1993 Ford Ranger XLT Supercab 4.0L V6 from North America


Beauty or a Beast?


The 4wd transfer case motor died after only 2 seasons in the snow. Ford should just use a manual shifter instead of the unreliable on-the-fly button.

Gas gauge went out at 100,000 miles.

Now there is a tremendous ping, as well as overheating, that occurs on slight inclines. The problem is still unknown. Also, the timing seems to miss at freeway speeds, only after about 100 miles of nonstop driving?? Still no known remedy to my knowledge for that?

General Comments:

Other than the above mentioned, the car has given me few problems. It's a good everyday truck for use around town. It has a decent payload and can pull a trailer fairly well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th August, 2001

1993 Ford Ranger XLT 4.0 6 cylinder from North America


A great and dependable truck, that lasts for a long time


Recently with my Ford Ranger, my clutch started to slip, and there is a annoying rattling sound coming from around the driver's side door. I am not sure yet what it is, but I am going to get it checked out.

There is not any major problems with the Ranger, just ones that can be fixed with a little cash.

General Comments:

The truck seemed to run great when I first got it. It ran strong and could go 0-60 in about 7.5-8 seconds depending on if I shifted correctly.

It handles really great, and going around sharp curves is not a real problem.

The seats could use some help, where they are somewhat uncomfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2001

1993 Ford Ranger XLT 3.0 V6 from North America


Extremely nice truck and suitable for everyone


Nothing has gone wrong with the truck.

General Comments:

This is a real nice truck for anyone. It's a lot faster than my previous 4 cylinder Toyota.

I put a ram-air system on and an exhaust to match which really makes it sound healthy. It sounds like a truck should sound -- not like the tin-can cars.

This is one compact pickup that truly is a work truck and can handle a heavy load when I need it to. I suggest this truck for everyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2001

24th May 2012, 22:41

I have a 93 3.0 2WD Supercab. The A/C's broken, and this is the second time my truck has locked up in fifth gear on the road. While I'm at it... the seats are great, but that's about it LOL.

1993 Ford Ranger XLT Long Bed 4.0L Automatic Overdrive from North America


Sporty, reliable pickup for a great bargain price!


No problems since I got it 8,000 miles ago. Needs new tires and rear shocks, but that's about it. High price to fix after an accident! Just over $4000 dollars for a 25mph accident.

General Comments:

Excellent truck! Held up in a 25mph accident, and not much damage! This truck is extremely reliable, and safe.

The 4.0L guzzles gas, but is well worth it considering the performance.

I've carried over 1/2 ton in the bed, and it held up fine.

Overall a great, reliable, performer with hardly any problems. The full frame really helps with towing, and makes it safe. I'd recommend this truck to anyone who is looking for a compact pickup!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th March, 2001

8th Jan 2003, 14:00

Thanks, this review was helpful to me while shopping for a long-bed light truck.

1993 Ford Ranger XLT 4.0L V6 from North America


This truck has been very reliable and I would buy another one in a heartbeat


I have had no major problems with this truck. We replaced the front shocks at 93000 miles. The rear shocks are going bad, so we will need to replace them.

General Comments:

This Ford Ranger has been extremely reliable. It starts up every time, even of the coldest of Wisconsin winters.

We added a K&N high performance air filter, which gave a slightly noticeable difference in performance. It does 0-60 in about 8.3 - 8.4 seconds which is pretty respectable for a 4500 lbs. truck. The 225 ft. lbs. of torque give it a quick start off.

It burns about a quarter of a quart of oil between oil changes (Mobil 1 synthetic of course), which isn't that much for a truck over 100,000 miles on it.

On Friday October 13, I got into an accident with it. We totaled the Ford Tempo that we hit, but the police found it to be 100% his fault. When we took it to the Ford dealership to have it fixed, it came back to us with the alignment not done, a scratch not painted, and a dent not pounded out. They gave us no trouble when we brought it back to have those fixed, but it was an all around hassle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2001

28th Jun 2001, 12:23

As of June 26, 2001 we have installed Monroe Sensa-track shocks in the back, which make a huge difference in the ride compared to the original shocks. The ride is stiffer than the old ones but the back doesn't bounce around as much as it used to.

11th Mar 2007, 07:14

Do you have a stub on that 0-60 time? Last time I saw a stock Ranger at the drag strip, it ran in the mid 70's and took half a minute to do it.

Maybe it needed a special air filter package, ya think?

11th Mar 2007, 11:57

Yeah, on that 0-60, they must be looking at the little orange numbers on the inside. I could believe 0-60 km in 8.4 seconds -- that's about 40 mph.

1993 Ford Ranger XLT 3.0 from North America


Reliability and an affordable price


The only problems that I had with this truck were that a bolt in the driver's side seat broke off, which I easily fixed myself and a problem with the freeze plug in the engine.

General Comments:

Overall my Ford Ranger has been extremely reliable.

I have never had any problems in towing a car or while hauling anything in the bed.

The four wheel drive is good in the snow, but the supercab is a little tight.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th November, 2000

1993 Ford Ranger STX 4.0L V-6 from North America


I had to replace the driver's door power window motor.

I repainted the windshield wiper arms.

That's it in 72,000 miles.

General Comments:

My rating of dealer service is the average of my experience having my truck serviced at one dealer, and having my ex-wife's car serviced at another.

Assuming I'm allowed to say:

(Both are in/near Raleigh, NC)

Capital Ford: 10

Crossroads Ford: 0

Like I saw someone else comment, every time I took my ex-wife's car in for service at Crossroads, it came back with something else wrong (no it wasn't wrong when I took it in).

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 1999

1993 Ford Ranger XLT 4.0L from North America


Something in the four wheel drive transfer case needed adjusted. It clunked from Park to Drive. As I understand it, there was a letter sent from Ford telling the dealer how to fix the problem if a customer complained. Everything has been fine since.

General Comments:

The seats are uncomfortable on the lower back during long trips.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 1998