2004 Ford Mondeo Reviews - Page 7 of 7

2004 Ford Mondeo Zetec 2.0 TDCi - 6 Speed from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 TDCi - 6 Speed Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance3272 miles
Previous carVauxhall Vectra

Summary:

Great, fast and good looking

Faults:

No problems so far since a got the car from my company in September 2004.

General Comments:

This car is very quick indeed, it glides through the gears very smoothly.

The seats are very comfortable and are great on 400 mile + journeys.

I think the mondeo is great looking car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th October, 2004

2004 Ford Mondeo ST 3.0 from Belgium

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance2000 kilometres
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

A high performance bargain, very luxuriously finished..

Faults:

Nothing at all.

General Comments:

My new st 220 handles like it's on rails, gps navigation is very accurate.

A real wolfe in sheep clothes

Best car Ford has ever build in Belgium. Congrats for Genk factories are in order...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2004

12th Sep 2005, 16:17

I now live in Belgium, where is Genk in relation to the country and more to the point Brussels where I am situated? I might go and buy a new Ford from there if I can pass my test while out here... though the standard of Brussels' roads means it might have to wait until I "emigrate back" to England! By the way the ST is a fabulous automobile with a sweet-sounding V6, that is easily a match for any modified "boy-racer" Saxo, CRX and what-have-you, plus the added comforts of a family-saloon with all the practicalities. A car which you can buy in your early 20s (as I am now) and keep until your retirement day at about 60! (well maybe supplement it with a Bentley or such like after 40 years of hard work!)

2004 Ford Mondeo Zetec 2.0 TDCi 130 diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 TDCi 130 diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired1500 miles
Most recent distance2000 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Bora

Summary:

A comfortable, economical and stylish package

Faults:

Nothing yet, and hopefully nothing will.

General Comments:

This is the second diesel I have owned and the Ford 130bhp TDCi is a far superior engine to the VW PD engine. The car is comfortable, a great long distance cruiser and good around town. The '04' face lift has changed a good car to a superb car. The Mondeo was my initial choice at last purchase, but I didn't like the Escort style centre console. The new console is a match for most German manufacturers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th April, 2004

3rd Oct 2004, 10:06

Has anyone got the new 2.2 St Tdci mondeo?

28th Dec 2004, 09:13

I also think that the Mondeo is a good car, and the 2.0TDCi a great engine. I mostly drive Vauxhalls, and their 2.0D offering is completely outdone by the Ford. Haven't driven a 1.9TDCi Vectra yet, perhaps this will compare more favourably.

My Mondeo was also an estate - I like the design, drive and specification level.

My only reservation was that the brakes felt spongy in comparison to the Vectra. Just a difference in feel rather than an actual fault.

12th Apr 2005, 03:37

What is the difference between Vaxhall and Vectra Diesel engine? I suspect the are alike...

2004 Ford Mondeo LX Estate 2.0 TDCi (113 bhp) from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.0 TDCi (113 bhp) Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired36 miles
Most recent distance200 miles
Previous carPeugeot 406

Summary:

Good Load Lugging Estate

Faults:

Nothing Yet.

General Comments:

Good Car Despite only having the 113 bhp model of the TDCi engine it can move quite well.

Performance: Quite good not pushed it yet as I only got the car yesterday. It has the 2.0L TDCi (113 bhp) 16v engine. It can take it to 62 mph in 11.2 seconds and has a top speed of 119 mph. Good amount of pulling power from all gears. Produces 206 lb ft of torque at 2000 rpm.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2004

24th Nov 2004, 12:55

A very good comfortable car, two points I feel are worth mentioning. Firstly the clutch is very fierce and has caused the engine to stall on many occasions. Secondly the gate between reverse and first gear is almost non - existent and could lead to a nasty shunt in traffic. I feel that while the first point may be overcome by adjustment, the second is bad design.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 25 reviews