1991 Ford Ranger XLT 4.0 V6 from North America


A durable, comfortable truck for people who travel with light/medium loads


Former owner said Air Conditioner went out at 60,000 miles.

Had to replace radiator at 85,000 miles.

Had to replace U-Joints at 120,000 miles.

General Comments:

This truck has got to be the most durable truck in the world.

When I got it, I treated it horribly and it still runs as if I gave it every oil change on time and did all scheduled maintenance.

I hit a huge 10 point buck at 50 miles an hour and it barely dented the front of my truck. I was able to kick the dent out.

The cabin is roomy for a light truck and passengers can stretch out. Unless of course, you have two people in the jump seats in the back. whereas they generally are pretty squished.

Long-bed holds an unbelievable amount of stuff. I am always surprised.

Gets good gas mileage still. about 20 mpg city, 22 mpg highway.

I don't think I will ever get rid of this truck. Its much more fun to add stuff to it and just keep replacing things when they get too old.

I would definitely recommend this truck in its 4.0 V6 form. I can't imagine it with a smaller engine, but this one does pretty well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st May, 2004

1991 Ford Ranger XLT 2.9 from North America


Starter solenoid out 113000

Clutch and master cylinder out at 117000

Alternator gone 117500

Transmission replaced 123000.

General Comments:

The truck has a smooth ride, but is not a work truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th December, 2003

21st Aug 2005, 21:24

Regular stuff. Maybe not the tranny, but being a work truck, you prolly beat the crap out of it. Do your maintenance and stop bad mouthing a good truck.

1991 Ford Ranger XLT 2.3L 100 hp from North America


This truck has been very dependable, cost under $10,000, and there have been no major problems


The air conditioner went out about a year ago and cost $700 to get fixed (a necessity in Texas).

Timing belt was changed, but it was regular maintience.

General Comments:

The original paint is just as pretty as it was ten years ago.

The interior has held out remarkably well.

It is underpowered. I have trouble keeping up with traffic sometimes.

Clutch still works great.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th September, 2002

14th Oct 2002, 22:31

I personally think the truck is wonderful, and I enjoyed your review, but I feel you gave it a little betrayal when you said it is underpowered. Your truck does have a little engine in it... i take it it's the small v6? well I own the exact same one, but mine is the 4.0 and it'll beat any Chevy with a 350. so I think it's great and not underpowered, its just the size of your engine. thanks.

7th Jun 2006, 21:43

I have owned a 3.0 ranger, great small truck. I ended up getting rid of it when rust ate away the frame (its was 1993 in the northeast...)

But saying a 4.0 will destroy a 350 is just... no, it won't happen.

1991 Ford Ranger XLT 3.0 V6 from North America


A great truck for the money!


A/C went out at 85K miles.

U-joints replaced at 90K miles.

Clutch went out at 129K miles.

Radiator replaced at 160K miles.

Alternator replaced at 170K miles.

U-joints replaced again at 172K miles.

General Comments:

This tough little truck has had a few problems here and there, but nothing out of the ordinary and is still running great 11 1/2 years later! The paint still looks good too and not a speck of rust anywhere on the body panels.

I have not babied this truck in the least (have hauled lots of stuff and pulled several trailers), but I have kept up the regular maintenance. I believe that regular maintenance is the key to keeping ANY truck on the road with the least amount of troubles - foreign or domestic.

The ONLY reason I am not buying another Ranger is the fact that they do not offer a 4-door Crew Cab version. I am buying a Toyota Tacoma Double Cab, instead, but not because the Ranger was a bad truck at all.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th July, 2002