a 2004 Freestar.

I have had it into the dealers 4 times for the grinding noise in the front brakes. They told me they were fine each time. I just deal with the grinding noise.

For the longest time the car has been making a very high pitched scream when driving down a straight street. When I turn the wheel the screaming stops, then as you head down a straight path it begins to scream again. Just before I come to a stop the screaming stops. It is very embarrassing driving down the street, and everyone looks to see what the noise is.

Now the dealer just replaced my brakes, mind you, this morning as I dropped the van off, the guy who has always written the car up for repair told me the brakes were good last time they were checked, which was a couple of months ago. He got into the car to test drive it and the screaming is still there. Who is supposed to pay for the brakes? The problem is not fixed! Now I have to pay them again for looking at my van and still not fixing it. I am going to see the owner of the car dealership. This is not the correct way to run a business.

2nd Jun 2008, 12:25

Hi all Ford Freestar owners!

I am also having the same problems with my 05 Ford Freestar; the grind noise, the shaking brake, and now the check engine is on. They said $95 to check it?... Only check for $95 plus tax?...

I don't know, plus I don't have the money for that. Ended up I bought a problem for myself.

I hope FORD has a heart to produce their product for the poor people like me.

NEVER AGAIN FORD!

6th Jun 2008, 19:18

My 2004 Ford Freestar SE is at 39,000 miles. My transmission also stopped working with no warning. I also had my rear brakes replaced a few months ago.

I can't believe Ford won't admit there's an obvious problem and fix it. I have been a loyal customer for 15 years. I can't afford to fix the transmission. I'm on total permanent disability. That car was my legs. Instead of offering help, I'm told I should have gotten an extended warranty! That means I would have had to put over $1,000 to cover from 36,000 miles to 48,000 miles. (1 year) I can't afford that, and why would I think to worry about a trans going in under 50,000?

Never, never, again. In my opinion you should get anything except for a FORD!!!

9th Jun 2008, 20:50

Is anyone having problems with your air conditioner? We have a 2004 Freestar, and last summer we noticed the air was not as cold as it had been in the past. Halfway through the summer, it cut out all together. We had the freon checked and it was fine. I noticed today that the compressor is not engaging. I don't know why. I am thinking maybe there is a sensor or fuse that is not working. Any help will be appreciated.

27th Jun 2008, 18:49

Hi. Still paying off the 2004 Ford Freestar. One month after the warranty ran out I had several problems from automatic door locks to just last night the transmission failed. In the last 2 months I have paid out $1200 in repairs on top of the regular maintenance. Now I'm guessing the transmission will be in the $3000 range. I could cry. Driving down the street on my way to work with the kids in the car to be dropped at the sitters it just quit driving. It revved but nothing else. This is total devastation.

30th Jun 2008, 22:46

We have 2004. I expected not to buy another new car for a very long time. This has been a terrible car from the start! We could never trade it in because the trade in value is so poor.

The turn signals are now messed up, the windows don't work and now the power locks. We also had all the trans/steering problems. And the air is not working well.

My dad retired from Ford, I have driven a Ford since I was 16 years old, but they have terrible customer service!!!

21st Jul 2008, 13:56

Ditto on the 2004 Ford Freestar transmission failure. At 78000 miles it failed completely. It needs a new torque converter, and a complete rebuild (clutches, seals etc.). I am 61 yrs. old and have never had a transmission failure in my life. I have driven some vehicles (not Fords) to 300,000 miles with no problems with regular maintenance. "Built Ford Tough" What a joke!!!

9th Aug 2008, 09:20

I recently had to have my transmission replaced in my 2004 Ford Freestar. I did not go to a Ford mechanic. However my mechanic used to work for Ford, and told me that this was a known issue with Ford. There is pin in the transmission that is too small, and it breaks and causes the transmission to slip out of gear. I was left stranded out in the middle of nowhere with my 3 year old son. I contacted Ford, and they said there was nothing they could do but log a complaint. I am requesting everyone to log a complaint, so Ford does something about this issue.

13th Sep 2008, 13:47

My transmission also just went. 2004 with 48,000 miles. That's why I'm on-line, looking for answers, but it doesn't sound good.

14th Sep 2008, 17:15

I also have a 2004 Ford Freestar van.

Both of my power window motors stopped working and had to be replaced.

Next the air conditioner compressor went bad, sounded like a can of marbles.

Then my wife was traveling about 15 miles from home and the transmission went bad. The Ford dealer quoted 3000 to replace it with a factory rebuilt transmission.

All of this before 60,000 miles, on my beautiful and very last pile of junk Ford van.

14th Sep 2008, 21:42

We have been having issues with our transmission for sometime. We had it to the dealer at 70,000 Km, they couldn't find the problem, then again at 93,000 km. Now at 122,000 km and no warranty they want $4000.00 to put in a new one. I have always driven a Ford, but this will be the last one I buy.

1st Dec 2008, 20:34

Reading this forum just makes me sick... just tonight - my wife takes kids to mcdonalds, comes back out and starts her 2005 monterrey with 34,000 miles on it and it won't shift into gear... I owe too much on a van that is now worth nothing + needs a repair... I probably couldn't get a new car if I wanted to with the way we are upside down on this thing.. and ford wants me a taxpayer to pay them to keep them in business so they can keep building junk... I think NOT!