1986 Ford Mustang Reviews - Page 6 of 8

1986 Ford Mustang SVO 2.3L turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.3L turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired106000 miles
Most recent distance139000 miles
Previous carJeep Cherokee

Summary:

A rare, purebred, driver's car

Faults:

Turbo seals began leaking around 110k miles.

Alternator failed around 135k miles.

Front cam seal needed replacing at 130k miles.

General Comments:

Unique car, most people assume it's a 5.0. Car handles like a go-cart, almost no body roll when cornering hard, fair acceleration, but then again, if you just want to go fast in a straight line, the SVO isn't for you, it's designed for road course use and does the job exceptionally well, even by today's standards, in 84-86 (production years) it was far ahead of it's time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st October, 2002

1986 Ford Mustang GT 5.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.0L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.5 / 10
Distance when acquired116879 miles
Most recent distance117110 miles
Previous carVolkswagen GTI

Summary:

I have made many friends switch to Ford from GM

Faults:

Nothing So Far!!

General Comments:

I bought this car for $3500 and it has been a blast to drive. It has 100% no rust on it witch "for a rustang" is rare. So this leads me to believe that it has been very well taken care of. The motor surely dose pull very hard for its age and has been well maintained. Some things I must list about the car is that the tranny sync-rodes are on their way out, but this dose not affect the performance of my car... I just shift harder when its time to show some import poser punk whats up. The interior I cannot tell how it has aged because this car is totally brand new on the inside with:a grant steering wheel, pro 5.0 shifter, custom seats and carpeting, panasonic head unit w/Polk speakers, and drilled aluminum petals. On the exterior it has great bright red paint with brand new Nitto Extreme tires on new pony`s. With the motor it has: equal length shorty headers, high flow off-road h-pipe, and flow-masters w/stainless tips. Great deal for $3500 Right?!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th September, 2002

5th Nov 2007, 14:42

I do not see the purpose of writing a review after you have driven the car a whomping 300 miles. Be serious about this stuff; write a review after 10,000 miles, not after 1/10 of the way to an oil change...

4th May 2013, 15:27

Let the person write what they want, when they want.

6th May 2013, 12:42

No, you can't get a good perspective on a car's reliability from just 300 miles, but you can get a very good impression about most other aspects of the car. Being a Ford, its reliability is a given.

I've owned seven Mustangs. All were rock solid reliable and totally trouble free. They are fun cars that ride rough and are a total nightmare on wet pavement.

7th May 2013, 07:56

We have both GM and Ford in our family. I recommend a used Mustang Fox Body or newer as the best bang for buck for high school age. Inexpensive, and parts are readily available to build up horsepower as your budget allows. When you get older, buy new Corvettes or Vipers!

1986 Ford Mustang GT 5.0L HO from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0L HO Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.8 / 10
Distance when acquired77000 miles
Most recent distance81200 miles

Summary:

Low 1/4 mile times for a low price!

Faults:

I replaced the stator in the distributor.

General Comments:

This car hauls some serious butt!

I bought the car for $2000 and it runs low 14's and the only modification is a Summit off-road H-pipe that I got for $75.

Soon, I am getting a Smog Pump Eliminator pulley, 3.73 gears, and under drive pulleys.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th December, 2001

1986 Ford Mustang GT 5.0 302 C.I.D EFI from North America

Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 302 C.I.D EFI Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired189000 miles
Most recent distance196000 miles
Previous carDodge Shadow

Summary:

A fast car lover's dream

Faults:

I needed to replace the clutch, pressure plates, and flywheel.

I replaced the throttle position sensor.

Paint started to chip off the bumpers.

New brake pads and rotors.

General Comments:

The car is very fast, but can't be driven in snow and fishtails on wet pavement.

It's a fun car to have, but it's easy to get caught up and spend a lot of money on it fast.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th July, 2001

21st Sep 2006, 23:14

I've spun the same car around about 6 times taking a left or right at intersections when its raining. Driving in snow, don't even risk it, I got stuck backing out of the garage with 1" of snow.

30th Nov 2006, 23:17

I must like punishment. I'm on my forth mustang. I just love them. But the winters are hard. I can expect to get stuck several times every year. Every time I get stuck where there are several onlookers I imagine them saying " look at the dumb blond driving a Mustang in a snow storm". But we can't all afford more than one car. But once spring comes around, it's one of the best cars on the road.

Average review marks: 8.0 / 10, based on 25 reviews