1989 Ford Taurus L 3.0 liter from North America


A medium repair fun ride


We replaced the engine at 100K miles. Took it all apart, rebuilt it and dropped it back in... has worked fine since.

General Comments:

It's a fun car to drive, pretty cheap to maintain, and chicks dig it... even though only grandma's drive it. It's cool though, look for my Taurus around Sacramento, it's gray and has a bunch of punk band bumper stickers!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 18th May, 2001

1989 Ford Taurus SHO 3.0 DOHC 24 valve from North America


The best bang for the buck!


- New clutch, flywheel, and throw out bearings at 125,000 miles.

- Temperature blend actuator at 135,000.

- C/V joint boot at 140,000.

- Thermostat at 135,000.

- Water pump at 135,000.

- Ignition switch at 148,000.

General Comments:

The Taurus SHO is not an ordinary Taurus that's for sure. The SHO is very fast, and will outrun a 5.0 Mustang at 70 MPH on up. The SHO will top out at about 145 MPH.

The Taurus SHO is very comfortable too. It comes with dual 6 way power seats, moon-roof, JBL premium sound system, power locks, windows, and all the other things that you can think of.

The ride of the SHO is firm and sporty, great cornering. It also has the supple leather for a more luxurious ride, whether it be to the grocery store or to the drag strip.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd May, 2001

1989 Ford Taurus GL 3.0 liter from North America


A great family car


The only thing that has gone wrong with this car, is the rear motor mount that needs to be replaced.

I had to replace the brake pads.

General Comments:

I love this car, I have put almost 30,000 miles on it in one year and I have never had an ounce of trouble.

It is very dependable and comfortable, and I would buy another one in a heartbeat.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2001

15th Jul 2001, 08:12

I personally love the Ford Taurus. I've got 2. An '89 and an '87. My Brother in-law has a '90. They truly are the best car ever made!!!

1st Sep 2002, 00:00

My Ford Taurus is one of the most dependable cars I have ever owned. I am a female 71 years old and have been driving since I was 13,so have had considerable experience with cars. This Taurus still gets 30 mpg, and more on long trips. Have put lots of miles on it and never had a problem. I have replaced the tires and had the brakes relined.. Other than standard maintenance that's it!!

1989 Ford Taurus GL 3.8 Litre from North America


A comfortable, costly, rusty sled


Transmission, completely dead at 69K.

Power steering.

Both rear brake cylinders.

Front left calliper.

Emergency brake.

Dashboard light.

Blower motor.

Windshield washer motor.

Directional signal.

Rust in all the usual Ford Taurus places.

Leaky trunk.

Leaky radiator, etc., etc. (these are just off the top of my head).

General Comments:

What Ford did with the transmission on the Ford Taurus was criminal negligence. They knew that the design had some major flaws, yet they stood by and did nothing. I also have heard that the head gaskets on these cars (with the 3.8L engine) like to blow at about 70K miles. I have been lucky so far. I am going to sell this piece of junk (or donate it to charity) and buy something reliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 27th September, 2000

2nd Feb 2001, 23:13

I need to know how to unlock the child safety locks, the back door won't open at all.

21st Jan 2005, 12:05

WOW! I have a 1988 Ford Taurus GL as well and everything you have mentioned is exactly what I have had to pay to have fixed as well. These cars are gargage.

28th Jan 2005, 23:19

My 1989 Taurus GL sedan has 115,000 miles, and a lot of accessories. The car has power door locks, electric windows, remote controlled outside-mirrors, air-conditioning, power brakes & steering, and a velvet-like fabric interior. The car has the 3.0 V6 with automatic transmission.

Everything still works. The only problem has been the heater core, which is leaking into the defroster system. The aroma of antifreeze fills the interior for about ten minutes; at which point the system warms up sufficiently to evaporate the antifreeze/steam secretions from the defroster system.

All-in-all, it has been a very smooth-running commuter type automobile. Cruises effortlessly at freeway speeds, gets a decent 20 mpg, and has not given me much grief. I put a can of stop-leak in the radiator, and for the past month or so, the heater core leak appears to have been resolved.