1999 Ford Mondeo Reviews - Page 12 of 14

1999 Ford Mondeo ST24 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired15390 miles
Most recent distance20500 miles
Previous carPeugeot 405

Summary:

Quick, comfortable, superb engine. Bargain!!!

Faults:

The wind-screen washer system keeps leaking, cured in about 20 minutes, but very annoying.

Nothing else.

General Comments:

Quick in a straight line, superb, smooth, gutsy engine. Handles well although the extra weight over my old 405 mi16, is really noticeable.

Took me a while to like this car, although I can now see it for what it is, a comfortable, quick, enjoyable family car, which as far as I can see is the bargain of the decade (I paid £10,500, for a 14 month old car with 15,000 miles on it from a dealer).

P.S. mine is in light metallic Amparo Blue, which is the best colour I have seen for an ST24, please comment if you have the same colour, also any handling or performance mods that would help.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th April, 2001

22nd Apr 2001, 08:10

Amparo blue makes the 24 look amazing.

Vortech do a supercharger kit for the Contour Duratecs in the states which adds about 85bhp. Depends how mad you wana go? Otherwise better air filters etc. all add to a little more performance.

20th Jun 2001, 13:14

Yes, I believe the Mondeo ST24 is a fab car, but I disagree with your colour choice because mine is panther black, and the comments that I have received back me up on my choice.

1999 Ford Mondeo ST24 Saloon 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired27 miles
Most recent distance22500 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Only wish they still RSed and Cosworthed them

Faults:

Apart from a blown brake light and a slight incident the wife had with a shopping trolley, no problems.

General Comments:

Extremely pleased with this purchase, only miffed with the amount of money you lose on these things.

I added a twin Scorpion exhaust and removed the cat and one of the silencers so it grrrrr's a bit more, but shhhhh, don't tell anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th April, 2001

1999 Ford Mondeo ST24 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
0.4 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

Public warning - shed on wheels!

Faults:

Where do I start? It has been a disaster from day one when I picked it up from the garage and the suspension collapsed at a set of traffic lights.

Since then I have gone through two engines, a gear-box, new engine management system, new discs all round, new clutch (complete), and steering rack. To top this off, it drinks more oil than petrol, and rust is starting to develop in several panels.

General Comments:

What a pile of crap! I wouldn't touch another one of these with a fifty foot barge pole. The handling is equivalent to an oil tanker, and the performance is nothing to get excited about.

I have contacted Ford many times and they just don't want to know, their customer services is a disgrace for a company of that size.

My Vectra was outstanding in comparison - much quicker, better handling, reliable, and to top it off, made a wonderful sound.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th April, 2001

14th May 2001, 12:55

You've got to be joking mate. A Vectra better than an ST24 - I think not. Suspension doesn't just 'collapse' at the traffic lights - a slight exageration on your part eh? If it's as bad as you are making out, then it must be an accident damaged, abused old bucket. In which case, why did you buy it?

1999 Ford Mondeo LX 1.8 from South Africa

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired7 kilometres
Most recent distance47860 kilometres
Previous carNissan Sentra 1.6

Summary:

A sporty family car with luxury comforts

Faults:

Nothing major - they had to replace an air bag trigger.

General Comments:

Lovely car to drive. Seats are really comfortable, even on long trips.

Road noise is high though with Firestone tyres.

Very user friendly radio/tape plus good air conditioner and effective ventilation.

Bags of room for the rear passengers and the boot is great - plenty of room for 4 or 5 suitcases.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st September, 2000

1999 Ford Mondeo LX Verona 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1999
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Great value for money, even if it looks a little bulbous

Faults:

Nothing, though it smells after using the air-con.

General Comments:

Great all-round value for money - performance, economy, room, reliability and extras.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2000

25th Mar 2001, 15:36

You may find that turning the Air Con on for 10 minutes at full blast every month will make the odour dissapear, this is due to stale air remaining in the evaporator, mainly through the winter months due to not being used.

Ian.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 39 reviews