1995 Ford Mustang V6 4.0 liter from North America


Reliable, fairly sporty


Had to get it realigned twice within three months. This is probably due to abusive driving.

The plastic coating around the stereo is peeling off. This is purely cosmetic, however.

General Comments:

This car is fairly fun to drive, but the car seems a bit heavy and the suspension is not so great. This is by no means a sports car, even if it does look like one.

I spun out in the rain once, and have noticed it slips around in the rain a lot.

The non-GT V6 is more considered a girl's version of the Mustang.

Acceleration is smooth but going past 3,000 rpm it pointless, as it seems to quickly taper off.

The max speed is around 110 mph.

It is quite comfortable and I took an 8 hour trip with very little pain. I am also 6'4" and sitting in this car gets some getting used to.

Shifting with a cup in the cup holder is difficult because your elbow and the cup fight for space.

I averaged about 25-28 mpg.

It proved to be very reliable, despite my doubts about Ford. I bought it from my neighbor, who bought it new and never had any problems with it except the rubber on the cup holder breaking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th January, 2004

12th Aug 2004, 18:30

I think that V-6s are not to be considered for a Mustang.

Once it was known as a Corvette enemy (never had a V-6 as far as I remember), but nowadays its just another sporty city car for a reasonable price.

I think that Ford should think about taking it up to the golden days with a muscled engine even for basic versions.

14th Dec 2005, 20:33

Most reliable car I ever had. My mustang, a 5 speed, has over 190,000 on it, no kidding, never had any serious problems except that I had to get the water pump ($150) replaced at around 125,000 miles and a tensioner pulley ($25) twice. My driving is a little abusive, but still it never seems to let me down. I recently made a Houston, Tx to Chicago, IL, and back trip on it. Except for a little stiff clutch, no other problems till date. I am a little attached to it so I had been waiting for it to die, to get rid of it, which never seems to happen!!! It gives a decent gas mileage of 22 - 25 on fwy. But believe me, it is a nightmare to drive when it snows which I encounter only when I drive up north.

19th Dec 2005, 12:13

Agree with the original reviewer. V6 mustang = girls car.

24th Dec 2005, 00:02

What does your 94 or 95 Mustang V6 temperature pointer point to when running at the correct temperature? Which letter in Normal does it point to?

2nd Feb 2007, 17:57

Well if YOU knew YOUR history you would know that it was not a carbed V6 it was an I6.

1995 Ford Mustang V6 V6 from North America


A great car, with problems


The transmission makes a shuttering noise, which is stopped by a conditioner for the transmission.

I replaced the tires, battery, struts, and shocks.

The paint on my car peeled, and won't stop until I have the whole car stripped and repainted.

General Comments:

This car is a great car on gas, and it has a lot of power for being only a V6. The interior is almost flawless. Even though this car is only a V6 it turns heads, everyone always compliments me on it. It never left me sit. It is a great car with problems.

I want to know if anyone else had problems with the 1995 white mustang peeling? There could be a recall on it if, people complain.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2003

21st Oct 2003, 20:36

A recall on a 1995 Mustang? HA!!! sure man, theyd only have to recall about a billion cars... and this IS Ford we're talking about here... and the car is only what, 8 years old? Keep on dreaming though, dreams keep hope alive! haha.

9th Jan 2004, 20:00

My Ford Mustang was painted in 1995, but it is a 1996. I just left the dealership today because the paint is chipping so badly. It seems the only way to stop the peeling is to strip and repaint as well. I am very disappointed with Ford's paint job.

17th Sep 2004, 18:09

This is my second 1995 and no problems with the paint on either one. One white hardtop, one red convertible - much problems on O2 sensors. Both eat them like candy. Anybody else?

2nd Jan 2005, 18:36

My 1995 Ford Mustang has not chipped at all and I have had 0 problems with it, but maybe that is because it only has 40,000 miles on it! The only thing I have had trouble with is the head gasket or something blew because my aunt did not put any anti-freeze in it. After we got that fixed its ran fine.

3rd Mar 2005, 16:25

I have a V6 95 Mustang that's white, and my paint is also peeling.

16th Sep 2005, 07:06

Re: 1995 Ford mustang convert. more electrical problems than imaginable for example roof motors not working electrical prob1. Blower fan motor only operates on high speed switch replaced no change. Dash air only passes through defroster not through panel car only has 74000 miles.