2003 Ford Ranger Reviews - Page 5 of 6

2003 Ford Ranger XLT 4.0 from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 4 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Blazer

Summary:

Absolute junk!!!

Faults:

Won't start-Steering-seat belts.

General Comments:

This truck is absolutely a piece of junk. Bought it brand new off the lot. Have had the fuel pump replaced 3 times and an inertia switch. I am afraid to drive it anywhere due to it might not start when I come back to it.

The entire rack and pinion steering system had to be replaced and it now feels like it is having steering problems again. Never ever been in a wreck with this truck. Only has 16,000 miles right now.

Bad enough you say? Now I get in and the seat belt will not lock in the buckle... Ford scares me. If you have a lot of money and do not care if your vehicle runs or not... buy one of these.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 24th May, 2005

18th Oct 2005, 16:48

I can believe that on a one-off basis a particular ford Ranger might have problems. However I have a '96 Ford Ranger XL and with 233,000 miles on it, it is still going strong! It's without a doubt the best truck I have ever owned (by far) and you can be sure my next truck will be a Ranger!

2003 Ford Ranger XLT 4.0L SOHC from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0L SOHC Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired23 miles
Most recent distance12000 miles

Summary:

I'd buy another, it's great value for the money

Faults:

This truck has been perfectly reliable and inexpensive to own.

General Comments:

The truck handles well and has ample interior room, but the jump seats in the extended cab are a joke because no one could safely ride back there. The bucket seats (not the split bench) are comfortable and the adjustable lumbar support is a great addition.

The stock sound system is one of the best I've heard, as far as far as factory installed systems go.

The gas mileage is really sensitive to speed - above about 65 mph it starts to nose dive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2005

2003 Ford Ranger XLT 4.0 gas from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 gas Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

I love this truck; it has done all and more than I expect

Faults:

Recurring fan belt noise, four repairs to date. The dealer has done well, but the warranty is over so we will see if a chronic problem reoccurs and Ford's follow up on it.

General Comments:

This ranger pulls anything we ask it to, hauls a cab-over camper with ease and loads of rock that truly amaze.

Fuel economy is, understandably, underwhelming, but worth the cost during eastern cascade winters. The four wheel option and caution makes for a safe drive most anywhere.

A true twin cab similar to Tacoma or Frontier would help keep Ranger even with the competition; not a US car company trait. Sales will drop because of this; drug kicking and screaming is the way America often responds to market demands. Too bad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2005

29th Nov 2005, 18:06

Ford does make a true twin cab version of the ranger, it is the Explorer Sport-Trak. Identical to every mechanical aspect of a ranger, just different sheet metal.

2003 Ford Ranger FX4 4.0L from North America

Model year2003
Year of manufacture2003
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 4.0L Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.4 / 10
Distance when acquired100 miles
Most recent distance30801 miles
Previous carFord Ranger

Summary:

Nice looking truck bad gas mileage great off road, but spends more time in the shop then my driveway

Faults:

Many things have gone wrong with this truck. First of all it has had a new starter installed under warranty, Drivers side door lock button, Front axle seal, Rear axle seal, New Drive shaft, Front pinion seals, Rear brakes were adjusted (they were sticking) Emergency brake cable was replaced, And now I have to take it back to the dealership to get the clutch looked at since its making noises and slipping... also the dash squeaks a lot and molding around the CD player is flaking off.

General Comments:

I love my ford trucks, but this truck was deffinitly not worth all the trouble is has caused me.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 7th December, 2004

31st Jul 2012, 01:50

Manual transmissions don't slip, but can pop outta gear...

31st Jul 2012, 23:22

Uh... hate to break it to ya, but "slip" is one of the main functions of a manual transmission. Well, the clutch actually. The clutch allows some slippage for smooth gear changes. Of course there should be no slippage if the clutch pedal is completely released and the clutch is fully engaged. If the clutch is slipping then, there is a problem.

And if a manual transmission is popping out of gear, its synchronizers are most likely beginning to wear out.

5th Aug 2012, 16:54

Yeah, I know that normally the terminology of a "transmission slipping" is usually referring to automatic transmissions. He should have said the clutch wasn't fully disengaging...

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 19 reviews