1989 Ford Taurus GL 3.8 V6 from North America


Cheap, low quality performance and versatility, unreliable overall and a waste of $$$$$$


Motor mounts have blown out 4 times.

Head gasket blew with 6th cylinder at 148,000 miles.

General Comments:

Excellent interior space and versatility.

Fast and powerful.

Inconvenient accessory controls.

Truck-like bumpy ride.

Gas hog.

Fragile, parts break/go out very easily.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th December, 2003

19th Dec 2003, 10:41

You've had to have the motor mounts replaced four times in 5000 miles? You need to find a new mechanic!

1989 Ford Taurus GL 3.8 liter from North America


Not very reliable


This car was great when I first got it, but after about two months it would randomly quit running. It was simple to fix, just some wires had to be replaced.

About two days later, smoke started coming out from under the hood at a stop light. I had it towed, and it turns out the A/C broke, and it would have cost me more to have it fixed than what the car is worth.

One week later, the car caught on fire! The fan froze up and smoke started pouring out from under the hood. I opened it up to see flames shooting up! I replaced the fan and it hasn't caught on fire since then.

Now it feels like the transmission is slipping. I'm getting rid of this car as fast as I can!

General Comments:

The car is very comfortable to drive, when it actually drives. I can't expect too much from an older car though. It has a very spacious interior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th July, 2003

21st Jan 2005, 10:54

I've currently have a 1989 Taurus and have virtually no problems with it. It never caught on fire or any of the problems you have/had. It could be faulty parts in your car. I would say this was a fairly good car.

1989 Ford Taurus SHO 3.0 DOHC from North America


Best 0-60 mph under 7 seconds sedan to date!


When I first got the car (used), I had to replace the CV-joints.

After I had the car for about 3 months, I had to replace the Y-Pipe.

About 5 months after that, I replaced the 2 exhaust pipes that went from the Catalytic Converters to the Y-Pipe.

Seat covers.

General Comments:

This car is in my opinion the best domestic four door sports sedan you can buy!

Seats were worn when I purchased the car, but the comfort was still great!

It's a great car at the traffic light. Kids in Honda Civics look over and see a "Taurus" and think they will catch me off the line. Boy are they wrong.

The only con is that it is expensive to modify and maintain. If you have the resources and the will to go, get this Taurus! It will not disappoint you.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th March, 2003

1989 Ford Taurus GL 3.0 from North America


Comfortable, spacious, yet unreliable car


Transmission went bad, had to replace it. 76,000 miles.

Manifold had a vacuum leak, and had to replace it. It was causing the engine to run at a very high idle. Directly after transmition was replaced at 76,000.

Tierods replaced and drive axle replaced at 80,000 miles.

Oil Head gaskets were replaced because of oil leak which caused a very bad stink. Also continuous leaks with radiator and oil leaks (not sure location of the oil leaks).

AC quit working 1,000 miles after I bought it.

General Comments:

Comfortable car to drive in long distances or short.

But just at the age where it's falling apart. Just glad I bought it for a good small price.

Not the most wonderful car so don't pump a lot of money in them, buy them young and sale them young if you want one.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 19th November, 2002

21st Jan 2005, 11:08

I've had no problems with my Taurus. My transmission fluid needs to be changed. Maybe you just drive it too rough and hard or something.

1989 Ford Taurus L V6 3.0L from North America


Engine fires are no problem when you have speed


Heater core died, easy fix with 12 inches of radiator hose.

Car dies when it is not given enough gas manually with the gas pedal.

Rear tires lock up with no warning.

Engine has caught on fire 3 times, but went out quickly (probably the buildup of oil and gas on the engine that sprayed out in an accident.)

Huge dents in the side of the car.

Not water tight.

General Comments:

After ripping off the muffler the car became very quick.

It is very comfortable.

Gets the heads turning when I drive down the street.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2002