2001 Ford Ranger Edge 4x4 SC 4.0L SOHC from North America


Oil sending unit is bad from the start, replaced under warranty, no problem.

Check Engine light comes on when the rev limit hits and stays on for 2 days.

Seeing rust spots on the frame.

The "new" 6-disc in dash CD-6 takes a while to change CD's.

When accelerating at high speed, rpm's don't move that much then all of a sudden start to go and you actually feel the pull even at 90 MPH.

General Comments:

That new motor is so nice and so fast for a stock compact pickup with 4WD. It beats new V6 Cougars and Beretta GTs and new full size pickups... any.

No problems with the truck whatsoever. Very happy with new 5 speed adaptable automatic transmission. Just gotten used to the power and now want more.

Thinking about making modifications when money becomes available... LOL. Very impressed and would recommend it to anyone.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd March, 2001

15th May 2001, 18:27

I'm looking forward to getting my ranger edge plus 4wd but I have been waiting 10 weeks so far and the dealer quoted 4 to 6 weeks, whats going on with ford?

2001 Ford Ranger Edge 4.0L V6 from North America


Built Ford tough for life!


It isn't as fast as maybe it could be, but it makes it up in power and looks easily. I would rather have a quality made vehicle like this one than one like the S10 which may be a little faster, but it doesn't look as good and has no power, also not a quality vehicle I can trust.

There should be a supercharger available.

General Comments:

I love the truck. While it isn't quite as fast as the GMC Sonoma and about equal to the S10, it has more power than both. I feel secure doing anything with it and I wouldn't buy any other truck than a FORD.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2001

9th Nov 2002, 19:45

I love my new truck. It has flare-sides for a curvy body as well as the edge trim which is in itself enough said. I have driven it on all highways, city streets, and large pastures (I opted for the 2WD, 4WD-lo and 4WD-hi feature). I have one complaint and it is that it is a smooth ride. the complaint about that is that you do not realize how fast you are going until you are way past the speed limit! I go for my first 5,000 mile checkup next month and am thrilled!

4th Dec 2002, 14:37

I have a 2001 Edge 4x2 with the automatic transmssion and anemic 3.0 V-6. What was I thinking when I leased this? At least I didn't purchase this sloth. It gets the worst gas mileage of any vehicle I have ever owned. I get about 12 mpg in town, and 20 or so on the highway. Had I known this, I would have bought a full size truck with some balls.

Whatever you do, avoid the 3.0 V-6.

16th Apr 2003, 10:19

I own a 2001 Ford Ranger 4x4 "EDGE' and am very displeased with the braking system. Ford advertises 4 wheel Anti-lock Braking System, when you only have 2 sensors to the front brakes and 1 sensor to the differential. So which wheel in the rear is the sensor really anti-locking when one side is driving while the other goes for the ride? Jeep has the for real 4 wheel ABS system, with sensors on each wheel!

25th Jul 2004, 22:43

I have had a 2001 Ford ranger edge for about a year now, I bought it used and I have had no trouble whatsoever from the truck. It has plenty of power, and speed. It is also the smoothest riding truck I've ever owned. I just broke 55000 miles and its still running as good as the day I got it. I am very pleased with the truck as it has exceeded all of my expectations.

30th Sep 2004, 11:52

I own a 2001 Ford Ranger EDGE. I have had it about 2 1/2 months and love it. IT has been the best truck I have ever had. It has the 4.0 and automatic tranny. Great gas mileage. 18 in the city and about 22 on the highway. not had any problems at all. Ford makes a great truck.