1978 Ford LTD Reviews

1978 Ford LTD 2 351 Cleveland from North America

Model year1978
Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 351 Cleveland Automatic
Distance when acquired86425 miles
Most recent distance86445 miles
Previous carDodge Ram Pickup

Summary:

I love the LTD 2

Faults:

Haven't been able to drive it much to determine much that has gone wrong with the car.

It is in the process of being fixed up to drive.

General Comments:

This is a really nice looking car. I use to have one in the early 80's.

Need to replace gas tank, fuel lines, gas sending unit and fill tube.

Rear brake lines need to be replaced.

Had the transmission leak, but Lucas oil treatment stopped that.

The paint is original baby blue, and the blue interior has a few rust spots on it.

It has the white decal with the roman numeral 2 in it.

The carpet needs to be replaced.

The heater core is bad, however the 1978 core is different from the 1979 core. Apparently it must have been put together during the end of the manufacturing year. The heater core is a 1979, to my disappointment. Now I have to take the dash out to fix it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2011

1978 Ford LTD 351W from North America

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership1991
Engine and transmission 351W Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance186000 miles

Summary:

If you find a nice one, buy it and drive it!

Faults:

Left blinker never really worked right.

Timing chain went out at 162,000 miles.

Paint began to fade beginning at 130,000. Had it repainted original mint green at 167,000. That is really it!

Had to get the usual tires, battery, shocks and general maintenance.

General Comments:

This is one the most reliable and hard working cars that I have ever owned! I drove it up and down I-5 between Oregon State University in Corvallis, Oregon, and Tacoma Washington every other week for the entire four years that I was in college! I often slept in the back seat in the rest areas if I got tired. Also drove it across the USA!

I am keeping it regardless of how high the price of gas goes! The car is a beautiful metallic mint green with emerald green interior and vinyl top. This is a truly a majestic car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2011

14th Aug 2011, 02:45

It's cool to see someone appreciate old Detroit iron. They don't build 'em like this anymore -- and you certainly can't sleep in the back seat of anything else these days!

14th Aug 2011, 08:27

Yes, in 1978 you had more room in your car than most people do nowadays in their apartment. Union wages, big cheap cars, ranch houses, you name it, life in 1978 made today look like hell. Though I suppose the house prices are similar.

1978 Ford LTD Country Squire 400 cid from North America

Year of manufacture1978
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 400 cid Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired155000 miles
Most recent distance167000 miles
Previous carFord LTD

Summary:

Pure enjoyment

Faults:

Repacked front wheel bearings, rebuilt carburetor, replaced water pump and replaced the radiator. Most, if not all have been service parts that have been replaced or rebuilt.

General Comments:

This is my second Ford Country Squire. My first one was totaled in a accident. It was on a flat bed trailer that had rolled. This '78 wagon is the one I found online.

I found this '78 in Chicago from the second owners. These people kept ALL the records from the original owner, including the window stickers, maintenance records, and everything had had been done/serviced in its life. The second owners had done the same with keeping records.

I have had many 70s Fords since I was 15, they ALL have been loyal to me. This Country Squire is another fine example of a era that most people think negative of. Driving this wagon is like driving your living room couch, including fake wood panels.

The only options on this Country Squire are: finger tip speed control, a/c, quad 8 track, delux bumper group, light group, rear defrost, and the 400 cid engine (standard was the 351 cid).

It is a charm to work and service these "gentle giants". Like the Lincolns, Mercurys, Buicks, Pontiacs, Chevys, and the other big domestics, they will never build them like this again. If you find a nice example of one of these, buy it.

As for MPG, I HATE getting asked about that. These cars are not built for MPG in mind, they were built to meet the family's needs (camping, towing, cross county driving). And fuel was much less expensive then too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd December, 2009

5th Dec 2009, 15:49

What 'most people think negatively of' is usually what is best, reviewer.

25th Feb 2010, 22:05

"What 'most people think negatively of' is usually what is best, reviewer."

Wow, that means the Yugo must be the "best" car ever made, eh?

26th Feb 2010, 20:48

I certainly don't think negatively of the 1970's era of cars. It was a time when cars were big, comfortable, and most important, stylish and simple. It was a time when you could get an interior that actually had colors other than charcoal gray or tan. Not only that, but you could get seats that were a different color than the carpet and door panels! I know, it's a totally foreign concept to anyone born since 1980.

I owned many 1970's cars and was driving them into the 1990's. Heck, I'm still driving them! I can say from my experience of many cars built in the decades from the 1950's to 2010, that full sized 1970's cars were smooth, comfortable, simple, and reliable, and that it wasn't until the later 1990's that cars started to be AS GOOD. The 1980's were a lost decade. It wasn't until the 2000's that cars finally became better than what they were in the 1970's. I'm not talking about useless BS like airbags, crumple zones, and voice activated Blue Tooth. I'm talking about a nice car that rode well, had power, and was a pleasure to drive.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 7 reviews