1978 Ford LTD Base 351W from North America


I'll keep it for Awhile


Someone shot out the rear passenger side door window with a BB gun.

Missing it's rear driver side door armrest.

Speedometer doesn't work, previous owner put aftermarket cruise control on and cable from transmission does not turn.

Needs paint job.

General Comments:

The previous owner put a new vinyl top on, saving me the expense.

Paid $500.

Large and comfortable inside.

Good riding.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 4th August, 2005

26th Nov 2006, 22:27

Latest news flash: due to my stupidity, the car caught on fire. I was going to fix it, but the wife said I had to get rid of some cars I was not using or needing, so I hauled it to the salvage yard. They were paying $3 per hundred, so I got $126 for it. I would have had to replace all the underhood wiring and carb, as well as hoses, etc.etc..Now I'm down to only twelve cars! Oh well, I guess I'll survive.

22nd Jan 2008, 07:50

So is that the only 1978 LTD you have? How did the car catch fire?

I own a 1978 LTD that my late father had since new. I have washed and waxed this car since I was 12 years old.

For my grade 12 graduation, while everyone got limos, I washed and polished this car, and it looked brand new.

One day I will refinish her, but I need parts. My e-mail is monarch_productions@hotmail.com, and my name is frank. I enjoyed your comments about the car.

1978 Ford LTD 460 from North America


I hope it's not a lemon


I was just wondering if anyone has an opinion if I should purchase this car. It is a 1977 limited 2 door, that is rust free. It has a 460, and a limlited slip rear end. It is a faded yellow/cream color with a chocolate brown top, and interior. The body is in excellent shape, with no rust or dents. It's paint is even original. The problem is, the 460 runs great, but there is a huge oil leak near the back. I think to repair it the engine has to be pulled. I like this car, nut I not sure if I want to start doing major surgery to it. It is $900 Canadian. I think the rebuild would probably cost double that.

General Comments:

460 big block, this car smokes the tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th March, 2004

18th Mar 2004, 11:00

Unless gas is a whole lot cheaper in Canada than in US, you might want to consider how much you are going to spend to keep this tank fueled. You will be lucky to get 12-13 mpg with a 460.

You are also going to look, well, rather foolish trying to drive this thing like a performance car in anything other than a straight line.

1978 Ford LTD Station Wagon 5.9 from North America


American Dream for backpackers


We only had it for 3 months.. (6000 miles).


Exhaust pipe.


General Comments:

A lot of fun to drive!

Best way to travel around the USA.

Great to save on hotel accommodation.

We bought it to travel around the States for 3 months.

Ready to abandon it, but surprisingly we didn't have any problem and we could sell it in Manhattan for the same price we had bought it.

We had problems with the brakes but it was our fault. We drove it into the Atlantic Ocean in Daytona Beach and the sea salt wasn't friendly to the brakes for sure.

We cracked the exhaust pipe as we went out of an "all-you-can-eat" restaurant in Texas.

I would have loved to take it back to Italy (and keep it in the garden or somewhere, as a trophy).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2000

15th Apr 2001, 20:04

I purchased a 78'Ford Country Squire Wagon in 78 and still driving every day. Odometer has 225,987 miles and never had any engine work, still runs like a clock.

2nd Oct 2002, 15:34

I enjoyed reading about your car I have a green one as well. However I hit a deer with it and I need to find some fenders and front fiberglass for it.

1978 Ford LTD 2 Coupe 351 Windsor V8 from North America


Fuel gauge, power steering pump, transmission.

General Comments:

A very solid car. Will probably run forever, no matter how much abuse it takes.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th November, 1999