1989 Ford Mustang Reviews - Page 5 of 7

1989 Ford Mustang LX Hatchback 2.2L 4 Banger from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2L 4 Banger Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired220000 miles
Most recent distance280000 miles

Summary:

This car will never die, just go to the junkyard to regroup

Faults:

You know, I can't really knock the thing, but I hate Fords. I got it for free, because the guy couldn't get it running. Well, I had a spare battery laying around, and wouldn't you know it? He was no rocket scientist. I've done minor things to it, such as, Install new lift gate struts, and clutch, pressure plate, & throw out bearing. Not bad for 220,000 miles? The body is terribly rotten. But, hey? The price was right. I put $350, and 80k miles on it.

General Comments:

The car has no pick up, but it was free.

I hate the gear box, second to third is always an adventure, but it was free.

It is a Ford, but it was free.

I despise mustangs, but... you know the rest.

Turn the key, fuel it every couple of weeks, do the preventative maintenance, and drive it until the wheels fall off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th September, 2002

4th Oct 2002, 20:39

You need to get a 5.0 instead of 4 banger than you will know the difference. if you don't like ford don't come on this web site.

19th Mar 2003, 00:58

It's a 2.3L... which means 88hp...

But if you're interested, upgrade it to a 2.3L turbo... then you will have something to show those 5.0 guys.

Just so I don't get flamed by the 5.0 guys... I use to own one and I know what I am talking about!

Visit www.stangnet.com to find out for yourself.

By the way, I will take either of my Stangs over my Camaro...

16th Apr 2005, 05:57

The little 4 banger is pretty small. Don't listen to that guy about the 2.3 turbo because he is more into rice then power. A know what a 302ci can do and I also know what a 2.3 can do, be smart, get a V8 5.0L. Best thing in a stang.

4th Jun 2006, 09:09

The 2.3 turbo will blow itself up if it tried to keep up with a 5.0 for any length of time. Nuff said.

4th Jun 2006, 18:23

The 2.3 v. 5.0 argument is just a silly aside. The real point of this review is that it is a fabulous success story of driving an old, used car, and also that the nondescript 4-banger Mustang can run forever under normal driving, especially if you don't screw up and try to get mega power out of it like some dumb kid would do. No doubt, 80,000 miles at a cost of $350 has got to be the best example I ever heard of for getting an old used car! Too bad the reviewer hates Fords, or he'd see what a success story this is.

31st Jul 2006, 23:31

We bought a '75 Ford Granada new in '75. It was ugly and I hated it. I was still hating it in '85 when it hit 150,000 miles. I hated even more in '99 when it hit 325,000 miles and still refused to die. We got tired of waiting for it to die and bought a Japanese car. It died after 89,000 miles.

1989 Ford Mustang LX 5.0 5.0L V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 5.0L V8 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Hi-Po hot rod low price

Faults:

The car has needed almost nothing fixed since I bought it. I have upgraded the air intake, fuel system, charging system, and added a host of aftermarket electronics. Also I run a 125 hp shot of nitrous on it.

General Comments:

Not too good on gas, but for a cheap hot rod it is great. The stock 75 amp alternator is a must upgrade though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 2002

23rd Nov 2003, 01:37

What is your quarter mile time on that? I am looking to do the same thing as you to the same car. and do you know what you get on highway gas, I heard a 5.0 was good for highway driving. thanks.

8th Feb 2004, 12:21

I am looking to buy a 1989 Mustang 5.0 and I was wondering if it would be a good buy since it would be my first car. It is about 495 Dollars and runs well, it has about 120000 miles on it. I was just wondering any answer would be great.

5th Sep 2004, 18:52

I have a 1989 mustang lx 5.0, can anyone tell me the hp. on this motor. it has headers, crossover exhaust with turbo mufflers. not sure of rear gears. also is 4 speed auto. I bought the car just the way it is.

Average review marks: 7.6 / 10, based on 26 reviews