1986 Ford Mustang Reviews - Page 2 of 8

1986 Ford Mustang GT/LX 5.0 EFI V8 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1985
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 5.0 EFI V8 Don't Know
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired103000 miles
Most recent distance116500 miles
Previous carJeep Wrangler

Summary:

A trusty and reliable sports car for a good price

Faults:

Very simple things have gone wrong-

Drivers Seat torn on side when purchased.

Fan Clutch bearings shot when purchased.

Water Pump replaced at 100k from previous owner.

Wheel bearings replaced by previous owner.

Sway bar bolt broken by previous owner.

New clutch around 90k from previous owner.

Rust holes in floor, and rusted body panels.

Broken fog lights.

Bouncy idle problem never solved.

Needs new struts on all sides.

General Comments:

When I purchased this car I thought it would be a potential nightmare because the way it had looked - rusty.

I decided to turn it into a small educational project to learn to take apart the motor and replace and gaskets and sensors, etc.

It was fairly easy to work on. This car is so easy to find parts for and there are so many Mustang enthusiasts for the 5.0 EFI engine that you can ask anyone how to work on them that probably owns one of these bad boys.

Not only did I take the engine apart, but I decided to learn how to mod this engine, and it was fairly easy to do also.

------------------------------------------------

Handling and steering hasn't been up to par due too bad struts.

It is fairly quick and its much much quicker than my 1984 Z28 Camaro with a 305.

This car should not be driven in any snowy conditions, obviously because its rear-wheel drive and it's a sports car and it won't stay on the road too long.

The engine bay is fairly roomy, I've heard of people dropping in a 460 C.I. motor.

The fog lights always break, time and time again.

I get 25mpg, I don't know if its because of the K&N Air Filter and the Tornado or not.

I beat on this car at least 4 times a day and it still seems to run just fine.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st September, 2006

22nd Sep 2006, 15:27

I assume that you are using the term "Sports Car" lightly.

I consider more of a sports coupe or "pony car".

I save the term "Sports Car" for the Porsches, Corvettes, Ferraris etc.

I even consider MGs & Miatas sports cars, but sorry, not Mustangs or Camaros.

8th Mar 2007, 21:03

I think "sports car" is a great term to use for his mustang. I have had an of those "sports cars" you named beat out my 1985 390cid LX yet so I think sports car is a great term for this car.

1986 Ford Mustang 2.3 Liter 4 Cylinder from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership1996
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired140000 miles
Most recent distance260000 miles
Previous carMercury Grand Marquis

Summary:

Great Car tough as a TRuck

Faults:

Exhaust stopped up other than that NOTHING just general repairs brakes, oil changes.

General Comments:

This car is awesome. It has the 2.3 4 cyclinder in it and never quit.

Pulled a 6000 pound trailer from Bowling Green Kentucky To Texas and never missed a beat pulled it at 55 mph 12 hours a day for 3 days. Its also does pretty good pulling down mesquite trees also.

Awesome Car Get one if you can.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th May, 2006

24th May 2006, 18:20

Pulling down trees? Ahem.

26th May 2006, 22:00

I call BS. You did not pull a 6000 pound trailer with a 90hp engine.

28th Jun 2006, 14:40

Last time I checked it is 140 horsepower not 90 get your figures straight.. further more there was a 6000 pound trailer behind the car wide open it would pull at 60-65mph.

28th Jun 2006, 17:10

The engine is 140 CID (2.3L), not 140 hp.

10th Feb 2007, 21:26

Uhh, guys... are we forgetting the fact that hes PULLING something with the car... they have 135 lb/ft of torque, despite the 90hp.

1986 Ford Mustang GT 5.0 from North America

Model year1986
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance95000 miles

Summary:

An actually reliable mustang

Faults:

Heater Core after 12 years

Transmission and rear end after stints at Road Atlanta.

General Comments:

Turbo swil heads suck, fact the you have to replace pistons to fit better heads sucks. other than that this is a solid dead reliable car, with loads of potential, one of the lighter fox bodied mustangs, and to me the prettiest as long as it is white black or grey. other colors suck. I left mine in the garage for 3 years and brought it back out and it started and drove fine, great solid car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd December, 2005

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 25 reviews