1999 Ford Puma Lux Pack 1.7 16v petrol from UK and Ireland


If this car was an animal it WOULD be a Puma..



General Comments:

Excellent drive, fast, responsive, not like a Ford at all ! A joy to drive and cheap to own. Perfect for London. Silver is best, get Air Con for the summer as the roll cage prevents installation of a sun roof.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th May, 2000

1999 Ford Puma 1.7 16V DOHC from UK and Ireland


It's like go-karting but with a radio in it - what a blast


Nothing so far with this one. Paintwork problems on delivery but dealer sorted them very quickly.

Previous Puma only had driver's side mirror fail.

General Comments:

Very nice car. More fun in town that the open road, but then I don't get to drive it that often as the girlfriend likes it too much.

Only problem so far on both cars has been the rear parcel shelf falling out after shutting the boot.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2000

14th Apr 2001, 18:19

Great car, it drives like a dream and it turns heads but watch out young drivers, I'm 21 and the insurance set me back nearly 4 grand!!! That's with 'no claims' and a clean driving license.

5th Jul 2001, 08:07

I'm 29 and most companies were looking for about 1k. I eventually got insurance with frizzell for 590, with protected no claims ;-) )

9th Aug 2001, 08:17

I'm 20, 2 years no claims and I am insured with Eagle Star for £1040 full comp.

25th Oct 2001, 07:10

You should try Tesco or Elephant.co.uk for insurance. I'm 24 with 5 years no claims, and it's costing me £520 fully comprehensive!

1999 Ford Puma 1.7 petrol from UK and Ireland


Drivers wiper blade needs replacing, lots of rattles from the back of the car and the ABS callibrates EVERY time you startup and hit 15mph (is it supposed to do this?). Nothing serious to complain about though.

General Comments:

The best car I have ever owned... Handling, acceleration and design are quite brilliant. I thought Ferrari's only turned as many heads as the silver Puma does!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th February, 2000

7th Dec 2014, 17:13

I love my Ford Puma. It's cheap to run and very fast. It shows up a lot of newer performance cars on the road now. Looks great in silver too.

12th Oct 2015, 08:16

I've had my Puma for 8 years now & I adore her.

Last year was a killer on the MOT, & there was a lot of work done underneath, but considering I only paid £1000 when I bought her, she has actually cost me nothing over the years, and she is 15 now, but looks mint.

I'm trying to keep her on the road as long as possible. She's to have some welding done & my mechanic is hoping it's not extensive, & that after that's done & a couple of oil sprays later, I can have another few more years.

I feel like I'm betraying her if I got rid; she's that addictive! :)