1991 Ford Ranger STX Supercab 2.9 V6 from North America

Summary:

It was a pretty okay truck

Faults:

All front axle joints at 187k miles.

A/C never worked.

Heater motor at 188k miles.

Heater switch at 187k miles.

Shifter knob had a tendency to pop off.

T-case shifter linkage wore out and didn't want to go in 2wd or 4 lo sometimes.

Rear bumper rusted out, and was on the verge of falling off.

Replaced tailgate the day I bought it.

Underpowered.

RUST...

Electrical NIGHTMARE.

Driver's window rails worn out, so window didn't want to close right ever.

THE RADIO DIDN'T WORK!

General Comments:

Rusty and not so trusty. Left me stranded a few times.

Best gas mileage I ever got with it was 19mpg.

It was no hotrod by any means. Had to grab third to hold 55 mph on some hills.

Transmission crossmember was bent from the day I got it, until the day I got rid of it. The rear yoke rubbed the bottom of the cab because of it.

The wiring was all hacked when I got it, but I got my money's worth out of the truck.

I only paid $200 for it, and I beat it pretty much to death.

Will say it rode very nicely on the highway for being a truck, but wind blew it around everywhere.

The truck had the aerodynamics of a refrigerator with a chunk of plywood ratchet strapped to it.

Exhaust rotted off at the driver's side manifold.

Body rotted between rockers and seat.

Had a good bit of room behind the front seats (supercab model).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th November, 2011

1991 Ford Ranger XLT 4.0L V6 from North America

Summary:

They rust out before they stop running

Faults:

Shocks & struts.

Radiator.

Rear brakes.

General Comments:

This old girl keeps on going. She will rust out before she stops running.

Starts every cold morning in Wisconsin!

Can get through a blizzard!

Decent gas mileage.

Can beat an S10 in a take off.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2011

1991 Ford Ranger Custom 2.3 4 cylinder from North America

Summary:

It is a good work truck, and dependable for long trips if you're looking to save money

Faults:

1. The radio quit working.

2. No AC.

That's about it!

General Comments:

1. The truck's engine is very small, but very peppy!

2. The truck gets up and goes.

3. It handles like a small car.

4. Very fuel consuming for how much work you can do with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th January, 2011

3rd Jan 2013, 09:57

What is the towing capacity?

1991 Ford Ranger XLT 4.0L V6 from North America

Summary:

The best car I have ever owned

Faults:

New clutch and slave cylinder at 227500.

All new brake drums, shoes, and pads at 227500.

Needs a new metal brake line at 228000 miles.

Routine oil changes and tune-ups.

General Comments:

Interior has good comfort and rides comfortably for a truck that is 19 years old. Vehicle has plenty of power and drives good when the clutch and slave cylinder are working properly.

I will drive this truck as long as it is running. It is the best vehicle I have over owned. It does not appear to leaking or burning excessive amounts of oil.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th March, 2010

1991 Ford Ranger 2.9 from North America

Summary:

I love Rangers

Faults:

Tranny was slipping for reverse when I first got it in 2005.

Front freeze plug blew out in 2007.

Rotor, cap, and button replaced this year.

Wheel bearings and rotors replaced this year (09) plus calipers.

I finally had to break down and replace the tranny, but she still drives. I've finally lost overdrive and she slips really bad when cold, but hey, what do you expect for over 300,000 miles, and the fact that I used her to haul round bales and pull a 2 horse trailer. I have worked the literal crap outta this truck, and she keeps on ticking...

General Comments:

Excellent truck, I just can't seem to kill it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th November, 2009

1991 Ford Ranger XLT 2.3L 4 cylinder 2wd from North America

Summary:

Could not have been a more reliable and useful truck

Faults:

U-Joints needed replaced @ 35,000 miles.

U-Joints needed replaced @ 55,000 miles.

U-Joints needed replaced @ 95,000 miles.

Drive shaft out of balance was causing U-joint problems.

Have had the clutch replaced twice.

Right front engine support beam of the frame (not exactly sure what it is called) rusted out and needed to be replaced.

Had trouble with the trans. pilot bearing sticking.

Oil pan gasket disintegrated and the gunk stuck to the internal oil screen which blocked oil flow. Had to have the screen scraped and cleared.

Typical rust and wear for a vehicle of this age and mileage.

General Comments:

This is the best vehicle I have ever had. Little did I know when I bought it new in Jan of 1992 that it would still be running good in 2009 with 290,000 miles on it.

This is a plain jane and I think that is why it has lasted so long.

I have put a lot of money into this truck, but 90% of the repairs have been from general wear and tear.

I have hauled truck loads of firewood in it that made it almost drive with the front wheels off the ground. I have used it to pull over trees that I was cutting down.

This truck has been used and abused and I really haven't taken that great of care of it as far as general maintenance but it just keeps on plugging along.

I hate driving it in winter so I do that as little as possible and in the summer with no A/C it is a little uncomfortable, but on average it gets driven 200 to 300 miles per week. I can't believe a 4 cyl has lasted this long. I avg around 23 mpg on the highway.

I was hoping it would qualify for the cash for clunkers but it just gets too good of mpg.

It is worth practically nothing in actual value but it just keeps on running for me and I'll drive it until it dies. It's 1 year older than my oldest daughter and holds a lot of memories.

I wouldn't buy a Ranger today just because they don't have all of the safety features that are available on other small trucks.

I wish Ford would modernize the Ranger, but it looks like they are going to kill it instead.

The truck has been more reliable than I ever could have hoped for, and I doubt I will ever have another vehicle be so reliable for so long. Good job Ford!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2009

29th Jul 2009, 18:47

"I was hoping it would qualify for the cash for clunkers but it just gets too good of mpg."

Because you have the 4 cylinder engine. The V6 Rangers do qualify. I mention it only in case some one would be unnecessarily discouraged from looking into it.

17th Aug 2009, 23:57

The cash for clunkers program is a crock in my opinion. First they blow the engine so no internal parts can be used. Then maybe, I repeat maybe, they take an alternator or something similar and sell it. Then it's to the crusher. The after effects are terrible. Younger people who can't afford a new car have a less chance to find something to drive, also the price of scrap will drop as a result of all the increased crushed cars coming in. Yes the program gives a a nice chunk of change for something better, but the long term effects are horrible!!