2006 Ford Mondeo Reviews

2006 Ford Mondeo Zetec 2.0 TDCi turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 2.0 TDCi turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carRenault Laguna

Summary:

Doesn't live up to expectations

Faults:

Injectors have had to be replaced at 50,000 miles.

General Comments:

Interior is poor, looks & feels cheap. Only one lighter socket.

Climate control is good, & front heated screen is excellent.

Handling is poor compared to my previous car; no confidence in cornering.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 17th November, 2010

22nd Nov 2010, 12:13

I can't understand how you came to the conclusion that the Ford Mondeo is a poor handling car. It is one of the best front wheel drive cars and can even outhandle some more powerful cars. It has been proven.

2006 Ford Mondeo Titanium X 2.2 TDCi turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2006
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 2.2 TDCi turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance32000 miles
Previous carFord Mondeo

Summary:

Not very good. I think it's a New Year's Eve car

Faults:

Hi, I have a 56 plate TDCi Mondeo with just over 32000 on the clock now, and what a disappointment it is.

This is the list of faults so far:

Rear suspension failure

Wheel bearing

Rear seat catch

Tracking and geometry

Instrument cluster (3 weeks to resolve)

Rear heat shield

Injectors (5 weeks to resolve)

1 week later broke down due to injector failure (4 weeks to resolve)

2 weeks flashing glow plug light no power (8 weeks to resolve)

Got the car back for 12 miles, then fuel injector pump failure +2 injectors again.

Now 3 weeks after getting the car back, I have lumpy power between 2500 3000rpm (feels like it's holding back)

General Comments:

As you can see, I have had a lot of problems with my 14 month old car, and every time Ford refuse to replace it!!! So I am now asking opinions on what I should do next?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd April, 2008

19th Apr 2008, 09:52

Very unusual - these are generally tough and reliable cars for their first ten years of life.

You may be able to pursue a case claiming that the car is not of merchantable quality. The fact that you have suffered such major issues so early in the car's life certainly indicate serious assembly and/or parts quality control issues. If you put together the complete catalogue of problems with dates, resolution actions and details of any out-of-pocket expenses you incurred and discuss these with your local Citizen's Advice Bureau, they should be able to advise you on whether you have a case. If proven, you may not get your money back but Ford should at least offer to exchange it for a car of similar age, mileage and specification. If so, insist that it comes from their "Ford Direct" stock as these are usually in superb condition and will come with a two-year comprehensive warranty.

Good luck!

7th Jun 2010, 11:21

I don't know where you get it from that these are such good cars. Ford never actually made a Mondeo that was well built. Huge loss of value, huge rust problems (in the past), and poor build quality. But they always seem nice when they are new. After a couple of years they are just junk, all of them. This has been the story with every single model from Ford since the 70's, and people still buy into the scam.

17th Mar 2011, 14:25

No way. I've driven various Fords the last 15 years, including a 07 Mondeo, and my experience is that they are generally good, with few problems.

2006 Ford Mondeo LX 2.0 TDCI 130 bhp from UK and Ireland

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 2.0 TDCI 130 bhp Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance16800 miles
Previous carVauxhall Corsa

Summary:

Best car I've driven in a long time

Faults:

Rear washer tubing came loose from the motor, and caused a leak in the back of the vehicle.

Airbag light came on after a trip to the local beach; was found to be due to seat belt pre-tensioner.

General Comments:

The car was bought through my company, as it was offered with a great package and long warranty.

When I first approached the vehicle, I couldn't believe how much bigger than my Corsa it was. It was higher and wider, and at first the thought of driving it was a little daunting, considering I have only ever owed your basic tin can hatchbacks.

The car interior is of a high standard, and everything fits and feels just as you would imagine from a manufacture that has been making this particular model since 2000.

Being one of the last in line of this shape Mondeo, I got a lot of 'toys' which I was not expecting due to the car being the base model LX.

The sound system is not bad either, considering the standard speakers are not quite what you would call bassy.

It also has a trip computer, air con, power steering, ABS, full airbags and all the usual kit you would expect from a modern day car, but the thing that I most like (which is quite sad) is the digital fans/air con, which I again had not been used to, and was only really expecting your typical twisty knobs.

Driving wise, this thing shifts. And considering the weight to power ratio, fuel consumption is fantastic, achieving around 42 mpg around town, and 53mpg on a recent journey to Liverpool from the South Coast. Impressive in my eyes.

Back to the power; it pulls really well through gears 2-4, and backs off a bit in the remaining two gears, but still has enough torque to get you out of trouble if needed. It handles like no big car I've ever driven, and at times you feel as though you're driving something smaller and sportier, with the comfort of a family car.

All in all, I intend to keep this car for a good while, all subject to my feelings towards the new VW Golf GT fading, which right now, is the only car I would consider changing it for.

Don't hesitate if you want one, you wont be disappointed!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2008

27th Mar 2011, 15:00

I have just bought a 56 plate, and have found the rear washer does the same. How do you fix it?

Average review marks: 6.4 / 10, based on 8 reviews