2005 Ford Ranger Reviews - Page 2 of 2

2005 Ford Ranger XLT 3.0L from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.0L Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60 kilometres
Most recent distance13000 kilometres
Previous carFord Bronco II

Summary:

Best small pickup on the market!

Faults:

So far everything is perfect!

General Comments:

My Ranger is a regular cab long bed and is 2wd. I use it for commuting to work and hauling various items. I bought it specifically so I could easily transpost my motorcycle. The Ranger drives beautifully and predictably on road. The 3L makes enough power for hauling and is more than enough for what I need it to do. Fuel mileage is a steady 22 MPG combined city and highway, the best I got was 26 MPG highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2006

27th May 2006, 10:37

I've had similar great service and performance from all 4 of my Rangers since I bought my first in '92. There just is no real competition for the Ranger. It is the ONLY small trick worth buying.

20th Aug 2006, 17:13

I'm jealous!! I wanted a 5-speed when I bought my Ranger 3.0, but all they had at the dealership were automatics. That means I am getting awful mileage compared to your truck (I get about 20 average). Otherwise, this is without a doubt the BEST small truck made. I drove a lot of different ones before buying this one and nothing came close. You don't outsell the competition for 22 years if you're second best!!

23rd Oct 2006, 20:56

I just took my 2006 Ranger 2WD with the 3.0 on a trip thru rural Tennessee on 2-lane back roads. I got 24 mpg, which is actually BETTER than my previous 4-cylinder Dakota got. I love the ride and handling, and there is more than enough power. The 3.0 is a really bullet-proof engine, with no timing belt to worry about and all-steel block and heads. I expect to keep this one a VERY long time. I've owned Fords since I started driving back during the dinosaur age and I haven't had any trouble with any of the 25 or so we've owned.

30th Dec 2007, 19:59

I notice some claiming highway mileage of 31 mpg while others claim only 24 or 25 mpg. The difference is probably someone in Canada calculating mpg based on an Imperial gallon as opposed to someone in USA using the US gallon. A US gallon is about 5/6 of an Imperial gallon so 25 mpg US = 30 mpg Imperial.

22nd Aug 2009, 11:56

I've got a 2005 3.0 five speed 2WD. I get 26 MPG when doing 65-70 MPH on the interstate. I can get up to 29 MPG doing 55-60. It's a great truck!

2005 Ford Ranger XLT 2.5 turbo diesel from Northern Cyprus

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance6550 kilometres
Previous carMitsubishi Pajero

Summary:

Best Value Pick-up I've seen

Faults:

Nothing really. Just a few squeaks here and there.

The right right suspension is slightly creaky, and there is occasional brake squeaking, but all really due to the amount of dust I'm driving through as I am involved in construction.

Only grumble is the light rear end, which combined with dust, water, and not keeping permanent 4 wheel drive, means I tend to slide out of junctions. Easily fixed with some large sandbags over the rear arches.

General Comments:

Great car, has not given me any problems.

Nice and comfortable inside, and really nicely finished off with a Blaupunkt stereo, which is fantastic sound quality for going out on a night!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th June, 2005

2005 Ford Ranger LTX FX4 Off Road 4.0 from North America

Model year2005
Year of manufacture2005
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.0 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired4 miles
Most recent distance6000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

I love my Ranger!!!

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

I love my Ranger. I was pleasantly surprised with the build quality of this little pick up truck. I still will not purchase a Ford car because of their notoriously famous POOR build quality, but would not hesitate to purchase any Ford Truck. No sqeeks or rattles, decent gas mileage for a 4.0 liter 6 cylinder, and a well designed interior. I know it is no 3 series BMW like my previous car, but more practical is hauling larger loads.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st April, 2005

10th Jun 2006, 11:10

As far as the cars go get a 3.0 Ford. That is very hard to tear up.

21st Jul 2006, 08:57

My family has owned a number of Ford cars as well as 2 5-Series BMW's. The Ford cars were actually more reliable than the BMW's. One of our Fords went over 250,000 miles with only routine maintenance, and several made it well over 100,000 with no problems. Ford build quality (both cars and trucks) is definitely very good. A good example of this is the tremendous increase in reliability of both Jaguar and Mazda after Ford took them over.

Average review marks: 8.9 / 10, based on 6 reviews