1989 Ford Probe Reviews - Page 9 of 10

1989 Ford Probe GT 2.2L turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.2L turbo Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance100500 miles
Previous carChrysler LeBaron

Summary:

A Honda killer

Faults:

So far nothing major has gone wrong with the car. The previous owner took very good care of the car and it runs like it is brand new. Other than the seats being faded a bit I can't complain.

I also get full boost every time. I had to get a ball joint for the front driver's side wheel, new muffler, and new front tires.

The radio doesn't work properly. I took it out and saw that the previous owner did a hack job with the wiring trying to install tweeters. Other than that the car is in excellent shape.

General Comments:

Out of all the cars I have owned this one is probably the best in terms of performance and reliability. The 2.2 engine can really take a beating, as these engines were designed for.

Don't let people tell you that a turbo-charged car is a bad move. Either they never drove one, or they didn't take care of the one they had.

This is a great car and you can find them really cheap. If you get a first generation Probe, get the GT.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2002

6th Feb 2002, 18:57

If you get ANY Probe, get the GT. As far as the turbo goes, easy to malfunction and the mechanic sees dollar signs when he fixes it.

10th Feb 2002, 16:45

I agree. Don't spend the same money for an SE that is half the speed and half the looks... If you want a performance car, it's the GT. Don't get a 1st generation at all.

30th Oct 2002, 10:09

I have a 1st gen probe 1990 gt it is faster than the 2nd gen i think . The ride is not as smouth as the 2nd gen, but other than that the car is great.

3rd Jan 2003, 10:28

I own a 1990 as well, and the things been twice as reliable and just as fast (in some cases faster) as the PGTs, so clearly you must be referring to the wrong 1st generation car.

23rd Jan 2003, 09:33

I got my first gen probe last year. But the owner before me did not take care of it. I had to replace the power steering and I put a better shifter in it. but know I have like $2500 in the car and still putting money in to it and I bet it will beat any turbo out there. I just want to say that if you treat your cars right they will treat you right.

28th May 2003, 20:31

I have owned a 89 GT for 3yrs. It has cost me a lot of money for repairs because of the complexity of it. However, this is still the best car I have ever owned. It is powerful, fast, and looks great! (better than a mustang!) I continually get comments on it.

2nd Apr 2005, 17:43

If only there were more American cars like this and the Oldsmobile Calais-442 to beat Japanese cars at their own game.

21st Mar 2007, 12:13

The Ford Probe GT is amazing for racing, I raced an 79 Nissan Datsun 280zx and schooled it. I've raced many cars I haven't lost one yet, and I doubt I will with this car.

1989 Ford Probe LX 3.0L 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.0L 6 cylinder Semi-Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired180000 kilometres
Most recent distance220000 kilometres
Previous carnone none

Summary:

Reliable, economical, fun

Faults:

Heater switch stopped functioning.

Intake tubes cracked (fixed with electrical tape).

CV joint wore out.

Rear wheel bearings wore out.

The brakes were really weak.

Terrible windshield wipers.

General Comments:

This was a great car. The problems were relatively minor and the car never stranded me.

Its favorite speed seemed to be 130 km/h. It handled high speeds well - better than my friend's Mustang!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th August, 2001

1989 Ford Probe GT turbo from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1992
Most recent year of ownership1901
Engine and transmission turbo Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired27000 miles
Most recent distance141000 miles
Previous carDodge Charger

Summary:

Reliable, good on gas e.g. 33 mpg, quick

Faults:

The anti-lock brakes did not work off the bat and the anti-lock brake control unit had to be removed and bypassed because it was leaking and I could not find a replacement.

The transmission cooler, brakes, rotors, timing belt, exhaust manifold bolt, power window, headlight motor, CV joints and boots, wheel bearing and air conditioning.

General Comments:

As long as the car has not stranded me and starts everyday, I consider it a reliable car. I repaired most of the items myself, therefore it did not cost me much.

I live in the snow belt thus exposing my car to a lot of snow and salt. The body is nearly perfect even though it is driven in the winter.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th August, 2001

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 43 reviews