1989 Ford Mustang Reviews - Page 7 of 7

1989 Ford Mustang LX 5.0 HO from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.0 HO Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired57000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles

Summary:

Get in, sit down, shut up and HOLD ON!!! :-)

Faults:

SMALL stuff: Fan clutch, radiator pin hole, hoses, belt, brakes.

THE BIG PROBLEM? An electrical fire on the main wiring harness!! BIG bucks to fix, $2100!!!

General Comments:

What a great car! Well, other than the wiring harness. Great performance, awesome handling, great fuel mileage. The perfect performer for a "non racer".

Heads up. 89's have a very unique electrical system. Main wiring harness made for ONLY 1989's. 87, 88 were not mass air, so folks took the main harnesses from Ford's parts bins to upgrade theirs to 1989 standards. 1990-1993 have different ones too... air bag connections change the harness.

KNOW THE SELLER!!! These cars are great used. IF they have been used and abused, it shows. Cared for, they are gems!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th October, 2001

1989 Ford Mustang GT 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance182000 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

It's a blast to race

Faults:

The fan clutch went out.

The heater core went out.

General Comments:

I love the car. I have added numerous mods and the car is pretty fast. The steering is a bit loose but other than that, it's fun to drive.

I get only about 15mpg in the city and about 21mpg on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th July, 2001

7th Jul 2001, 10:27

You listed the engine and transmission type as a 5.0 Litre... it's a 4.6 Litre... nothing close to Ford's 5.0 Litre.

6th Dec 2002, 03:47

The '89 GT IS a 5 Litre...Jeeesh!

26th Jan 2013, 18:47

Nope, you are wrong. It is a 5.0 HO, which stands for HIGH OUTPUT. I know because I own an 89 LX 5.0 HO and love it. They did not use the 4.6L in 89.

1989 Ford Mustang GT 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance94000 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

As long as it runs, I will keep it

Faults:

Had to have the transmission rebuilt at 92,000 miles.

Headlights get full of water.

Headlights flicker when I have had my fog lights on for a while.

Fog-lights will not run just by themselves, have to have the headlights switched on also.

General Comments:

Love my car even though it has left me stranded once.

Has been repainted, due to a wreck. It was a two-tone dark blue and silver. Now it is royal blue with white rally stripes. Looks brand new on outside.

Interior is still in great shape, no tears or snags, just stained.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2001

28th May 2001, 08:26

I like mustangs. I own one now with 600 thousand miles on it and have never replaced anything but the alternator. I have also taken this car out every weekand and raced it yet nothing has broken. wow what a car.

10th Oct 2001, 10:26

I own a 1989 Mustang Convertible 5.0 GT and I love it. I just bought it in May (2001) and spent the summer restoring it. I just had it repainted and had a new top put on it. I can't drive it enough!

You're right about the headlights flickering when the fog lights are on. I'm working on getting this fixed.

I'm not the only one that thinks my car is great. I have had 9 offers to buy my car, but I wouldn't sell it for the world.

I might also add that I am a female and I get asked by men all of the time why am I driving a 5.0 because it's a muscle car and I tell them it's because "I LIKE IT"!

1989 Ford Mustang LX 2.3 EFI from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.3 EFI Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired110381 miles
Most recent distance110420 miles
Previous carDodge Omni

Summary:

Very good, much prefered over the Camaro

Faults:

Power locks and mirrors non-operational.

Temperature gauge non-functional.

General Comments:

For a four cylinder engine with over 100,000 miles, it runs like brand new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2001

1989 Ford Mustang GT 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carSaturn SC2

Summary:

Unreliable great looking car that can usually be Found On Road Dead

Faults:

New engine, fuel pump, misc. parts that while minor still leave you on the side of the road.

General Comments:

Only had it since January and has been nothing but problems. I know the previous owners and they rebuilt the transmission, and did a lot of other needed repairs. Basically this is a brand new car yet it still finds a way to break down once a month. AAA is a must!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th June, 2000

20th Dec 2000, 23:37

Great American muscle car, yes it has left me on the side of the road once, but no matter what car you buy, it will always have a glitch.

24th Dec 2000, 22:41

For every Mustang that has had problems, I know of 5 that are still going strong with 150k+ miles that haven't had any major breakdowns.

1989 Ford Mustang GT 5.0 HO from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 5.0 HO Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance298000 miles
Previous carDodge Ram 4 Wheel Drive

Faults:

Normal wear and repair.

Brakes, clutch, alternator, battery, water pump.

Rebuilt transmission once.

General Comments:

This car, other than paint, still runs with the best of the hot cars. Great gas mileage on the interstate, 25MPG.

Great engine. Just keeps going and going and going.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th February, 2000

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 26 reviews