1988 Ford Mustang Reviews - Page 8 of 11

1988 Ford Mustang GT Convertible 5.0L/302 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0L/302 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired122000 miles
Most recent distance137350 miles
Previous carFord Mustang LX

Summary:

Mustang fever till I die!!!

Faults:

Throw-out bearing went out at about 132,000 miles.

Battery needed around 133,000 miles.

Traction-lock went out at 136,500 miles (only one tire burns rubber!)

Rear seat belt doesn't come out, need to replace.

General Comments:

So far I've dumped about $1900.00 into the car in performance parts. Which includes FMS 15/8 headers, JBA cat h-pipe, MAC Flowpath cat-back w/31'2 inch. tips. Sounds almost like a big-block.

Factory 5 rear upper/lower control arms, welded subframe connectors, Hurst/Saleen short shifter, MSD blaster coil, Crane 1.72 roller rockers, and lowered 2 inches.

I just bought FMS 3.73 gears and a posi clutch-pack, but I've decided to save them for my next car. I'm going to sell my heavy-weight convertible in favor of a light-weight LX hatchback. The LX is going to receive the brand new, out-of-the-box gears/clutch-pack and I'm going to switch the control arms over too.

The convertible GT is great and I hate to let it go, but the LX has the weight advantage and is safer to take to the track.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2001

27th Aug 2001, 00:07

2.3liter? I thought all fox bodied stangs had a 5.0 liter in em'?

7th Nov 2002, 19:11

I have the same exact car except an 89. I have had lots of problem with the fan and getting enough power to the amps and other electronics. But I can't complain too much I love the car she runs like a champ. She just rolled 145,000 so no major problems yet. I just put on new exhaust, shocks, water pump, belt and almost every thing under the hood($800 worth) except heads and major stuff. The best thing on this car is the interior and the body both are in immaculate condition.

15th Aug 2003, 20:35

I think it is a very bad idea to change a Mustang. It doesn't make sense. It's a very nice car and your putting a sub-woofer in it? The guy with the 2.3L Mustang, if you don't like losing, buy a 5.0L.

23rd Apr 2005, 22:31

You mean 2002 Acura Integra type s?

19th Jun 2005, 18:48

Hey I have an 88Mustang GT. I just put Magnaflow's 2 1/2" inch catback system on it, but it still sounds the same as the stock I just took off? Anybody know if that's right or what I can do to get it sounding meaner? Thanks if anyone can help me out.

5.0L for life!

19th Nov 2005, 10:31

I have just purchased an 88 gt convertible with 17k original miles on it. I am wanting to do some exhaust mods on it, but I'm not sure which brand of cat-back to go with. any suggestions?

20th Aug 2009, 20:00

Where I live it doesn't matter if you're smog legal, so if you're in the same situation, take the cats out... they just rob power.

12th Jan 2014, 14:06

All V8 Mustangs sound exactly the same, just like all V8 trucks.

18th Jan 2014, 22:50

Don't take the cats out! It won't gain you any power and can create more problems than it would solve. Removing the cats will create unusual back pressure in the exhaust area, and it will drive the ECC crazy. Eventually, it could cause major problems for your engine. The whole "removing the cats will give you more power" thing is just a myth. The real hurt on power is the lowered compression ratios and crappier heads, etc. The cats only cost around 20 HP or so.

21st Jan 2014, 09:44

How does removing cats increase back pressure? If anything it's out and gone.

1988 Ford Mustang GT 302 V8 (5L) from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 302 V8 (5L) Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired124000 miles
Most recent distance127000 miles
Previous carToyota MR2

Summary:

Mustangs rule

Faults:

I have had absolutely no problems with my car.

It has a brand new everything.

General Comments:

This car has some serious power that most people never feel when they are driving a car.

It has a 302 small block V8 with tubed headers and straight pipe custom exhaust system (3inch pipes). A new ford C4 racing transmission with a shift kit. I got 5 star pony mags for it and low profile tires. Full ground effects and new paint.

This is the best car that I have ever owned in my lifetime and I plan to put in a new 302 long block GT-40 in the near future and a super-charger. I was thinking about the 4:10 gears but I don't want to stress out the car too badly for I want to keep it around for a while, and besides there aren't many cars on the road that can beat me anyway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2001

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 38 reviews