1992 Ford Mustang Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1992 Ford Mustang LX 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.0 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 kilometres
Most recent distance300000 kilometres
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

Speed of light, no left or right, but on hell of a life

Faults:

Nothing has broken on this car (not from lack of trying).

General Comments:

Punishment in the military sense. Car has criss-crossed the continent and enjoyed years of city and short trip driving with a powerful clean running engine and good handling. Excellent, endurance, endurance. Low cost performance. Could have better cornering on slippery surfaces. Must have good tires and or course winter tires for the snow and at least 200 lbs in the trunk (which is small) to hold the rear for traction. Will get stuck in snow. Excellent California car (warm climate). Viable in the cold, very warm heater. Only buy the V8 the other engine sizes are different cars altogether. My 1977 Mustang V8 still runs, (15 years of driving) with the kind of abuse seen on any four cars. Very good mileage on highway (up to 38 MPG) but very bad stop and go (City 16-18 MPG maybe less). Use good tires (Z rated in summer; Micheline Alpine, Goodyear M+S in winter. Use best gas that has the highest octane of the brand with the cleanest low moisture/impurity content. Use synthetic oils.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 5th January, 2003

17th May 2006, 18:17

I had the same car for six years. And it was a nightmare every winter. But for some reason I put up with the winter driving because I loved the car the rest of the year. But every time it snowed I would worry about getting home safe. The tires would spin every time I started to move after waiting for a traffic light. And if I didn't get out of work before the plow came down the street, I knew I was about to spend some time trying to get out of a parking spot.

18th May 2006, 20:14

38 miles per gallon? In a Mustang? Okay, who's the joke on? Are we on camera? Hee.

1992 Ford Mustang LX 5.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 5.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired55000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Fast, reliable and fun

Faults:

Water pump went at about 65,000 miles.

Ball joints had to be replaced at about 85,000 miles.

General Comments:

This particular car has been extremely reliable. I perform regular maintenance on it such as oil changes and brakes, etc...

The interior of this car is not of the highest quality, but to be fair, it was built as an affordable, sporty car.

I can't complain at all about the reliability of this car to date. The engine is very clean and reliable, and the operating costs of this car have consisted of simple, routine maintenance. I would recommend this car for anyone looking for an affordable, fun car. Just make sure to look for one that hasn't been beat on.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th November, 2001

1992 Ford Mustang LX 2.3 4 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.3 4 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance56500 miles
Previous carVolkswagen Beetle

Faults:

The transmission, due to the cause of leaky seals 3 times in a year and a half.

Oil pump.

Timing belt.

Exhaust system rusted.

Power locks froze.

Power windows stopped working, then when they did work it left the windows half open.

Original radio faded in and out, going very loud to off uncontrollably.

It was a hatchback and when it closed you could see daylight through the seal.

Lots of other things.

General Comments:

The dealer said that after the first year of ownership when the transmission went out, that it wasn't covered under the bumper to bumper warranty. Many calls were made to Detroit to get service for the car. Eventually all was fixed.

There wasn't definitely not enough get up and go in that car, specially if the A/C was on. Very upset with that car. Good handling, nice compact car, great to drive, if only it had more horsepower.

Excellent on gas mileage, 30 miles/gallon.

My car could be considered a lemon.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th March, 2001

26th May 2002, 12:11

I think you should contact who ever fixed your tranny the first time it broke. You can only blame Ford for the first time, all the next times any part breaks you blame the manufacture of the part or whoever put it on for you.

12th Jul 2002, 23:26

If you wanted performance you should have bought the 5.0L It will give the experience that you are looking for.

2nd Aug 2002, 12:01

Why did you buy a 4 cylinder Mustang?

5th Feb 2006, 00:32

If you wanted performance you should have bought the fahvo. You can't expect great acceleration and 30mpg, doesn't work that way. Common sense. Like someone else said, you should complain to whoever installed your transmission the first time and not blame Ford.

1992 Ford Mustang LX 2.3 N/A from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.3 N/A Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired99000 miles
Most recent distance111000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

A great car for the money

Faults:

Air compressor blew; no other problems.

General Comments:

Car is reliable, economical, looks good, and is quick enough for me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2000

1992 Ford Mustang LX 2.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
Engine and transmission 2.3
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10

Faults:

Numerous A/C problems (compressor failure, lines rusted). Clutch at 80k, alternator at 85k. Many broken plastic interior parts.

General Comments:

A very dependable car! It's not super powerful, but what do you expect from a 4 cyl? The manual transmission helps in in the pep department. The clutch, however, sucks. It's very inconsistent and doesn't self adjust as it's supposed to (the adjuster is made of plastic and breaks easily). In spite of that it's still a great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th September, 1999

Average review marks: 7.4 / 10, based on 13 reviews