1989 Ford Mustang Reviews

1989 Ford Mustang LX hatchback 5.0L from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 5.0L Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance249678 miles
Previous carFord Thunderbird

Summary:

I will keep this forever

Faults:

I had to replace the sychronizers in the transmission once at 150,000, and the clutch at 170,000.

The rear differential anti-slip is bad and needs to be rebuilt.

The Recaro bucket seats are worn out.

The car needs to be repainted.

General Comments:

Even as old as this car is, years and miles, it seriously kicks when the gas pedal is pushed.

It is quick and easy to drive, though the solid axle does jump at times.

It is a relatively tall car for its type, which lets me sit upright (6'3" height).

Rear hatch squeaks a bit, but the rumble is great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th December, 2010

1989 Ford Mustang GT 5.0 V8 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 5.0 V8 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance61000 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

This is a car you will own for life

Faults:

The lousy factory paint is falling off the car in strips, even though the car has been garaged all its life.

The mirror covers on the sun visors have fallen apart.

The AC loses freon through those horrible snap ring joints in the horrible Ford AC system.

General Comments:

I am the original owner of this Mustang. It was twice the car my 84 Trans Am was. I will have this car as long as I live.

I installed Ford Motor sport lowering springs & Eddlebrock rear control arms. This made a big difference in the handling. It currently is waiting for a new show quality paint job & tires.

It will spend the rest of its life as a weekend warrior & show car.

It is fast & fun to drive. I have driven it across country a couple of times.

These cars have an unlimited amount of aftermarket parts available to make it into your dream car. They are easy to work on. I would recommend one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2009

15th Jun 2009, 22:12

"The lousy factory paint is falling off the car in strips, even though the car has been garaged all its life."

I am curious as to what color your Mustang is. I owned both an '85 and '90 5.0 and the paint on both was like brand new for the entire time I had them (14 years in the case of one). Both spent part of their lives parked in the open. I did wax both of them in the Spring and Autumn. The only colors I've seen that seemed to fade quickly were the silver blue ones (both mine were dark red).

I've owned 7 Mustangs and all were great cars. I currently own a Grabber Orange 2007.

2nd Feb 2010, 09:08

The car is Dark Blue/Silver combo.

1989 Ford Mustang GT Hatchback 5.0L from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1988
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 5.0L Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 miles
Most recent distance61500 miles
Previous carPontiac Firebird

Summary:

Fast and fun

Faults:

Windshield wiper motor.

Exhaust system.

Tires.

Horrible factory paint peels off.

General Comments:

Except for the absolutely horrible factory paint job, this has been a great car.

I am the original owner. I am waiting to get a paint job & tires & turn it into a show car.

I will keep this car forever. 20 years together is a long time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2008

1989 Ford Mustang GT 5.0 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 5.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired3000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles

Summary:

Great project car cheap to maintain

Faults:

To heavy bad in snow and rain.

General Comments:

It is a fantastic car when its hooked up Don't GO FOR THE STOCK LOOK!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2006

1989 Ford Mustang GT Conv 5.0 (302) HO from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 5.0 (302) HO Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance69780 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Takes off like a scalded cat, but controls better

Faults:

Previous owner replaced the fuel pump. Aside from this, absolutely no mechanical problems.

General Comments:

Had an 86 LX convertible as my second car as a teenager, which I sold after joining the military. In 1991 I got the opportunity to purchase my current baby, an 89 GT convertible with 63000 miles on it.

Aside from a small tear in the front fiberglass this car is perfect. Car is still bone stock original, and as I have no plans to race, and don't plan to audition as a Fast and the Furious stunt driver, it will most likely stay that way.

I drove this car non stop from NY to ND in excess of 70 MPH the entire way, and the gauges never even twitched (Fuel gauge aside).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th February, 2006

13th Feb 2006, 11:15

Contols better than a scalded cat. That's hilarious. By the way, my SUV controls better than a scaled cat too. I think my 15 passenger van does too.

1st Mar 2006, 15:55

The car is bone stock check the exhaust I bet it has been changed.

15th Jun 2006, 19:21

I just got a 1991 mustang Gt convert! I love it.. my dad got the car brand new with only 40 miles on it! I just got it This may of 2006 only has 59,000 miles on it.. he stored it every winter and never drove it in the rain. never rode the clutch and never took it over 60 miles mph. he really babied this car. This car is still all stock! only thing added is an alarm system and a cd changer still have the factory deck in the car and Graphic EQ. Its Cherry red with a black top and black leather. I love driving this car around town. Told my dad that if he sold it to me I would keep it forever! I must say it's a dream to drive a pony! Like my plate says PNYPWR-PONY POWER!

16th Jun 2006, 13:24

You can't own a mustang and not take it over 60mph...

23rd Feb 2010, 01:26

I currently have an 89 GT Convertible, with a 5 spd. I purchased it for $3800, I did a lot of work including a complete suspension overhaul, heater core, and top. It was freshly painted with new 5 star ponies.

I kept it all stock, she has 120k miles and it's like a new car. I drive it everyday in the summer.

Best car for the money, it's a head turner, sounds and runs fantastic. Of all the 23 cars I have owned, this is in my top 3 favorite.

It's a soon to be antique, and about to double in value in the next 5 yrs.

Buyers beware, if want a good driver, don't buy one that has been modified, and make sure that it doesn't need a lot of work. minor stuff adds up. I put 4k$ in mine.

No matter what, a nice 5 liter will run at least 6k. If you love old muscle cars, these Mustangs are perfect. Old muscle cars can be costly; you get the same sound, better performance and reliability for a fraction of the cost.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 26 reviews