1993 Ford Sierra Reviews

1993 Ford Sierra Sapphire Azura 1.6 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired121563 miles
Most recent distance167752 miles

Summary:

Great car, even for a new driver

Faults:

Sensor in petrol tank failed.

Water pump (2008)

Automatic choke gets stuck.

General Comments:

This was my first car given to me by my dad. Great car even for a new driver, however the lack of power steering on this base model made it a hard transition from the power steering car I passed my test in.

Very reliable car. Misfires in the morning, I suspect due to the cold weather, its age, and the distance it has covered.

Very comfortable car. RWD proves to be great fun especially in wet conditions.

Even though it has the smallest engine available, it is pretty quick considering how old and heavy it is. Started to struggle going up steep hills and has become sluggish when fully loaded in recent years.

The only reason I'm getting rid of this car is it's a write-off after someone pulled out on me on an island in the snow. A great shame as, with a little TLC, this car would have soldiered on for years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd November, 2008

1993 Ford Sierra GT 2.0i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired144000 miles
Most recent distance147000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Cheap as chips!

Faults:

Clutch bearing had gone when I bought it.

There's no heat coming from the heater.

The key doesn't work in the driver's door.

I can't get my immobilizer to unlock the central locking.

General Comments:

The 2.0i DOHC is a bullet proof engine, it just keeps going... and boy does it go!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd December, 2003

1993 Ford Sierra GLX 2.0 DOHC EFI petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC EFI petrol Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired73000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

A lot of car for very little money

Faults:

Rear calipers seized.

Electric window switch broke.

Heated screen has never worked.

Drivers side sill has started to rot along with front chassis leg.

General Comments:

A fast, well handling practical car

Cheap fun saloon car, and more than a match performance wise for a BMW 318.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd November, 2003

1993 Ford Sierra Sapphire 1.8 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.8 turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired100000 miles
Most recent distance164000 miles
Previous carToyota Starlet

Summary:

Reliable bargain, but bad performance.

Faults:

Clutch cable went in it back in 1998. Manifold in 2001.

Heater plugs in 2002.

It also has trouble passing the National Car Test (NCT), so we just use parafin to get it through the test.

General Comments:

It is a good car, but the main problem with it is the fact that it is a diesel. Myself personally, I hate diesel cars, but this one is value for money at IRĀ£4,000 back when I bought it in 1997. The performance is bad, with a top speed of just about 100mph, (with the right wind direction!) It has good mpg (not sure exactly), and it should make it through another 30,000 miles with a bit of luck.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th April, 2003

24th Feb 2006, 03:50

I have one of these also, same as yours, a 1.8TD, its my daily driver, have a fun car for the weekends, I got it for free, take it out of my sight kind of thing and I have to say of all the cars I've ever owned (A LOT!) I'm actually quite fond of this. I am confident also that this car will give no trouble so long as I own it, very robust.

1993 Ford Sierra Sapphire LX 1.8 CVH cfi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 1.8 CVH cfi Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired62500 miles
Most recent distance66000 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

A brilliant all round inexpensive, good looking, runabout

Faults:

Cam belt snapped at 62870, only a month after I purchased the vehicle. (In hindsight, I should of replaced it immediately upon purchase)

Oil rings are starting to show wear on startup.

General Comments:

This is my second Sierra, my previous 1984 model, lasted from 1996 till 2001, which I gave away to a friend - now stolen!!!

The Sapphire is in fairness, (my other car is a Jaguar) an excellent good looking vehicle which in its final guise doesn't stand badly next to more expensive exotica.

As a first car or second or third "runabout town" it si tremendous value!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2002

15th Jun 2003, 18:27

If the engine is smoking on start up it's probably the valve stem seals gone brittle rather than worn rings. What happens is that when the engine is switched off, any oil that settles around the valve spring area seeps down past the seals and into the cylinders. This is burnt off on start up which shows as an initial puff of blue smoke for the first couple of seconds running, and then all appearing well afterwards. Another tell tale sign is that it only happens when the car has been stood for a few hours or overnight rather than every time you start it.

Valve stem seals are a common CVH weakness, to the extent that the replacements are modified to last longer. The good news is, valve stem seals are easier and cheaper to replace (both in terms of parts and labour) than rings and do not require major engine dismantling. The seals themselves cost pennies.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 13 reviews