2004 Ford Mondeo Reviews - Page 6 of 7

2004 Ford Mondeo Ghia X 2.5 V6 from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired9600 miles
Most recent distance10112 miles
Previous carFord Focus

Summary:

To me, the perfect family Estate, to carry my dog and other cargoes in comfort and safety

Faults:

As yet, no problems at all.

General Comments:

The vehicle (Estate version) is surprisingly quick on acceleration, and very smooth. You can hear the full throated power of the V6 engine, without any jump between the 5 speed auto gearbox. It carries all the usual benefits of the Mondeo Ghia X, power steering etc. and with 17" alloy wheels, gives a very striking looking vehicle. Petrol consumption is very reasonable considering the engine size, about 20/25mpg around town, and up to about 30/35 on a run, depending on driving techniques.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st May, 2005

31st Oct 2005, 11:43

Surely a smiley face rather than a blue frown then?

2004 Ford Mondeo Trend 2.5 Gasoline 170HP from Mexico

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.5 Gasoline 170HP Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance4500 kilometres
Previous carOpel Astra

Summary:

Best deal I have done since I sold my Astra

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this car so far. I have been driving it for about three months with no problems.

General Comments:

The car has a five automatic transmission that behaves very smoothly while you are driving in the city. However, you can turn the shift knob to manual when you want more control and more power, the auto-stick option is great. If you push the car to the limit you will have to be careful because it pushes until you stop.

Although I would revise the timing between speeds (make them shorter), I like this transmission so far.

I also like all the safety features the car has with it. The tool box is quite complete as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th November, 2004

2004 Ford Mondeo 2.0 Duratec 2.0 petrol from India

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Previous carSuzuki Esteem

Summary:

Blindingly Competent

Faults:

Nothing, but the car is only 5 months old, and I hardly have time to drive it.

General Comments:

I had almost made up my mind on buying the Honda Accord 2.4. The car sold here is of.

American spec. But I still thought it offered excellent driving experience in the segment.

Compared to its rivals like the Camry 2.4. Or so I thought. A friend casually suggested the.

Ford Mondeo and boy, one test drive was all it took! What a car! The interiors are simply superb! Much better than its Japanese rivals. The ergonomics are spot on. And the driving experience, that is something from another world altogether. It can easily outhandle a 3 Series, or a C-class.While being priced almost $20000 less. The build is also quite good. I don't know about the reliability as the car is fairly new. Only downside is the narrow rear seat. Does not matter though. This is a complete driver's car anyway. Overall a very stylish, refined, well built and solid Euro sedan. And it works best only with premium fuel. Fuel economy is not one of its strong points though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd November, 2004

24th Mar 2005, 10:23

Reviewer comments that he/she hardly has had the time to drive the car, then proceeds to present a review. This is not useful.

2nd Apr 2005, 03:54

I agree with the previous comment, and in addition, question the reference to the interior in comparison to it's 'Japanese rivals'. Very general and in my experience, not factual - perhaps a difference of opinion.

6th May 2005, 12:11

As the author of this review, I apologize that I could not be more specific. By its Japanese rivals, I mean the Toyota Camry (the four cylinder one) and the Honda Accord 2.4, as they are its main competitors in India. The feeling of solidity that this car offers is quite unsurpassed in this category. The only (and very expensive) problem I have had is the replacement of the stereo.

8th Jun 2005, 17:56

Mine is the 130PS diesel version. My third Mondeo Estate (each one better than the previous). Now done 39000 from new with no major problems. Still have original rear tyres with plenty of life still left in them. Once used to balancing the characteristics of the turbo diesel with the operation of the duratec auto box acceleration is rapid provided you are not too aggressive with the accelerator. particularly like the braking ability of the electronic auto gearbox. Mondeo is a surefooted drive you can enjoy with no nasty surprises. The DVD Satnav has frozen on three or four occasions - requires a stop with full power off and restart to boot up the system. Just one strange occurrence last week on drive up from Cornwall - All warning lights lit up (at 70mph on M5) and all dials returned to zero (lights, engine and audio system were not affected). only lasted for 4/5 seconds then all returned to normal with no recurrence. Still love the car.

22nd Jun 2005, 14:26

Mine did the same thing, the day after it's first service!

Hasn't done it since though.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 25 reviews