1999 Ford Mondeo Ghia 2.0 Zetec from UK and Ireland

Faults:

Washer pump (due to my own fault not putting anti-freeze in washer water)

General Comments:

Good Points.

I am very happy with this car; standard equipment includes ABS, Heated Front screen, Front Fog lights, Single disk CD player, Twin Airbags.

I previously owned a Ford Sierra 2.0 Ghia, and more recently an M Registration Scorpio 2.9.

The performance and fuel economy are excellent.

The car is very comfortable, especially on long journeys.

Bad Points.

The Ghia trim did not come with Alloys, for that you need to get hold of a Ghia X.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th March, 2004

12th Sep 2009, 07:34

"Forgot to put antifreeze in the washer bottle"

Don't you like your paintwork???

1999 Ford Mondeo LX 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Summary:

A good Family Car with that little bit extra

Faults:

Small Leak in the boot compartment still trying to find?

General Comments:

I have only had the car a few months, but it is a pleasure to drive. I believed my peugeut 405 to be of a good quality, but the Mondeo has much more comfort and fuel consumption around town seems very good.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th November, 2003

15th Nov 2003, 03:07

The leak in the boot, I have a Mondeo and the leak comes from the rear light clusters. Ford have changed the design as the gaskets leak, get yourself some new ones and it should be fine!

18th Jan 2004, 01:19

I have recently bought a Mondeo Ghia x and has been letting water in the boot. The garage I bought it from tells me it is a common problem with the seals around the rear light clusters. New ones are in place now so I shall be watching.

1999 Ford Mondeo GLX 1.8 from Belgium

Summary:

Good value for money, but nothing show off

Faults:

No incidents to report really. So far car went to the garage only according to the regular maintenance programme.

The only small things to report are: The rear registration plate lights tend to burn quickly. So far I have changed them three times or so. One or two of the heated windscreen wires do not work anymore. Sometimes I have experienced that some of the loudspeakers are silent (6000 radio).

In general I find the car extremely dependable.

General Comments:

Nice spacious car, the only things I miss sometimes are cruise control and more interior lightning (back seat!)

Ghia would be nicer in this respect.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 2003

1999 Ford Mondeo GLX 2.0 Zetec from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Absolutely, Positively a good car

Faults:

The only thing that has ever gone wrong is the interior light bulb has blown twice.

General Comments:

Being 2 metres tall, this car was one of the few on my short list. Having put up with 2 years of back-ache hell from a Subaru Legacy (also 1999), this has been extremely comfortable. A little tight in the back though, as my kids are also tall.

It goes well, stops well and handles better than most. Extremely economical at 650 kms of running around to one tankfull and nothing is wearing, inside or out. Bad points? The handbrake is woeful and the air-con is not very powerful, but it doesn't slow you down on hills either.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th July, 2003

16th Oct 2004, 01:55

Comment added to my own review - car now done 160000kms (100000 miles) and it's only cost me a headlight bulb other than service items.

Fully loaded with 4 adults and a pile of luggage, it recently did 798 km on a tank of petrol which equates to 41mpg or over 14km/litre on 91 octane, which for a 2 litre car on NZ highways (which are not motorways), I find exceptional. It uses no oil between oil changes either.

I have never had a car as good as this one. The paint is perfect, tyres are wearing evenly - the only negative is the high price of Ford parts in NZ. I shipped a timing belt and spark plugs over from the UK at 1/3 of the NZ price, including delivery.

1999 Ford Mondeo LX 2.0 16v Wagon from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

An expensive runner

Faults:

Brake Pads worn

Tyre balancing does not appear to be hold well

Minor external panel nicks show up poorly in Green color

Internal panel damage, plastics not hard enough

Hubcaps loss fittings (why the tie tags?)

General Comments:

This car is expensive to run and maintain.

The car is heavy on the road.

Other than that it's everything you would want either for a family wagon or sales or distribution vehicle.

Proprietary stereo system makes stereo enhancements after original purchase an expensive option.

No automatic windows in the rare passenger doors is frustrating.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th May, 2003