2003 Ford Ranger Reviews - Page 4 of 6

2003 Ford Ranger XLT 4X4 4.0 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 4.0 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired1200 miles
Most recent distance59000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Good towing ability and 4X4 is fine

Faults:

Had issues when under warranty with the CD player, and the 4 wheel low coming out of low.

I have had 2 master cylinders on the clutch, and I am about to put on my third, the second only lasted 2 months.

General Comments:

Great truck, I hated the factory tires and put Bridgestone Revo's on it. It is a great riding truck now.

I average 19 MPG city and 22 highway with 59,000 on the ODO.

It handles great in snow even out of 4 wheel drive. I had nothing in the bed last winter and it stuck to the road, and when I realized I was in 4" of snow on the road and slipping, I dropped it into 4 low and it was like a magnet on the road. Stuck right where I drove it.

Cabin could have been better, the '04 is set up a little nicer.

After the first 60K I still love it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2007

2003 Ford Ranger XLT V6 3.0 flex fuel from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission V6 3.0 flex fuel Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 2 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired23000 miles
Most recent distance72000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

F.O.R.D. Fix Or Repair Daily

Faults:

The truck constantly overheats.

The transmission is ready to give out after only 72000.

The 3L V6 engine is getting less than 15 mpg.

General Comments:

The interior of the truck is very comfortable given the limited space.

However, the engine and transmission are terribly inefficient and consistently unreliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th October, 2005

21st Dec 2005, 02:10

Gee whiz, you should expect some problems when you've got a 3 year old truck that's getting close to 80K miles!

10th Jan 2006, 12:03

My 1991 Dakota is 15 years old with 80,000 miles and I haven't had any problems except maintenance. I wouldn't expect problems from one 3 years old unless it is a Ford. FORD backwards is also "Down Road on Fire".

2003 Ford Ranger XLT FX4 "-ous" 4.0 litre from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 litre Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance23000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Best small truck value in its class

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

"Ranger-ous" is by far the best truck I have ever owned. The 4.0 liter with the 5 speed manual and a 4:10 limited slip rear end is off the chart powerful. I'm averaging 21 mph, and mostly with the a/c on.

The 4wd is just a flip of a switch on the dash. How easy is that!

A very comfortable, smooth and enjoyable ride.

Mine (which I have named Ranger-ous) is the extra cab with doors that open, which is essential. Don't consider the non opening extra cab. Impossible to put anything back there.

The Ford stock stereo with Cd is awesome! Power everything, except for seats, which I'm not sure if its even available.

The front end styling from 2001 to 2004 I feel is the best. The black paint kept clean and waxed shines like a new wet paint job.

Overall, a 9.5 out of 10. Beats to death any GM or Dodge or foreign make hands down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th August, 2005

31st Oct 2005, 11:02

I have a 2003 Ranger XLT 4.0l 5 speed 4wd with the 4.10 Limited Slip diffs, and I got about 16mpg highway (70-85mph average) I put on a flowmaster 40 series, moved up to 19 mpg, then put 32" tires on it and went down to 16 mpg again.

But the truck is AWESOME! I love it.

27th Dec 2006, 05:42

I have only owned my 2003 Ford Ranger XLT FX4 for a short amount of time, I just love it. I owned a Dodge Ram 1500 and this truck is a much better ride.

2003 Ford Ranger Edge 3.0L from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.0L Don't Know
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance35000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Good little truck, get an extended cab though

Faults:

Hood Latch came loose! Noticed hood floating going down the expressway, only thing holding it down was the cable to the latch. I wasn't impressed with the 8mm bolts that hold it, the washers cracked and fell off.

Tail gate handle is bit hard to work, probably the cheesy push/pull rods are bent. Typical of the small trucks.

Noticed a vibration as of late, along with an annoying squeak, wondering if it is U-Joints (Hoping) Nothing too obvious at glance, need to get under there and have a closer look.

General Comments:

I don't beat the heck out of the truck, but I haven't been kind to it either. From hauling a bed full of mulch for gardening, shingles to the dump, lumber from home depot, or pulling the boat to the lake. It fairs pretty good.

Regular cab is a bit tight on space, no door pockets or anything behind the seat is a bummer. But its good on gas in comparison to my F150, I like my little truck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2005

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 19 reviews