1993 Ford Taurus Reviews - Page 16 of 23

1993 Ford Taurus LX 3.8 SEFI from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 SEFI Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired142000 miles
Most recent distance147000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Ciera

Summary:

The best 93 Taurus ever made

Faults:

The power wire on the back of the alternator burned up, but is easy to fix.

The rear caliper mounting brackets wore out and kept wearing out pads.

Temperature gauge drops to cold and then goes back up several times in a row, but this only happens once and a while.

Front and rear rotors keep warping.

Radiator had to be replaced and I also replaced the thermostat with a 180 degree one.

All of the struts are worn out.

General Comments:

I bought the car from my 4th grade school teacher for $1500.00 and she bought it new.

The car is loaded with almost every option. It has Premium sound CD/Cassette/Radio, power antenna, factory sliding moon roof, leather seats, keyless entry, LX aluminum wheels, 4-wheel anti-lock disc brakes, driver-side power seat and both front seats have lumbar, 3.8 liter engine, LX gauge cluster with tachometer, low fuel, oil, washer fluid and bulb out lights, dual airbags, illuminated entry.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2003

21st May 2006, 11:46

You only had the car for 5000 miles and you've had to do all this? Yikes. Sounds awful, not what I'd call reliable!

1993 Ford Taurus SHO 3.2L from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.2L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles

Summary:

A high performance money pit

Faults:

I have replaced everything, yet I still seem to absolutely love this car! Despite spending $8300 in repairs on maintenance and broken FORD parts this car is still in my garage.

Entire brake system Front and Rear, calipers, pads (2 times), rotors. Ended up doing 1996 SHO brake upgrade (best thing I ever did, but costed $1040, but well worth it.

Entire Wiper system, motor, harness, governor.

Transmission @ 129000, rebuilt with a shift kit for rock hard shifts.

Enitre 60k Tune up inc Timing Belt, plugs, wires, O2 Sensors, valve lash, water pump.

Have gone through 3 alternators since June 2001. First in July of 2002 and Second and Third in January of 2003 (within a week due too bad battery cables) Replaced battery cables, starter and solenoid.

General Comments:

Performance wise this car has been amazing, as you can see the motor is bulletproof. But the Ford parts all seem to break. I have added a high flow exhaust system, an intake with a larger mass air flow sensor (80mm vs. 55mm) Bored out throttle body to 69mm, a LPM chip custom programmed for all my mods and even harder shifts. I love the car, but am starting not to be able to afford it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2003

15th Jul 2004, 11:19

Where did you get your shift kit for the auto trans? I have a 93 as well. It is my third.

1993 Ford Taurus GL Station Wagon from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1995
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired13000 miles
Most recent distance275000 miles
Previous carFord Econoline

Summary:

The best car I ever bought

Faults:

The windshield wiper motor wore out at 250,000.

A short developed in the wiring from the starter motor where the wire rested on the transmission linkage at 175,000.

The transmission needed replacing at 150,000 miles (towed too many trailer loads of furniture for college-age children in overdrive).

The cassette tape ejector broke at 150,000.

General Comments:

This car was built like a brick dog house.

At 275,000 miles, the paint looked brand new. The body never squeaked. The doors shut like a bank vault. The upholstery looked brand new and engine never burned oil. Did I mention we had six children?

I rue the day I traded that car for a Jimmy.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 20th January, 2003

1993 Ford Taurus GL 3.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1994
Most recent year of ownership1998
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired17234 miles
Most recent distance82653 miles
Previous carDodge Daytona

Summary:

Reliable car for good price!

Faults:

Needed full set of rear brakes at 67k miles.

ABS light came on at 65k miles, but could be reset by an engine restart.

General Comments:

This was a nice reliable sedan.

Only reason I got rid of it was because I wanted a Chrysler Sebring Convertible.

Interior was very comfy on long trips.

Really liked the auxiliary radio controls on the dash just a few centimeters from the wheel.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th November, 2002

1993 Ford Taurus GL 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Most recent distance136000 miles
Previous carFord Tempo

Faults:

Front motor mount, air conditioning hoses.

General Comments:

A very comfortable car. Routine maintenance is all that's needed. 20 mpg around town, 25 mpg on the highway. Have never replaced the head gasket and have owned the car for over 100,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2002

Average review marks: 6.3 / 10, based on 79 reviews