7th Jun 2007, 21:26

14:27 I think that almost anyone would disagree with you that the Focus is more fun to drive than the Civic. Nope. Try pushing it hard through the gears. The Ford engine (any Ford engine) sounds strained, like it's going to come apart at any second, while the Honda engine buzzes happily along, like it was waiting for you to finally exercise it some. Credit where credit is due; at least, unlike some, you can actually READ and know that the Camry will embarrass a Fusion light to light. But since you like to Google search, trying punching in 'Ford fires', or 'Ford engine defects', or 'Ford transmission failure'...actually just type the word 'Ford' before any automotive failure you can think of, and you'll find a dumptruck load of information that'll make you sorry you even test-drove a Ford. You will not find nearly the quantity or severity of defects and recalls with Toyota's and Honda's.

12th Jun 2007, 11:51

I'm not denying Ford has had a lot of problems. I fell victim to a poorly designed transmission myself. I'm just trying to illustrate what some others here are saying: Ford has come a long way in the past few years, and based on my experience, Honda's stellar reliability has slipped a bit (once your tops, only way to go is down, right?) With a balance like this, it's hit or miss nowadays when you buy a car, so buy what you like. For now, I'm sticking with Honda's, because despite the quirks, I enjoy the quiet ride/fuel economy, but I still say the Fusion is a great car. That's just my opinion.

Oh, and not to go off-topic, cause I did complain about it, but back when I bought the Focus in late 02, it was the more entertaining vehicle. Ask the enthusiasts:



Like you said, I read these things. Fun to drive is what got the Focus on C&D's top 10 list, and all the magazines raved over it's driving dynamics back then. Now, I do realize that was 5 years ago. I haven't driven the new Civic, nor read any recent comparisons, but based on it winning Motor Trends car of the year, the new design might very well have surpassed the Focus in terms of driveability. I don't know. One thing I do know is you're right when you say Fords raspy 2.0 lacks the refinement of the Civic's buzzy yet smooth 1.7 when you punch it, but all you have to do is read the last line in that Car and Driver article to understand why it didn't dissuade me from buying the Focus anyway.

14th Jun 2007, 14:16

I feel fortunate to drive a Mustang GT Convertible. I wish I had my mom's brand new 1969 Cougar XR7 today however.

15th Jun 2007, 18:40

21:25 Once in a great while, Consumer Reports will actually give a domestic a good rating. However, you fail to look at the overall picture. Go get a stack of C. Reports from the last 6 or 8 years. Toyota and Honda ALWAYS come out FAR ahead overall if you consider the approval ratings of ALL of the vehicles they produce. Then look at the approval ratings for ALL of the vehicles that Ford, GM, or Dodge produces. Calculate the average number of 'high' ratings for the imports and then for the 'domestics'. Imports come out way ahead EVERY time, with Honda and Toyota at the top, and usually Ford way at the bottom. It's first year college statistics, if not high school. Having 1 or 2 Fords with a decent rating DOESN'T make them as reliable overall as a Toyota. They're not.

16th Jun 2007, 10:07

Also look at Edmunds true cost to own over 5 years, Motor Trend, and JD Powers... then buy the 2007 domestic at the top of the list. I look at most 2 years on reviews as vehicles are changing rapidly and greater technology. Also look at a very long factory warranty...100,000 miles not 36,000. Its entirely too limited in my opinion.

18th Jun 2007, 17:21

Right now, on this site, there are exactly 32 Ford Fusion reviews. There are however, 1158 Honda Accord reviews, and 559 Toyota Camry reviews. I forgot to count the Toyota Corolla and Civic reviews. That's probably a couple thousand more. The Ford Fusion isn't and will surely never be a threat to the Accord or Camry. You will never in your lifetime see almost 1200 reviews of a Fusion like you have with the Accord. This is just another flash in the pan Ford car that will be... scratch that...ALREADY is being forgotten. It can't stand in the shadow of any Toyota or Honda car.

18th Jun 2007, 22:46

I rather have a Ford Mustang V8 and there are a lot more of them than Accords.

19th Jun 2007, 17:11

29:28 Yeah, I know how long the Fusion has been out, that point that you clearly missed was where I said the Fusion will NEVER achieve those kind of numbers. If I get bored enough this winter, I'll count and compare the yellow smiles and blue frowns for all 800 Tauruses and the first 800 Accords. Bet you 1000 to 1 that the yellow faces are a landslide victory for the Accord.

19th Jun 2007, 18:20

Take a look at the newer Hondas and Toyotas and see more and more comments on serious mechanical problems. My 80 through 95's were not anything as bad as what you read the newer they get. What happened? I got off the import bandwagon...

20th Jun 2007, 16:35

And the number one vehicle sold in America unprecedented for many years.. the Ford F Series... truly great vehicle. I remember the very first Civic hatch backbreakers with the incredibly small diameter wheels. Rode to Baltimore to Wilmington De and back in one... a Chiropractor/Dentist dream vehicle for clients.

21st Jun 2007, 14:49

Explain why Ford has so many F-series is because they have had over 70 years to get that big. Ford pretty much has all the tooling paid off for the Rouge factory, etc so they can churn out vehicles like no other and not think where they will be sold. As for Toyota, they have been building trucks for a short while and are now just starting to compete. Maybe you are not scared, but sure as heck Mark Fields, Wagoneer are very scared! Get real!

21st Jun 2007, 17:10

The Chevrolet Silverado is outselling the Ford F-150. Check the numbers.

9th Sep 2007, 20:52

Not that Consumer Reports is the world's most reliable source for automotive excellence (we've owned a bunch of their "cars to avoid" and never had one problem), but the new Ford Fusion has the highest ratings of any car in their entire ratings system. If you don't believe me, you are more than welcome to browse through the latest auto edition of the magazine.

20th Oct 2007, 18:56

No one is disputing that the new and slightly more powerful V-6 Camry is almost as fast as a V-6 Fusion. Most of the comments involve the old and very underpowered 2006 and earlier V-6 Camry models that took over 9 seconds to go from 0 to 60. None of those could stay with a 4-cylinder Fusion, let alone the V-6.

28th Dec 2007, 11:11

I've never owned a foreign car, so I can't comment. However I've had 3 Fords before. On one the transmission died at 65k miles, costing me $1,200 to fix. All 3 had minor problems like alternators and fan motors dying. I kept all 3 at least 8 years each.

Anyway, I now own a 2007 V6 Ford Fusion SEL. I've got 8 months and 6,800 miles on it. To date, I still haven't encountered even the tiniest flaw. No rattles, creaks or groans. Everything performs flawlessly. Remembering those previous 3, one of which we still have, I don't think any had anywhere near the build quality the Fusion does.

Of course, the real test of the Fusion will be time and miles, but I'm optimistic!