1990 Ford Taurus GL 3.0L from North America


Diamond in the rough


Transmission has a slow 1-2 shift, been that way since I bought the car.

Both front ball joints needed replacing.

All four wheel bearings as well.

Brakes on all sides.

Looks like crap thanks to your friendly neighborhood deer.

General Comments:

Most of the problems with the car are general wear and tear.

I've taken this car on 3 hour trips, and it's never let me down.

Handles great, I've taken corners (not curves) at speeds over 50mph. Drove awesome in the winter even on almost bald tires.

Very roomy and has a HUGE trunk.

These cars do not age gracefully, the clearcoat is coming of and wearing down to the primer, since the car is black, white primer and rust are VERY visible.

I bought the car for $500 bucks and I got over 10,000 miles out of it. Overall I'm satisfied with it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th July, 2009

14th Jul 2009, 13:52

I really liked the older, pre-96 Tauruses (Taurii?). As long as the transmissions didn't fail then the car would have a long lifespan. Roomy, decent fuel mileage, handled better than any comparable Chevy or Dodge car and a motor that would not die (unless it's a 3.8). Even though the newest, non-oval Taurus is almost 15 years old, I'd still buy one in good shape.

14th Jul 2009, 21:19

Can't expect those things to age gracefully, it's a early 90's Ford, they were churning out junk. I've had 3 Ford Taurus sedans all three had the transmission fail completely. The 3.0 is a good motor, they'll take a couple hundred thousand miles easy if you maintain em but the tranny was the achilles heel. I'm my '89 it went completely, suddenly, without warning. Luckily I was just a few blocks from my house so I just threw it in reverse and backed it all the way home. Luckily. Oh yeah and my buddy had a '90 Taurus wagon once, another bad tranny. I buy and sell cars and know not to buy a Taurus now. At least not for over $200 because all your buying is the motor basically.

1990 Ford Taurus L Wagon 3.0 V6 from North America


A pretty good car so far


Water pump went out around 82,000.

General Comments:

Overall its been a pretty decent car, the only major thing I've replaced was the water pump, when some smoke started coming out of the engine compartment. Some of the paint has been chipping off and rusting below the doors. Its got good interior room, and the fold down rear seats provide good space in the back. The rear hatch window was easy to unbolt and replace when it got broken into and smashed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th January, 2008

1990 Ford Taurus LX 3.0 V6 from North America


The little engine that could


I've had this car for almost 2 years now.

While I've had it the alternator has died, the air conditioning unit has frozen up and needed replacing, twice.

The gas cap release doesn't work.

The transmission jerks when it shifts.

The brake rotors are warped.

I have to push the brake halfway to the floor before I get any kind of braking at all.

Its been in and out of the shop just about every other month for some reason or another since I bought it.

General Comments:

Despite all its downsides, I really like the car. For being 17 years old, it still has a lot of features that some newer cars do not have. Like the power seat, windows, and locks.

After it turned over the 250,000 mile mark I thought for sure I would have to get a new car. But the Taurus just keeps on trucking.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th February, 2007

1990 Ford Taurus L 3.0 V6 from North America


The ford taurus is an excellent car for the money


My alternator gave out on me at around 100,000 miles, after that, there have been no mechanical faults.

General Comments:

Tauruses are great for everyone. It is a very comfortable ride, it is decent on gas, it is very roomy, and very reliable. I am on my second Taurus and it has 171,000 miles on it and all it needs is new tires. In my opinion, Tauruses are a very good value.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2006

20th Apr 2006, 16:14

I totally agree with you on your comment. Tauruses are perfect for anyone, including first time drivers. Parts are getting to be a slight problem, but yes, they hold up just fine.

21st Apr 2006, 11:26

Women I worked with had a four cylinder 5 speed one (talk about rare) from the late 1980's and she said it was bulletproof.

I think ultimately Taurus quality when down the tube, but the early models were promising.