1989 Ford Mustang Reviews - Page 4 of 7

1989 Ford Mustang LX 2.3L from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance68000 miles

Summary:

Reliable car that lives up to it's name, and great on gas!

Faults:

The transmission is just now slipping. But will still run o.k., you just have to let the throttle down a little to let it switch gears.

Also, I had to replace the timing belt, but wasn't a big deal, nor did it involve a lot of money because the engine was so easy to work on.

General Comments:

I love my Mustang. It is my first car, but I have driven many cars. Some worse, some better, but my Mustang is a great in between car. Great on gas, and very reliable. It has never let me down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2004

24th May 2006, 17:47

Before spending any money on the transmission, change the filter. I had the slipping problem and all it was was a dirty filter. It shifted perfectly after putting a new filter in.

1989 Ford Mustang LX 5.0L from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.0L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance102000 kilometres
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Still a great bang for the buck!

Faults:

Bought the car new in 1989 for 17,000 CAN, since then:

Engine went on me once with 38000 kilometers, dealer said it was a faulty gasket that caused it, car was still under warranty so that wasn't too bad.

Interior is still in good condition, some wear and tear of course on the seats which I plan on replacing in a few years.

The exterior paint is original and shines like the day I bought it when I wax the car. Never had an accident so the body of this car is a virgin! lol

General Comments:

Car had incredible power when I bought it and it still does, mods are still inexpensive compared to modifying a foreign car. Once you tweak the engine a bit and put some gears in, this car becomes a bigger rocket than it already is!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th June, 2004

1989 Ford Mustang GT Convertible 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.0 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired96000 miles
Most recent distance143000 miles
Previous carNissan 2 X 4 Truck

Summary:

All around decent performance

Faults:

Replaced clutch (twice), water pump, clutch quadrant, radiator, rear seal, valve cover gaskets, power window motor, turn signal/wiper switch.

General Comments:

It still leaks oil out of the rear main seal (5.0's are notorious for this I have been told), but I just keep a watch on the oil level - it loses about 1qt. every 1000 miles, so it's not too bad... It has never stranded me, the engine is bullet proof, its easy to work on, it sounds awesome, is a blast to drive (the suspension can be stiff/bone jarring at times, but hey that's what sports cars are for), turns heads, parts are relatively cheap and plentiful... I plan on never getting rid of this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th May, 2004

1989 Ford Mustang Sedan 2.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.3 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

A nice car, good gas mileage

Faults:

This car was previously wrecked, and when I bought it it had a brand new engine that was from a ford ranger 2.3 liter.

Seats color of red went to yellow from sun

Starter problems

Oil problems.

General Comments:

This is my first car, I'm 16, and I love it. It's a real looker. It is very comfortable, reliable, and fun. Accelerating is decent, maybe because it's a stick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th April, 2004

1989 Ford Mustang GT 5.0 HO from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.0 HO Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance83000 miles

Summary:

Very nice way to start out driving with for a first car

Faults:

NO major repairs since I've had the car. Usual tune up. Water pump and Breaks.

Transmission is a little weird. It slips every now and again. It doesn't go into drive too smoothly.

Tires go very quickly...enough said

General Comments:

The car has potential to be very quick.

Don't go out and buy a completely stock Mustang and think you're going to be untouchable.

Convertables are very loud. Start to speed (75+) you get wind inbetween the windshild frame and the top.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th February, 2004

1989 Ford Mustang LX 5.0 HO from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0 HO Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carAcura Integra

Summary:

Great street racer!!!

Faults:

Electrical short, ignition switch repaired.

Tightened drive shaft.

General Comments:

Car has complete aftermarket exhaust and hauls butt off the line. Handling is a bit squirrelly at high speed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th April, 2003

1989 Ford Mustang LX 5.0 HO from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.0 HO Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired172500 miles
Most recent distance175800 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Faults:

The automatic transmission went out along with the u-joints on the drive shaft. This is the third transmission. The Ford AOD transmission seems to last about 80,000 miles with servicing.

General Comments:

This car is an excellent base model for the low-budget racer.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st November, 2002

21st Jan 2004, 15:04

I have an 89 mustang with 125,000 miles on it and it is still on the origional transmission. I was wondering if you have been using rebuilt transmissions or new ones to go 80,000 miles.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 26 reviews