1990 Ford Taurus Station Wagon 3.0 from North America


A trusted and reliable family friend


Maintenance records from previous owner indicated that the alternator was replaced twice during first 100,000 miles; I replaced it at 107,000, no further issues.

Front end suspension (struts) replaced at 107,000.

Rear shocks replaced at 120,000.

Rear defroster/wiper wires broke off from window connections at 125,000.

I replaced original radiator at 135,000.

Much work done on CV boots and both half-shafts (through Sears Automotive), both half-shafts have been replaced (twice!) during my period of ownership.

Champagne (brown) paint in very poor condition, some rust-through on bottom of front doors and back hatch.

Radio lights no longer function.

Water pump gave out at 155,000.

Heater blower ceased to function at 172,000.

General Comments:

Despite the aforementioned list of repairs and replaced parts - after the vehicle had traveled 100,000 miles - this 1990 Ford Taurus Station Wagon has performed like a true champion.

I would certainly buy another!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st October, 2002

1990 Ford Taurus GL 3.0 V6 from North America


Well worth what I had paid for it


Well the first thing was the right front caliper locked up when driving home one day. I had to replace all the calipers, rotors and brakes. The driver side headlight wasn't even on the road it was up in the sky.

General Comments:

The car is a trustworthy car. The seat are extremely comfortable, and it does very well on gas.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th August, 2002

1990 Ford Taurus GL 3.0 from North America


This is the car for the family man who doesn't want a mini-van or SUV


The brakes went bad. The rear brake drums actually had to be broken off as they were severely stuck.

Unknown radiator lead on left side of car. It is intermittent so it makes it difficult to diagnose and fix.

Lights on radio quit working.

Air conditioner compressor failed and locked up breaking the serpentine belt.

General Comments:

The eight passenger seating is great. I still wonder why Ford put a vinyl third row seat in when the rest of the seats are cloth.

The Taurus is a great family car. The interior is well thought out and comfortable.

Road noise is very well dampened as is engine noise.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd August, 2002

1990 Ford Taurus GL 3.0 Liter from North America


Good basic, reliable transportation throughout the years


The brakes are terrible in this car.

Replaced tie-rods, but these were due to a rough driveway.

CV Joint, Struts.

The transmission has had a lot of TLC having frequent fluid changes to avoid failure. So far, so good.

The engine is bulletproof.

Still has original exhaust system.

Lights on radio quit.

General Comments:

It's been a dependable, relatively inexpensive car to own.

Interior and trunk is roomy.

The car is like an old favorite shirt your wife wants to throw out, but you insist on keeping.

Actually, like an old friend that has never left me down. I have a newer car, but couldn't bear to part with it. We use it as a spare car.

Performance good. 18 to 20 Mpg City, 28 highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th July, 2002

1990 Ford Taurus GL 3.0 from North America


I'll never buy another Ford


My transmission burnt up while I was getting on the highway.

I blew the core out of a spark plug at the top of a hill.

A/C hasn't worked since I got the car.

Thick Film Ignition recalled because Ford mounted it on top of the distributor.

Car has a continual jerk when going uphill.

Had to replace right CV joint-will soon have to replace left one.

General Comments:

This car was probably very nice when it was new, but I've talked too many 1990 Taurus owners whose transmission didn't make it much past the 60,000 mile extended warranty limit.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th April, 2002

1990 Ford Taurus GL 3.0 V6 from North America


Best Car Ever Built!


When I bought the car it came shipped down from Blair Nebraska From Woodhouse Ford. When I saw it on the trailer it looked better than I expected. I took it in to have some maintence done to it: Oil Change & a BG transmission flush and was told the CV boots were worn, and indeed they were so for parts and labor it was 368.00 to have the both front drive axles replaced... the oil change and bf transmission flush were 50.00.

The only thing I have a problem with is the air conditioner... when I had it tested or better yet when you go to charge it with freon the compressor goes to engage and then locks up and the engine dies... but I suspect its the original compressor from 1990, so after 12yrs I would think it would go out... so needless to say I have bought a new Accumulator, Manifold Hose, Freon Kit, and a new Compressor, had it put on and the a/c works like a charm... more like a meat locker...

General Comments:

I have to say even though I put money into it, and despite the fact I payed 2,589 for it... i love this car... it currently has right at 125,600 on it... and its runs perfectly...

I couldnt ask for a better car and anyone who doubts the Ford Taurus and/or Mercury Sable needs to think again!!!

OH, I'm a huge taurus fan in case anyone hasn't picked up on that yet... no harm to anyone, but I love my car and will pamper it like a baby till it can't go anymore...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd April, 2002

15th Oct 2002, 16:51

You Sir are a genius, I too believe that the Ford Taurus is the best car ever.

19th Jun 2004, 01:27

I like that car also, I had the wagon model about 2 years ago, I miss that car, I will get another one as soon as I can, email me, residentevilcmm@hotmail.com.