1988 Ford Mustang Reviews - Page 9 of 11

1988 Ford Mustang LX 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 kilometres
Most recent distance100068 kilometres
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

This car has balls

Faults:

Cracked windshield, split brake line, and a rusted up radiator hose, yuck!

General Comments:

It's fast, strong, and runs like a wild mustang.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th February, 2001

1988 Ford Mustang LX 5.0 high output from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 high output Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired230000 kilometres
Most recent distance2440134 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Grand prix

Summary:

A high performance cruiser

Faults:

Original radiator blew after 12 years (fairly good if I must say so).

Driver's side seat mount fell into the floor.

Ashtray lid won't close.

Tires don't like to keep their tread (probably my fault though).

General Comments:

This is the best car I have ever driven, when you ask for power it opens up and gives it to you. When you mat the gas it feels like you are being pulled through the seat.

And the good thing is they are really easy to get performance parts for.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2001

13th Jul 2005, 09:00

This is the best car that I have had. It has a lot of power, and the car just throws you back in the seat. It is very easy to go through tires with my HO Lx, I love this car!

1988 Ford Mustang LX 2.3 L V-4 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.3 L V-4 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired173000 kilometres
Most recent distance183000 kilometres
Previous carSuzuki Swift

Summary:

A typical FORD (Found On Road Dead) unless you're lucky

Faults:

Clutch (was causing problems with shifting).

Horn.

Speedometer head.

Reading light.

Ashtray cover.

PCV Valve.

All in all, it drinks more oil than the average vehicle at times.

General Comments:

During the time I have had this vehicle, I would say that if someone was considering something much like it, that they should do some heavy research into seeing what they are getting themselves into (e.g. past owners, engine wear, interior wear, what will it need, etc.).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 29th December, 2000

12th Jan 2001, 01:09

First it's a 4 banger, second it had 170,000 miles when you bought it. Get a 5.0 and see what a real Mustang is all about.

15th Jan 2001, 23:39

Thanks for your comments. I would've rather not bought a Mustang but that was all the money could buy at the moment. Sorry, if you feel otherwise. =(

27th Apr 2001, 19:01

What the hell is a V4?

11th Aug 2003, 13:57

Wow..sorry you had trouble... but it had a lot of miles on it... and a 4 cyl!!!

22nd Aug 2007, 10:45

More like a typical overused car that was abused and old... not really Ford's fault. Don't buy a used car that is old and junk and come on here to complain about Ford. Give me a break!!

1988 Ford Mustang LX Convertible 2.3L 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.3L 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.7 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Firenza

Summary:

Fun to drive, but beware of electrical problems!!

Faults:

New transmission.

Starter froze.

Convertible top seals leak.

A/C was replaced.

Timing belt replaced.

Many, many electrical problems... mostly associated with the headlights.

Electric windows; 3 broke within 1 month of each other.

Electric fuel door stopped working.

Ignition switch.

General Comments:

I absolutely love this car when everything is working on it... but I never know when something is going to break.

The electrical problems have been unpredictable and very stressful over the past two years. Currently the car is in the shop, the battery is fine but the car is getting no power. The mechanics are still searching for the problem. There were no warning signs, it was just dead one evening when I got off work. Ran fine earlier that day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st September, 2000

18th Jan 2001, 13:02

If you recently have installed a CD Player that could be the problem. Also look to see if one of the battery posts are broken. I have a 1988 Mustang Convertible and every now and then the car wouldn't start. So I pushed on one the the posts on the battery and the car started. So the next day I bought a new battery. Other then that I have never had a problem with the car.

Write me a computernerd_2000@yahoo.com if you have any more questions.

11th Jun 2001, 00:23

I have a 1988 GT Convertible.

Last week, the car started fine in the morning, but when I tried to leave work, the car was dead as anything. The battery wouldn't hold a charge, so I replaced the battery, and the car seemed to be OK.

The next day, I went to start my car and almost set it on fire. The 4 gauge negative was bad and the car tried to use the little 10 gauge negative as a ground and melted the crap out of it. $20 from Ford, ordered a new negative wire from the battery to the block.

The car is perfect now. It's probably a bad ground. So funny cause it happened last week. To all Fox body owners, these babies love to be played with.

30th Oct 2007, 16:38

"I absolutely love this car when everything is working on it... but I never know when something is going to break."

Wow, you just perfectly described my feelings toward my 1988 Mustang LX 2.3L automatic convertible. It's a great car... when it's working. However, today is not one of those days. :( Your point about "electrical problems" is right on. I've decide my electrical system must either have gremlins or someone accidentally installed a HAL2000 computer module in it. I love my Mustang, but am getting to the point where I don't have the finances and/or mechanical competency to keep it running reliably.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 38 reviews