1993 Ford Sierra Reviews - Page 2 of 3

1993 Ford Sierra GLS 2.0i petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 2.0i petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired29000 miles
Most recent distance74000 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

Engine failure has shaken my confidence in Ford

Faults:

Engine suddenly failed after just 38000 miles.

Suspension bushes have to be replaced annually.

Alternator failed after 73000 miles.

General Comments:

Better trim, comfort and ride than earlier models, though better ride at the expense of handling.

Engine performance disappointing for its size.

Still on original exhaust though!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 7th January, 2002

10th Jan 2002, 12:33

By suspension bushes I think you mean the anti roll bar bushes. If you replace these with non Ford bushes from a motor factor such as Partco, this should solve the problem as these expand to fit the bush holder.

3rd Sep 2002, 04:50

I replaced by lower track control arm bushes with ones from partco. 2 weeks later the car failed its MOT on the same bushes - far too much movement. I'm going to get a set of Superflex poly bushes next time.

21st Sep 2002, 12:05

Replacing the bushes using Cosworth parts or the more expensive Polly bushes will improve handling and reliability. The front end may feel a little stiffer afterwards however.

I own a Sierra GLSi myself and think it's a brilliant car.

5th Jun 2004, 18:29

I wrote the original review above and looking back I have to say that I was a little harsh at the time.

I got rid of the car in March 2003 for a Laguna and while it is an pretty decent motor I have to confess I'm now missing the Sierra. I miss the real wheel drive, all cars in this class should be driven through the back wheels. I miss the comfort, it was one of the most comfortable cars I have ever driven and had a nice plush interior. I miss the ease and simplicity of maintenance, yes it had its faults, but even a novice mechanic could find his way around a Sierra compared to the 'sealed for life' components of newer cars.

Despite the freak engine failure early on I got over 70,000 miles from it's replacement and it could easily go on to do double that. It did require a new cam chain which was fairly easy to replace unlike the Laguna which I had to send to the dealer for its cam belt to be changed.

As for the bushes I tried all manner of heavy duty replacements. Looking back the suspension was probably worn elsewhere causing them to repeatedly fail.

1993 Ford Sierra Sapphire Azura 1.8 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 1.8 petrol Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired120001 miles
Most recent distance120751 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Good looking reliable car

Faults:

As yet I have encountered no problems with the car, although the automatic choke needs assistance from the accelerator to keep the car running in the mornings.

General Comments:

Very comfortable, quiet car. Beautifully made with outstanding looks, although heavy at slow speeds due to the lack of power steering, this is overlooked by how the car sets itself apart from most other Sapphires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2001

1993 Ford Sierra Azura 1.6 CFi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 1.6 CFi Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance67000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Cavalier

Summary:

Great styling and looks, at minimum costs

Faults:

Having only had it for a short while, it is unfair to say. Boot release does not work and since recent snowy/cold weather the internal heating fan makes a very annoying squeaking sound.

General Comments:

I have been debating on buying one of these for a while, and it is well worth it. It is a very good looking car, with tons of interior space which is clothed in an attractive velour fabric. Front sports seats make the overall driving experience very comfortable and commanding.

Handling can be tiresome at low speeds (especially parking) due to the lack of power steering.

Although a basic Special Edition, the car is well equipped with a decent Ford stereo, tilt/slide sunroof, tinted windows, alloys, colour-coded bumpers, mirrors and boot spoiler.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th December, 2000

1993 Ford Sierra GLSi 2.0 DOHC EFi from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 2.0 DOHC EFi Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 miles
Most recent distance48000 miles
Previous carFord Sierra

Summary:

Cheaper than a Cossie, but just as much fun :)

Faults:

Wiper linkage replaced.

Driveshaft flange replaced.

Gear lever linkage replaced, after Ford broke it while fitting the driveshaft flange.

General Comments:

Modifications:

Remus exhaust system.

Kent fast road cams.

Spax lowering kit.

K&N induction kit.

Other misc. engine mods.

Power output:

183 BHP @ 5200 RPM.

0-60 in 5.6s.

0-100 in 11.2s.

This car will easily take on most other performance cars :)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st December, 2000

22nd Apr 2001, 12:24

Those figures seem a bit extreme for a 183bhp Sierra?

14th Jun 2001, 15:23

I have a GLS 2.0i pinto on an 'f' plate. It produces 115bhp, yours, in standard 125bhp & I can't see how the fairly small mods you've made can achieve 183bhp. Lets be fair...

21st Jul 2001, 03:08

Can you please also specify your other misc mods cause I've got a 2.0 ltr DOHC engine :D.

31st Oct 2001, 03:52

0 - 60 in 5.6 seconds? Either your stopwatch was running slow or your speedo over reads.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 13 reviews