1991 Ford Ranger STX 4.0 from North America


For off road driving


Nothing big has gone wrong yet.

A few weeks ago my brakes went out.

My automatic transmisson has trouble shifting from 2nd to 3rd gear, I must let go of the gas for it to. It has been like that for about 8 months now!!! I am not expecting it to go out soon either.

General Comments:

The seats seem pretty comfy.

The radio is placed at a good spot.

Pretty good for mud bogging and hill climbing. I never got it stuck, some of the ruts I left were two feet deep.

The truck has been beat badly and it still runs fine. I trust it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th February, 2002

18th Nov 2002, 11:54

My 1991 Ranger STX 4x4 has 274,000 miles and it still runs great. I will only buy Ford trucks.

15th Oct 2008, 15:22

The fix for the 2nd to 3rd gear shifting is to replace the transmission modulator. My truck had the same problem, so I just replaced the modulator and that fixed it. Hope this helps.

1991 Ford Ranger XLT 2.3L from North America


I'm glad it was the first new vehicle I ever bought


I've been through a lot with this little truck and it has only let me down about 5 times in 10 years.

It's been stolen and had all of it's tires removed.

I tried to put in a car alarm (after it was stolen) and ended up replacing the starter due to some electrical incompatibility.

I am really hard on clutches, especially when you can spin the tires so easily on the long bed so I went through two clutches in ten years.

But the main problem I've had is that the windshields crack so easy, I'm on my fourth windshield and this one is cracked too.

My wife doesn't like the size of the cab especially since we have a daughter. It can get kind of cramped on long trips with more than two people in it.

General Comments:

I love the thing. It has got guts and is willing and able to take you where you want to go.

I haul stuff all the time and the long bed has always surprised me on how much it will hold. I've moved across the country three times in this truck and not once has it stranded me in some far away place. I consider it very reliable in that capacity.

I still get great gas milage (18c/20h) and I almost never change the oil.

I doubt I'll ever sell mine.

Too much history. ;)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th August, 2001

1991 Ford Ranger XLT 3.0 V6 from North America


Fix Or Repair Daily


One week after purchasing the truck the transmission blew.

Heater core was cracked and had to be fixed.

Tire magically flew off, shredded the brake drum backing plate.

General Comments:

This car is an all around clunker. The 3.0 is slightly more powerful than the 2.3, but still more seems to go wrong with the 3.0 than with any other engine.

The cabin and interior are comfortable and cozy, but the performance and reliability are horrible.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th July, 2001

7th Apr 2004, 16:53

Keep in mind you bought it with 100,000 miles on it, and probably don't know what the previous owner did to it. I've had the same truck new since 1991, and got 245,000 miles on it before it overheated due to rusted out freeze plugs, which is just because it's old.

1991 Ford Ranger XLT from North America


Mechanically unreliable


Engine threw a rod at 60,000 miles and had to be replaced. Engine problems again at 88,000 miles. Rear end transmission replaced at 96,000. Routine maintenance.

General Comments:

For the regular maintenance we have put into this truck, it has given us mechanical problems and cost a lot of money. I would have not expected to have had to replace both the engine and rear transmission before the truck hit 100,000. Most of its driving has been cross country and city/rural. Not a lot of wear and tear has been put on, and it was not used for towing or any heavy use. I will not be buying another Ford Ranger.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd July, 2000

26th Mar 2004, 21:26

I have a 1991 Ford Ranger (2.3) with 167,000 miles on it, and it has never needed any major repairs.

11th Jun 2004, 21:39

My 91 Ranger has 178000 miles on it. Replaced automatic hubs to manual; alternator, starter, spark plug wires. That's about it, of course brakes.

26th Jul 2004, 16:03

My 1991 silver xlt ranger 2wd 5 speed is about to turn over 200,000 miles.

No problems whatso ever, most reliable vehicle I have ever owned.